We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay...”
Review of The Leicester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Leicester
Ranked #2 of 42 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Had the opportunity to stay for just one night while playing golf at Formby during the day, and what a great place to pick.

Very stylishly redeveloped property and warm welcome to boot. Location is excellent just off the main Southport High Street, rooms are a good size and absolutely immaculate. Comfy lounge to have a drink in the evening and breakfast was top draw...proper sausages included!

Easy choice to stay again in the future...

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank RPAPKPMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayniemcc, Owner at The Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Many thanks for the kind review, we look forward to welcoming you back here in the near future, we hope you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback, best regards, TheLeicester.com team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 570 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

Spent a single night at The Leicester in June 2014 and whilst my stay was generally ok, I have to admit I wasn't blown away by it. Maybe I went with too much of a high expectation given all the other generally excellent reviews on here.

I stayed in a single room (no. 5) and whilst it was clean and tidy, there were just little issues like the bathroom door not closing, the sink plug broken and the tiny tv screen. The major problem (and I note it has been mentioned before) was the noise issues. The sound proofing was poor, I could hear somebody laughing constantly at the tv a few doors down! Also the doors do tend to slam and where my room was positioned every other guest had to walk by. The wifi wasn't working either during the entirety of my stay which whilst I appreciate was out of the owners hands it was a bit annoying given I had brought devices to link up.

The breakfast was pretty good with a good choice in the cooked menu.

So overall OK but I'm just a bit surprised personally that it's up at number 1 on TripAdvisor at the time of writing this.

Room Tip: Down one end of hotel given sound proofing issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sahloff79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayne m, Owner at The Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Many thanks for your kind review, it was a pleasure to host yourself & the other UKLOCO colleagues.here last week, we are pleased that you were happy with your breakfasts!!
We really do appreciate the time & effort you have taken to compose your review, it is great to hear that you all enjoyed your stay with us & we look forward to welcoming you all back here from September 1st 2014 best regards, TheLeicester.com team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We would not stay anywhere else in Southport. Very friendly, relaxed, lovely room which was l;ight from large windows and good lighting if needed. Great breakfast choices which includes smoked fish as an option. Help with luggage to and from the room. Other guests very friendly.

Room Tip: No 2 at the front although at the front is wonderfully light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayne m, Owner at The Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, we look forward to welcoming you back at the Leicester hotel in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

just back from a lovely night at this truly gorgeous b&b, Booked this one after reading the reviews and they were absolutely spot on,room was furnished to a very high standard,and was spotlessly clean.had a fab nights sleep and a breakfast thats kept me going all day.Will be visiting again and to be honest we both cant wait.thanks Lorraine and Louise for a lovely stay!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayne m, Owner at The Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time & effort to compose and post your review.
It was a real pleasure to meet your group and we are all glad that you enjoyed your brief stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you all back next year 2015....
Regards, TheLeicester.com team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

My first time, and it won't be my last. Perfect position close to front and shops without being in the middle of the town. Quiet, relaxing situation but close to all the amenities. From the friendliness of Louise and Lorraine, to the wonderful fresh food served to order, spotless bedrooms and relaxed atmosphere that emanates from the owners and staff, all you have to do is ask and they bend over backwards to please. Will definitely be back next year for a longer stay. Thanks girls!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayne m, Owner at The Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2015

Many thanks for your kind words, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we all look forward to meeting your group again in the near future.
We really do appreciate the time & effort you have taken in both writing and posting your review.
Best regards, TheLeicester.com Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Twelve months on from my first visit, this gem of a boutique hotel is still the best place to stay in Southport.

Lorraine and Louise are the perfect hosts. Warm, genuinely welcoming, accommodating, attentive without being intrusive and great, great fun! They make staying in Southport, whether for business or pleasure, an absolute joy!

Everything about the Leicester is a real credit to their desire to make everyone's stay as enjoyable as possible - from the individually designed, spotlessly clean, well-appointed and cosy bedrooms to the mouthwatering array of high-quality breakfast dishes. Even the Wi-Fi is brilliant (I was on the top floor and still managed to watch New Zealand v England on Sky Go without any buffering)!

There is a peaceful, relaxing aura throughout, which is due in no small part to the feeling of being truly valued as a visitor. We left feeling like one of the family and won't hesitate to book in again each time we return to the coast.

Having lived in and around Southport for nearly 45 years and having stayed at many of the hotels the resort has to offer, I can honestly say that none come close to The Leicester in providing such wonderful accommodation. So if you're looking for a fabulous place to stay in Southport, which is convenient for both the beach and many of the local attractions, and there are (unlikely) any vacancies at The Leicester - do yourself a favour and grab a room while you can!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayne m, Owner at The Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2015

Many thanks for your kind words, we really do appreciate the time and effort taken in posting your review of our facility.
We are all glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forwards to the next time you plan to visit Southport.
Best wishes, TheLeicester.com Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Travel to NW England on business monthly. Always base in Southport for first part of trip and always go to Leicester if room. Been going for over a year now and high standards have been maintained. Book early. Rooms and staff splendid.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank andrew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 22 in Southport
3,300 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Vincent Hotel
The Vincent Hotel
#4 of 22 in Southport
1,236 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#8 of 22 in Southport
150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.3 mi away
The Ambassador Townhouse
The Ambassador Townhouse
#3 of 42 in Southport
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leicester

Address: 24 Leicester Street, Southport PR9 0EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range: $69 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Leicester 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its bustling bars and restaurants, all rooms are individually decorated and have flat screen TV, hospitality trays, toiletries, iron and ironing board hair dryer, and room safe. Free Wi-Fi is also available in all rooms. The Leicester is only 15 minutes away from six championship golf courses and we are able to book your tee times, arrange caddies and even provide you with equipment at our on-site shop. After a long day on the course or shopping you can relax in our lounge with a coffee or a tipple of your choice at the bar. We have a delicious array of continental breakfast including fresh berries and homemade preserves our traditional full English is cooked to order using the finest locally sourced ingredients. We pride ourselves on our attention to detail and the needs of all our customers whether you are here for business or pleasure. You can always be sure of a warm welcome and that home from home feel here at the Leicester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leicester Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing