We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, shame about the bar staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, shame about the bar staff”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a lovely long weekend at this hotel which we enjoyed. The breakfast was fantastic and the evening meal quite good.
Our room was nice, but a little smaller than we expected. It is a shame they can't offer twin rooms other that the large family rooms at an extra cost!!
However, in the evening when we were sitting in the lounge playing cards, some other people had the football on the television and it got louder and louder..... We did ask them very politely if it could be turned down a little, which they did (a minute touch!!) then they started shouting and laughing at us. What annoyed us most was the fact that the bar staff just stood there and watched and did absolutely nothing to stop the noise which was becoming quite agressive.
We decided to leave and go back to our rooms.
In the morning we did mention this incident at the reception and they apologised on behalf of their staff, but we felt the whole incident was not acceptable in this quality of hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a spacious room, you have to book a superiour room and pay the additional costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza for your recent visit to Southport.

I'm glad you enjoyed our facilities and thank you for your kind comments about our guest bedrooms and Marine Brasserie.

Please accept my apologies for the noise disturbance you encountered in our lounge area. It is very important to us that we try to cater for everybody's requirements. I have discussed your comments with our Bar team and we will ensure consideration is taken into account for all our guests in future.

I hope you have not been deterred from staying with us again and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,745
    823
    185
    58
    28
See reviews for
535
1,463
81
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (813)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel is fantastic.Rooms very clean and comfortable. All staff that I had dealings with were friendly and polite and happy to assist. The dining room is spacious and food excellent.A quality hotel with some rooms having far reaching views. A very pleasurable experience and one which will be repeated.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 200Daveyboy200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Many thanks for the great review.

Thank you also for your kind comments about our team, I'm glad you will be returning to our hotel and hope to welcome you back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is the fifth time we have stayed here,each time has been great.Check in smooth and polite,rooms clean and well equipped,service fast and helpfull....to sum up its the only quality place to stay in Southport.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foppsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Many thanks for reviewing our hotel again, your loyal custom is very much appreciated.

Thank you also for stating that our hotel stands out above the others in the area.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

A few years ago we saw this hotel being built and thought it would be a nice treat to actually stay there as we are big fans of Southport, and we weren't disappointed. The location of this hotel is great for the shops,promenade and parks. The breakfast is good with lots of choices , the staff are very friendly and were happy and smiling and helpful. We would definately stay at this hotel again. thank you so much

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WildCat7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thanks for the great review!

We are delighted that you chose to stay at our hotel and that we managed to exceed your expectations.

Please don't hesistate to call our reservations direct or check our website for exclusive special offers for your next shopping break!

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

best hotel we have stayed at in southport.
we visit southport quite a lot but this is the first time at the ramada. this was our wedding anniversary and as the weather was not good the hotel was very important. staff,rooms and dining experience were all very good and made our stay most pleasurable.

Room Tip: master the temperature controls. we didn't so the sleep quality was our own fault (too warm) had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hi Bruce,

Many thanks for the great review.

Congratulations on your Wedding Anniversary, I'm delighted that you chose our hotel for your celebrations and your kind comments about The Ramada being the best hotel in Southport are very much appreciated.

I have passed your review onto our team and we hope to welcome you both back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have visited the hotel several times.On all occasions we could not find a better hotel. We last stayed at the Ramada for my wife's Birthday on September 1st. 40 guests came to the meal in the Promenade suite.l. The food was excellent and good value .The service we could not have wished for better. I would like to compliment the management and staff on how they carried out our wishes and how every member of staff knew our wishes- a great credit to good management.The staff carried out their tasks efficiently and unobtrusively. Friends did stay the night at the hotel and reported the price of rooms was good value for money.Views from the hotel over the Promenade and the Marine Lake are excelent

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taid911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Many thanks for the excellent review!!

I'm delighted that you chose to hold your Wife's Birthday celebrations with us and that we managed to exceed all your expectations.

Thank you for your kind comments about our freindly and efficient team, I have passed your review onto all our departments and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Yorks
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Went here in June 2012. The rooms were modern and pleasant and the staff were very obliging. Internet access was free. All the meals we had in the hotel were very good. The hotel is well placed for the shops in Lord Street, it is just up the road from Lord Street, going towards the sea.

Room Tip: We had a room looking over the mere and could see the lights on Blackpool Tower at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your Ramada experience.

Thank you also for your kind comments about our team. We aim to exceed the expectations of all our guests by providing a firendly and efficient service.

I have passed your comments onto the team and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 24 in Southport
513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 24 in Southport
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 24 in Southport
654 reviews
0.4 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.6 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 24 in Southport
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Southport

Property: Ramada Plaza Southport
Address: Promenade, Southport PR9 0DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Southport
#1 Business Hotel in Southport
#1 Green Hotel in Southport
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Southport
#2 Family Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Southport 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza Hotel Southport is a four star hotel, perfectly situated alongside the beautiful Marine Lake, central to all Southport has to offer. All rooms offer fantastic views, whether this is across the sandy beaches to Blackpool or over the Marine Lake Bridge to Southport's ocean plaza, all equally stunning. The hotel is within easy reach to some popular world class golf courses including Royal Birkdale and Royal Lytham. Just a short walk from Lord Street, lined with shops, boutiques and wine bars. Underground parking is available and our helpful concierge will be waiting to greet you with a smile. All rooms have high speed internet, king size beds and 24 hour room service, everything you need for a comfortable stay for business or relaxing whilst enjoying a night away from the kids! Enjoy a bite in our award winning on-site restaurant, Marine Brasserie, or order room service while you watch blockbuster movies on your flat-screen TV. Our Marine Lake suites feature floor-to-ceiling curved windows and balconies, offering panoramic views of the coast. Looking for something more corporate?....we do that too!..... Meeting and banquet facilities, capable of hosting up to 250. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ramada Plaza Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Southport Hotel Southport
Ramada Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing