We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab mini-break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bowden Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bowden Lodge
Ranked #4 of 40 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fab mini-break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Very welcoming hosts - David and Judith. Accommodation was very good, with excellent facilities. Very clean and warm, lovely breakfast. Hotel in walking distance to Lord Street.
Will definitely recommend to others.
Many thanks.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bowdenlodge, Owner at Bowden Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hi Sue,
Thank you very much for your helpful comments on your stay at the Bowden Lodge. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and we hope you will return very soon.
Kind regards,
Judith and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    27
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
78
148
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Decided to take a weekend break with no expectation. I am pleased to say that we had a very pleasant stay. The Owners were friendly, the accommodation was clean and well maintained and breakfast was excellent. Hotel is in a good position for an easy walk into town. We had a comfortable and quiet night and we would be more than happy to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pi3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bowdenlodge, Owner at Bowden Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future, with or without the children.
Kind regards,
David and Judith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

we stayed three nights in feb,very nice hotel ,could not fault anything,david & Judith made us very welcome,we would stay there anytime,nice and warm very clean,great pub just up the road fantastic food and we got a 20% discount with a Bowden lodge card !!! colin & joan burgess..

Room Tip: if in southport stay there,!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pulse267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bowdenlodge, Owner at Bowden Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hi Colin and Joan,
We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your three night stay with us and also that you appreciated our discount arrangements when dining out at the local pub. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Judith and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

I had a very comfortable and pleasant stay at the Bowden Lodge Hotel in Southport. My room was clean and warm, there were complimentary biscuits and hot drinks. The breakfast was excellent, David and Judith were friendly and welcoming. I would very much recommend the hotel to friends and family. Thank you from Peter

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterM5733OX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bowdenlodge, Owner at Bowden Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hi Peter,
We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your weekend stay with us at the Bowden Lodge. Thank you for the positive comments in your review, these are always helpful in ensuring we continue to provide a first class service to our guests.
Kind regards,
David and Judith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

2nd visit now and very happy to recommend. Comfortable with excellent facilities, breakfast and service. Very friendly. I particularly like the little extras provided in the room - bottle of water, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S123B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bowdenlodge, Owner at Bowden Lodge, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back when you're next in Southport.
Very kind regards,
David and Judith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We only stayed one night, but Judith and David were very welcoming, even when we arrived first thing in the morning, while they were still serving breakfast to other guests.The room was perfect with everything you could possibly need and the breakfast was delicious. Couldn't find fault. Lovely couple with a lovely home. Thank you for having us, Sarah and Pete :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7SarahSarahSarah7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bowdenlodge, Owner at Bowden Lodge, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hi Sarah,
Many thanks for your very complimentary review of your short stay at the Bowden Lodge. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us (despite the sad circumstances for you visit) and hope to see you again in the future.
Very kind regards,
Judith and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We came, we saw, we enjoyed. Run by a friendly couple with just the right tips for us to enjoy our short stay - four ageing schoolmates we are. If you want quality accommodation at a reasonable price, you could hardly do better.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bowdenlodge, Owner at Bowden Lodge, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hi Paul,
We are very pleased that you all enjoyed your short re-union break with us at the Bowden Lodge and we thank you for your kind comments in your review. We hope to see you again the next time you plan to re-visit Southport.
Kind regards,
David and Judith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,738 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Leicester
The Leicester
#2 of 40 in Southport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowden Lodge

Property: Bowden Lodge
Address: 18 Albert Road, Southport PR9 0LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowden Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully maintained Victorian villa offers award winning 4-star guest accommodation with its own free car park, ideally situated in a quiet central location close to Lord Street, the shops & restaurants, The Atkinson, central attractions, promenade, Southport Theatre & Convention Centre and golf courses. You will receive a warm welcome and we provide a personal, friendly and homely service at affordable prices so you can sit back and enjoy the hospitality in pleasant surroundings, making it the perfect setting for a relaxing holiday, indulgent short break, business or conference trip or golfing break. Quality service, good food, comfort and cleanliness are assured, ensuring you have an enjoyable stay in Southport. The quality of service we provide has been recognised by TripAdvisor awarding us their 'Certificate of Excellence' and we have also been awarded a 'Breakfast Award' by the AA. Your choice of breakfast from our varied menu will be prepared and freshly cooked to your liking, prepared using quality fresh locally sourced produce. We can recommend or arrange to book you into one of Southport's many excellent restaurants, some with discounts. All of our en-suite rooms are comfortable and are tastefully decorated and furnished to a high standard in a style in keeping with the house. All rooms have LCD TV with Freeview, free Wi-Fi access, radio alarm, Hairdrier and hospitality trays. For business or pleasure, we are in an ideal location, with easy access to Liverpool, Manchester and all major North West towns and attractions. Southport railway station is only a short distance away and there are also regular and frequent bus services to Liverpool and Preston from right outside. Whether on business or pleasure, it's all about 'you'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bowden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowden Lodge Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing