We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a place”
Review of The Leicester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Leicester
Ranked #2 of 41 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed here with a number of friends. We were part of a group of 40+ spread around various guest houses and hotels for a convention. We were so lucky to have been allocated the Leicester. You don't come across many people who hold the very high standards set and maintained by Lorraine & Louise. The hotel is a gem, and they are the jewels in the crown. A lovely couple who have worked really hard to make their hotel a delight to stay in. They made us welcome from the start, at the drop of a hat gave us a lovely afternoon tea. But,save yourselves in the morning for the farm fresh breakfasts with an abundance of fresh fruits, you are in for a treat. Our room was excellent and the king size bed really comfortable and a good sleep every night. We had extra homemade jams and whisky marmalade made to bring home with us. Never done a review before, but we felt compelled to do so on this occasion as the stay was outstanding.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 with King Size bed. Well decorated and a most comfortable room, Very clean with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestersouthort, Owner at The Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Dear Francis and Dave, you were both an absolute pleasure to have at The Leicester, we really do look forward to you both coming again for the next Barber Shop Convention that is held in Southport, i am currently practicing making home made cookies, hopefully i have them off to a fine art and you will be able to take some of them home with you as well as the whiskey marmalade.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 555 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

We booked this hotel at the last minute after searching other hotels in Southport. What a fantastic place to stay, first class hotel with first class customer service from Lorraine and Louise.
Our room was excellent could not have wished for more, it was also very clean and tidy as was the whole hotel. Without a doubt we would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anybody.... Well done Lorraine and Louise a credit to you both.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestersouthort, Owner at The Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to do a review we really do appreciate it, it some times feels awkward asking a guest on depature if they wouldnt mind, so we really do appreciate you doing so.
Its so nice to keep getting such good reveiws we are thrilled checking every day to see if we have yet another.
see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We originally booked to stay in Southport in a different hotel, but that hotel let us down and transferred us to ''The Leicester.'' What a stroke of luck!!!! This is one of the hidden treasures of Southport. It is beautifully decorated, with a luxurious 5* feel. It is a very friendly and warm hotel. Lorraine and Louise obviously work very hard to make the guests stays first rate. The food is beautifully cooked and presented. There are so many touches to each room that made us realise that were staying at a top-rate hotel. From now on booking a break to Southport will always include booking a room at ''The Leicester.'' Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestersouthort, Owner at The Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Thank you for your review, we do actually get quite a few booking via the bigger hotels as a lot of them double book, actually take the better booking, if someone has booked a two nighter but they then get a four nighter they will then pass on the two nighter etc.
We are so glad you were much happier here than were you had origionally booked and we can assure you, you did end up in the better of the two!! Our rooms are not the biggest but they are by far the cleanest and the best in Southport.
When it comes to the breakfast the quality we offer is second to none.

We look forward to being your first port of call next time you are in Southport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My friends and i stay for a few days and our stay was brillant Lorraine & Louise very nice they made you feel wecome the food was brillant and the room was nice and very clean It was excellent alround

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestersouthort, Owner at The Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Hi Debbie,

Thank you for the kind review and for the lovely thank you card and flowers, i saw them when you had gone, its so very nice to know you enjoyed your visit to Southport and that you especially enjoyed your stay here with us at The Leicester. see you at your next convention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Welcoming throughout our stay. All the little extras in our room, normally only found in 4/5 star hotels. Even a complimentary Bucks Fizz with Sunday breakfast.

Room Tip: Our room was on the small side but as we were only sleeping there that was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sablecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestersouthort, Owner at The Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

hello and a big thankyou for your kind review, the is two small rooms at The Leicester and unfortunatley you and your husband had one of them on this visit to Southport, im not sure if you are aware but we are actually a 4 star Guest Accommodation and we also have recently been awarded a Silver accolade by Visit Britain for our quality and service to our guests. We are thrilled that you loved all the little touches we do try our very best and we are so very happy to hear such good reviews, we both look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Southport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

A group of us stayed at the Leicester for a weekend; we were in for a treat - the place was spotless; in very good order; and the little touches were all there to make us feel welcome. Such a friendly and hard-working team and the breakfasts were excellent. For the price, the Leicester is streets ahead of what we might have got elsewhere - in fact, we talked to people staying at other places nearby and they all wanted to come to the Leicester when they heard.
Any weaker points? I did find that the single room I had was quite tight on space (difficult to avoid in an existing building); the bedbase felt a little wobbly (probably easy to fix); I noticed sounds coming from the next room (luck of the draw, perhaps); car parking is a little tight, though there is also limited on-street parking opposite. On the whole, an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southernsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestersouthort, Manager at The Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Thankyou so very much for taking the time to leave a review for us, we have looked at all your comments and appreciate them all, we can assure you the bed has now been sorted and really wish you had of mentioned it whilst you were here as we would have had it tended to immediatley. Thankyou for your kind comments regarding the other hotels and us we are all in such a close community but as you clearly say we are miles apart from most of the small hotels in Southport, that is what has recently gained us our silver accolade.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Myself and my colleagues had a conference in Southport in may this year and we decided to yet again stay at the Leicester hotel, as usual we had a great stay and were made to feel very welcome, the food was excellent and the whole place extremely clean just like last year when we stayed.
It is well placed for the conference centre and has good parking.
We have already booked in for next years conference.
The rooms are not the biggest I have stayed in but they far make up for it in comfort and cleanliness, all the rooms have a nice new looking ensuite shower room and toilet.
If you like a great cooked breakfast to set you up for the day this is the place to have it!
I will definitely return !

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanc97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestersouthort, Owner at The Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Thankyou for the review, we really appreciate you taking the time and being so positive, we do know our rooms are not the biggest, but as you say we do our very best with every thing, glad you have all booked again for next years conference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,232 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Vincent Hotel
The Vincent Hotel
#4 of 23 in Southport
1,219 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#9 of 23 in Southport
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leicester

Address: 24 Leicester Street, Southport PR9 0EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range: $67 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Leicester 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its bustling bars and restaurants, all rooms are individually decorated and have flat screen TV, hospitality trays, toiletries, iron and ironing board hair dryer, and room safe. Free Wi-Fi is also available in all rooms. The Leicester is only 15 minutes away from six championship golf courses and we are able to book your tee times, arrange caddies and even provide you with equipment at our on-site shop. After a long day on the course or shopping you can relax in our lounge with a coffee or a tipple of your choice at the bar. We have a delicious array of continental breakfast including fresh berries and homemade preserves our traditional full English is cooked to order using the finest locally sourced ingredients. We pride ourselves on our attention to detail and the needs of all our customers whether you are here for business or pleasure. You can always be sure of a warm welcome and that home from home feel here at the Leicester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Leicester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leicester Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing