We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel is in a good location, with ample parking, nice décor, modern and clean. The staff appear to be mostly local and very friendly.

The room was spacious and well appointed. One negative.....the WiFi didn't work. It worked on a different Ramada WiFi service in the restaurant, so I don't think it was my laptop. The Receptionist offered to send a Porter to my room to log me in, but I declined as I was in bed. When I mentioned it upon checking out, the Receptionist asked why no-one had resolved the problem and I explained, I can't fault them for their concern and attentiveness.

Dinner for 7 people in an almost full restaurant stretched them, with the main courses slow to arrive and then not arriving together. They overlooked one desert and it came later after I reminded a waitress (but they didn't charge even though I hadn't complained). We didn't mind the delay, because we were chatting, but I can see how it might spoil some people's evening. The food was rated as good to excellent by my party.

I'm likely to always check it for price if going to Southport again, and it would take a significant saving to cause me to stay elsewhere. I liked it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KR4446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us.

I'm delighted that we managed to exceed your expectations throughout many aspects of your stay with us. You should now also receive our exclusive email offers, so keep an eye out for some great upcoming package deals.

Please accept my apologies that you experienced issues with our Wi-Fi service and some delays in our Marine Brasserie. I'm glad our team attended to you and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,739
    818
    183
    58
    28
See reviews for
535
1,457
81
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (810)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hyde cheshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the ramada hotel southport for one night sun the 17/03/13.What a lovely hotel,but the main thing that really made it was the attentive staff, not only professional, but always had a smile for you.on the Sunday morning the gentleman behind the reception went out of his way to go out and get me a paper, which I ordered but did'nt arrive?????? He also on the Saturday came down to the car park and brought the cases up.the only setback was the price of the drinks, i do realise that hotels are more expensive but 4 15 for a pint of lager was rather high.if you want comfort, looking after, and a lovely hotel go here, oh and not forgetting the lovely large rooms, with nice bathrooms etc.also well done to the cleaning staff, I could'nt fault it.Many thank for making our one night stay a pleasant one, and at some point hope to return. Room 421, vanda and Brian from cheshire.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bnt1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi Vanda & Brian,

Many thanks for choosing The Ramada Plaza as your preferred choice of accomodation for your recent visit to Southport.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am especially pleased that you found our team to be helpful, friendly and efficient. We believe in creating a positive team atmosphere and promoting that to all our guests.

Don't forget to check our website or call us direct for exclusive deals and best available rates.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddleworth. UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with my sis in law. Booked a twin room and got a beautiful room with 2 double beds!
Hotel is in great location on the sea front and only 5 minutes walk to either the shopping area or the new cinema/restaurant complex.
Evening meal was lovely and all nice and hot too.
My only complaint would be the poor chap who served us at breakfast time. He was there when we left the restaurant/bar just before midnight and back serving breakfast at 6.30am!! But...his apron was filthy, not just the odd mark but really filthy and it put me off eating breakfast, I stuck to yogurt and coffee which he didn't have to touch!
Point to management - give you staff more than one apron if they work such a tight turn around in hours and please please check their appearance before serving food!

All that said...yes I would return!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinders18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel location, rooms and in particular our team, exceeded your expectations.

Our team aim for very high standards in thier personal appearence and we will highlight your concerns at our next Food & Beverage Team Meeting.

Thanks again for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Booked the meal deal for a birthday treat for my husband. Very friendly check in they asked would we like 2 attend the tribute act instead of eating in the restaurant. We had an amazing room 516. Right next to the executive rooms so we had fab views. The hotel had even put a birthday card in the room for my husband. What a lovely touch. The tribute was Michael buble, meal was very nice. Had a great night. Breakfast was lovely plenty of it & fresh. The only negative was the room was very warm but maybe that is just me. Would go back again and will be checking the web site for offers. Thanks Ramada for a lovely evening away.

Room Tip: 5th floor has amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks for the great review! Thank you also for choosing our hotel to celebrate your Husband's Birthday.

I'm delighted that we managed to exceed your expectations and that you enjoyed our Michael Buble Tribute Night. We have many tribute nights and special events throughout the year so don't forget to check our website or give us a call for exclusive rates.

I'm sorry that you found your bedroom was too warm during the night. For any future stays, please do not hesitate to let our team know and we can gladly override the air con unit to your desired temperature.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed in one of the Marine Lake Executive rooms it provides 180 degree views of the coastline, with floor to ceiling windows. The view was amazing. We also had a balcony to admire the view from.
The hotel room was spotless, it had 2 tv's, couch, table and chairs and a lovely comfortable bed. The room had all the facilities we needed, kettle, hair dryer, iron, fridge, safe. It was lovely and modern.
The location was also perfect, walking distance to all the local attractions.
The staff were lovely and friendly.
The breakfast was good quality food, lots of options to choose from.
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Marine Lake Executive room offer it provides 180 degree views of the coastli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shell_doherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thanks for such a great review!

I'm delighted that you enjoyed our Executive Suites and that we managed to exceed your expectations throughout many aspects of your stay with us.

Thank you also for your kind comments about our team, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Only stayed one night wished it had been longer!!! Beautiful hotel,lovely staff, great food and very comfortable - everything you could possibly need!!!!! Well done Ramada!!! Definately stay again. Some great offers - we got the dinner, bed and breakfast for £89 - great value and great food!!!! Hotel next to theatre so great for theatregoers and close to pier, so views good. Short walk to shopping centre. All in all an excellent location! If I had to say something negative, the only thing would be that service at the bar was quite slow.

Room Tip: Room 522 - this side overlooks the water, decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monnie211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza as your preferred choice of accomodation for your recent visit to Southport.

Thank you also for your kind feedback which I have passed on to our team. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed in a suite overlooking the marine lake. The room was very nice and I have booked to go again 1 year on. It was a real treat to have such a nice big space to relax and watch the sunset in. Restaurant was good but as often in large hotels, breakfast was forgettable.

Room Tip: If you can afford a suite, its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunnywarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our Marine Lake Suites just to your liking. My apologies that your breakfast experience was anything less than satisfying, I would be more than happy to discuss this with you in further detail should you so wish.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year and if there is anything I can assist you with in the meantime please do not hesitate to contact me direct.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 24 in Southport
511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 24 in Southport
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 24 in Southport
651 reviews
0.4 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.6 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 24 in Southport
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Southport

Property: Ramada Plaza Southport
Address: Promenade, Southport PR9 0DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
#1 Green Hotel in Southport
#1 Luxury Hotel in Southport
#1 Business Hotel in Southport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Southport
#2 Family Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Southport 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza Hotel Southport is a four star hotel, perfectly situated alongside the beautiful Marine Lake, central to all Southport has to offer. All rooms offer fantastic views, whether this is across the sandy beaches to Blackpool or over the Marine Lake Bridge to Southport's ocean plaza, all equally stunning. The hotel is within easy reach to some popular world class golf courses including Royal Birkdale and Royal Lytham. Just a short walk from Lord Street, lined with shops, boutiques and wine bars. Underground parking is available and our helpful concierge will be waiting to greet you with a smile. All rooms have high speed internet, king size beds and 24 hour room service, everything you need for a comfortable stay for business or relaxing whilst enjoying a night away from the kids! Enjoy a bite in our award winning on-site restaurant, Marine Brasserie, or order room service while you watch blockbuster movies on your flat-screen TV. Our Marine Lake suites feature floor-to-ceiling curved windows and balconies, offering panoramic views of the coast. Looking for something more corporate?....we do that too!..... Meeting and banquet facilities, capable of hosting up to 250. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ramada Plaza Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Southport Hotel Southport
Ramada Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing