We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased with our choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
spenno2004
1 review
“Very pleased with our choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We have chosen the Ramada to hold our wedding in next year and so booked an overnight stay just to see what the hotel was like. I was a little nervous especially after keeping up with the reviews on here.
Firstly our check in was pleasant and welcoming. Our room was very clean and modern with a comfy bed and nice bathroom. We booked into the restaurant for £19.95 for a two course meal and the food was lovely. My partner is coeliac and they were very accommodating at no extra cost and even had gluten free bread. The service throughout the meal was fab and we even got to sample some wines to decide what to have for our Wedding. The staff were very attentive especially the man who waited on us (wish I could remember his name).
Breakfast the next day was lovely a big choice from the buffet. The staff seemed rushed of their feet so probably would have benefitted from having more help as there were some tables with plates not cleared away but this did not interfere with our experience. Lovely setting across the marine lake and nice atmosphere in the evening. Overall a lovely stay and helped turn our concerns into excitement for our wedding next year!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spenno2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Many thanks for sharing your experience and congratulations on your engagement!

It's great that your celebrating your Wedding Day here with us in 2013 and the team here are delighted that we put your concerns to rest. I'm sure we will speak again before the big day and don't hesitate to contact us if you have any queries or concerns.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,685
    793
    180
    57
    26
See reviews for
522
1,414
79
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Dinner Bed and Breakfast for two at £75 seems a great offer but you feel there may be a catch with a very limited menu choice, paying for extras, only a certain time you can book it but I have to say we had none of that. It was a three course menu to choose from and both food and service was faultless and we had no extra costs, breakfast again was top quality. We have stayed room only before at the hotel and felt the bar and restaurant area lacked atmosphere but I was wrong, the whole feel made for a great stay and to cap the evening off the hotel was hosting the final night of the Comedy Show with Roy Walker and his son which was something we would not normally go to but we really enjoyed it. Again you can use the leisure facilties free of charge across the road which are excellent. Only concern is the lack of takeup around the hotel with empty premises it leaves the area soleless

Room Tip: stayed on a lower level than last time but still great views looking across the marina and to Black...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runningraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Many thanks for choosing The Ramada Plaza again for your recent visit to Southport. It's great that we managed to exceed your expectations and that you enjoyed your experience in our Marine Brasserie.

We list exclusive special offers on our website througout the year or please don't hesitate to call us for more information should you stay again.

Work has already started on one of the adjacent outlets and will soon be a casino, I'm sure this will further enhance our already superb location!

See you soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed 1 night with our 2 children. Room was very comfortable and clean, modern decor, ample towels, toiletries etc.
Buffet breakfast was excellent, Staff always smilling and happy to help. This hotel is situated in a prime spot looking over the marina out to see.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicci_ritchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Hi Nikki,

Thanks for the great review! I'm delighted that we managed to exceed your expectations throughout every aspect of your stay with us. and have passed your comments onto our team.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

A fairly average hotel, certainly not 4 star by any stretch of the imagination. Car parking is a nightmare. Too few spaces in the hotel car park for the guest capacity and the nearby public car park is for a four hour maximum stay with no overnight parking allowed. We were told we could take a chance, but would need to be up by 7am to feed the meter as the traffic wardens would be on duty and were pretty keen with the parking tickets. At £3.00 for 4 hours parking it adds to the cost of an already expensive stay.The rooms are reasonably well appointed but pity about the uncomfortable bed.Breakfast left much to be desired. Limited selection of buffet offerings, stewed tea and coffee from "help yourself" thermos jugs and cold cooked breakfast that looked as if it had been left out for several hours by the time we arrived.....and there was still an hour to go before breakfast was over. I don't think we will rush to stay again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyQT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Hi Suzy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Please accept my apologies that you left disappointed with your stay. Many of our local competitors choose to charge for parking yet we offer this service complimentary although with limited availibility. The council operated car park at the rear of the hotel is £3.00 for 4 hours and over.

Our breakfast is normally a high point of our overall service and I'm disappointed we fell short of your expectations on this ocassion. I have discussed your comments with our Food & Beverage team so we can look to further enhance the experience in future.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Spent 4 nights in this hotel and found it very comfortable. The staff were very polite and attentive. I was with a large group and the service was excellent. Although my room was near the lift I wasn't disturbed by it at all. There was a fridge for own use i.e. not full of very expensive drinks.
The area round about was good for walking. The beach, promenade and pier are long enough for a good workout and to take in the 'distant' sea air. There is a good shopping centre only 5 minutes walk away and the bowling centre and cinema are very close too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotiaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again soon. Don't forget to check our website or gve us a call for our exclusive special offers!

Thanks again,

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed during May at Ramada Plaza in Southport as another hotel was fully booked, I really enjoyed my stay and the room looked onto the Prom and was lovely with panoramic views along the Prom and towards the sea, the room had a fridge which not all hotels have and the bedding was very soft and comfortable and decor was lovely and nice pictures on the wall of the seaside. This hotel's location is very central and not far from the railway station and Lord Street and I enjoyed the buffet breakfast in the restaurant which looks onto their terrace where you can have meals outside on warm days. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. I get their emails and in August received one offering a good deal staying in their lovely double rooms, however, if you wanted to upgrade to a suite for a bit more you could do, so I thought I may as well! I went to see the flower show while there. The suite was gorgeous in a large room and panoramic views of the marine lake which is lovely so I'd another great stay at this hotel and was enjoying it so much I decided to stay another night even though that night was not the special rate, I did not want to leave this hotel! I always put the Do Not Disturb sign on my door when I stay in a hotel for during the night and this stops house keeping disturbing your lie in! Lovely bathroom too. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, rooms nearer the sea will be a bit quieter than ones on the prom, the suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royaltraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review on our hotel.

I have passed your kind comments onto our team and we are delighted that we managed to exceed your expectations.

I hope we will be welcoming you back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Ramada in Southport is centrally situated on the promenade, adjacent to the Convention Centre via a covered way, also very convenient for the excellent shops in the famous Lord Street.
Good, spacious quiet rooms, just one snag, the step out of the bath/shower was very high

Room Tip: Get a higher floor for the best view. Hotel car parking space is limited, so do not arrive too la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelMelville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasKennedy, Manager at Ramada Plaza Southport, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thanks for the review.

I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the great room tips too!

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thomas Kennedy
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.5 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#8 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Southport

Property: Ramada Plaza Southport
Address: Promenade, Southport PR9 0DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Southport
#1 Green Hotel in Southport
#1 Business Hotel in Southport
#1 Luxury Hotel in Southport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Southport
#2 Family Hotel in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Southport 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza Hotel Southport is a four star hotel, perfectly situated alongside the beautiful Marine Lake, central to all Southport has to offer. All rooms offer fantastic views, whether this is across the sandy beaches to Blackpool or over the Marine Lake Bridge to Southport's ocean plaza, all equally stunning. The hotel is within easy reach to some popular world class golf courses including Royal Birkdale and Royal Lytham. Just a short walk from Lord Street, lined with shops, boutiques and wine bars. Underground parking is available and our helpful concierge will be waiting to greet you with a smile. All rooms have high speed internet, king size beds and 24 hour room service, everything you need for a comfortable stay for business or relaxing whilst enjoying a night away from the kids! Enjoy a bite in our award winning on-site restaurant, Marine Brasserie, or order room service while you watch blockbuster movies on your flat-screen TV. Our Marine Lake suites feature floor-to-ceiling curved windows and balconies, offering panoramic views of the coast. Looking for something more corporate?....we do that too!..... Meeting and banquet facilities, capable of hosting up to 250. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Southport Hotel Southport
Ramada Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing