We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still The Best Place To Stay In Southport!”
Review of The Leicester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Leicester
Ranked #2 of 40 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Still The Best Place To Stay In Southport!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Twelve months on from my first visit, this gem of a boutique hotel is still the best place to stay in Southport.

Lorraine and Louise are the perfect hosts. Warm, genuinely welcoming, accommodating, attentive without being intrusive and great, great fun! They make staying in Southport, whether for business or pleasure, an absolute joy!

Everything about the Leicester is a real credit to their desire to make everyone's stay as enjoyable as possible - from the individually designed, spotlessly clean, well-appointed and cosy bedrooms to the mouthwatering array of high-quality breakfast dishes. Even the Wi-Fi is brilliant (I was on the top floor and still managed to watch New Zealand v England on Sky Go without any buffering)!

There is a peaceful, relaxing aura throughout, which is due in no small part to the feeling of being truly valued as a visitor. We left feeling like one of the family and won't hesitate to book in again each time we return to the coast.

Having lived in and around Southport for nearly 45 years and having stayed at many of the hotels the resort has to offer, I can honestly say that none come close to The Leicester in providing such wonderful accommodation. So if you're looking for a fabulous place to stay in Southport, which is convenient for both the beach and many of the local attractions, and there are (unlikely) any vacancies at The Leicester - do yourself a favour and grab a room while you can!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jayne m, Owner at The Leicester, responded to this review, February 27, 2015
Many thanks for your kind words, we really do appreciate the time and effort taken in posting your review of our facility.
We are all glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forwards to the next time you plan to visit Southport.
Best wishes, TheLeicester.com Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    26
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
65
160
71
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Travel to NW England on business monthly. Always base in Southport for first part of trip and always go to Leicester if room. Been going for over a year now and high standards have been maintained. Book early. Rooms and staff splendid.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank andrew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The rooms were excellent, clean and furnished beautifully. Breakfast was excellent excellent choice of cereals,fresh fruit and a variety of cooked breakfasts available.
Louise and Lorraine were superb hosts, very friendly and warm.

Room Tip: Room 9 was beautiful and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLeicester, Owner at The Leicester, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, we really look forward to reading all the reviews, but most of all any guests thinking of staying always read and check out reviews before making any reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

An amazing B&B. Warm, welcoming and very clean. Room (twin room) was very modern, it was very warm on our first night however was no trouble when mentioned it next day and they placed a fan in the room. Nothing is too much trouble for anything you need here. Its a great location for shops and seafront of Southport. Breakfast was amazing had full English first morning and was cooked perfectly, next day had pancakes and will be having them again when visit next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillhelenNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLeicester, Owner at The Leicester, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, feel like you where trying to fight our corner in response to the previous review, glad you enjoyed it, we will look forward to your return very soon hopefully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My daughter and I visted this lovely B&B for a weekend break while I was over in the UK from the Netherlands and found the accomadation first class. We arrived a few hours early and were greeted with friendly helpful staff who told us our room was ready.All the rooms are nicely decorated and very clean. Breakfast here will put most big hotels to shame and we've stayed in a few. The only disappointment was our twin room which was nicely decorated and clean, a bit dull with no view as window on side of building, quite small for two people and was unbelievably hot so much that you'd think you were on holiday in Greece at the height of summer without any air-con. Unfortunately the fan the lovely staff gave us for the room didn' help much. My daughter had the bed next to the window which she kept open all night and was a little cooler but mine which was next to a cupboard which we were told housed the boilder. I think this room would work better as a single room with the bed at window, also easy acessible plug points would be an advantage..I think our room was number 6 on the first floor. If given another room I would definatley stay here again.

Room Tip: Wouldn't recommend twin room on the first floor which I beleive was number 6. Just for how hot i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLeicester, Owner at The Leicester, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and to be honest with you we do agree room 6 is a very warm room, unfortunately the hotel is full most of the time now or we do tend to change rooms around if we can but you had to have the room you booked and we did try our best by giving you an electric fan, it was an extremely warm weekend in Southport too which didn't help, but we are so glad you loved everything else, if you come again can we suggest room 7 much bigger twin room with a glass door that opens up overlooking the back garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed at a large hotel in Southport a few weeks ago,and fancying another break tried to rebook the same hotel,but as it was a late decision there were no vacancies however we found one room remaining at the Leicester and duly booked, this turned out to be a blessing, We are very critical about places we stay at and tend to look for faults, The Leicester could not be faulted on any points,very clean lovely breakfast and first class hosts. Any further visits to Southport will certainly include a return to The Leicester

Room Tip: Not going to say because we may want it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLeicester, Owner at The Leicester, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
thankyou for your wonderful review, it was so lovely to hear you and a couple of other guests naming the numerous hotel/guest houses that you that you have recently stayed in but unfortunately were so disappointed in what they had to offer, such a relief for us reading your review about us and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We have returned home today from a two night stay at The Leicester. It is by far our best British B & B experience ever and should we visit Southport again, we would not even consider looking elsewhere. Our room was impeccably clean and the breakfast just wonderful. Lovely helpful staff, smart, well decorated and furnished dining room and lounge and a beautiful bedroom and bathroom. All very smart and well maintained. An excellent stay. Well located for theatre, sea front, town restaurants and shops. All just a short walk.

Sue and Graham
South Yorkshire

Room Tip: We had Room 2 - couldn't do better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLeicester, Owner at The Leicester, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review, you must have been the quickest guests we know to go home and put a review on tripadvisor we appreciate it so very much. THANKYOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,879 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
534 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#5 of 23 in Southport
1,160 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
668 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#8 of 23 in Southport
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leicester

Property: The Leicester
Address: 24 Leicester Street, Southport PR9 0EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Leicester 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its bustling bars and restaurants all rooms are individually decorated and have flat screen TV, hospitality trays, toiletries, iron and ironing board hair dryer, and room safe. Free Wi-Fi is also available in all rooms. The Leicester is only 15 minutes away from six championship golf courses and we are able to book your tee off times arrange caddies and even provide you with equipment at our on site shop. After a long day on the course or shopping you can relax in our lounge with a coffee or a tipple of your choice at the bar. We have a delicious array of continental breakfast including fresh berries and homemade preserves our traditional full English is cooked to order using the finest locally sourced ingredients. We pride ourselves on our attention to detail and the needs of all our customers whether you are here for business or pleasure, You can always be sure of a warm welcome and that home from home feel here at the Leicester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leicester Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing