We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything just perfect!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ambassador Townhouse
Ranked #1 of 40 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Everything just perfect!!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Had stayed at the Ambassador Townhouse previously and thought it would be the perfect venue for a family celebration and my mum's 80th birthday was the perfect opportunity. Tracy and Steve managed to pull off the impossible, making us all feel at home whilst still giving that 5 star experience. Nothing too much trouble with true attention to detail from walking through the door on Friday afternoon to a tearful goodbye on Sunday morning everybody had a fantastic time.
The bedrooms are warm and cosy with everything you need and beautifully decorated providing that luxurious feel. The lounge and breakfast/dining room are just stunning providing the perfect stage for Tracy and Steve's real talents THE most fabulous food. A wonderfully delicious birthday buffet on the Friday evening with everything home made and then the relaxing buffet breakfast each morning with a full range to please the fussiest of eaters!
The whole family have not stopped talking about the weekend, the hotel, the food, the hospitality etc etc....
The Ambassador Townhouse is rapidly becoming Southport's worst kept secret.
Thanks again Steve and Tracy, see you again soon!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassadortownhouse, Owner at The Ambassador Townhouse, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Wow! Thank you! We are blown away by your review. We appreciate the family occasion was not merely a 'get together' but a very special occasion and we wanted to be sure everything was just perfect, from arrival to departure and the bit in- between! It sounds as though everyone enjoyed the occasion, especially your Mum and that truly means the world to us. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and trusting us to deliver on such an important and special celebration. We look forward to your return in the near future. In the meantime take care and give our best regards to the family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
211
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2012

A superb mini break and what fantastic owners Steve and Tracy are. The Townhouse is gorgeous and the quality of the rooms are exceptionally superb. We will definitely be going back, this is our second home.
Andy & Becky

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heficles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassadortownhouse, Owner at The Ambassador Townhouse, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Andy & Becky, thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We particularly love your comment that the ambassador is 'a second home'. We could not ask for a better compliment. We want guests to feel that they have the comfort of home but a touch of luxury and glamour too!
We always look forward to seeing you both and I hope we can look forward to seeing you many more times in the future.
In the meantime we wish you a very Merry Christmas and all the best for 2013!
Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

What a fab place to stay. Tracey and Steve can't do enough for you. The 'Victoria' room we had was excellent. Spotlessly clean. Everything in the room one could think of. The breakfast is to die for. Sets one up for the day.
Well done to both Tracey and Steve. They have certainly made it a most welcoming place to stay. Will definately be recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillDyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed in Southport with family and friends for the weekend. From speaking to Tracy on the phone, when checking details, to saying goodbye at the end of the stay we could not have been made more welcome. It really is a hidden jewel that we found. The rooms were luxurious and the breakfasts were fantastic. Not enough days to choose everything from the menu would be our only complaint. The B&B could not have been better situated for us arriving by car - once parked we didn't move all weekend. It is also well within walking distance from the station.
Thanks Tracy and Steve for a great weekend and hopefully we will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms were of the same high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We would definitely recommend this B&B. Such friendly hosts and the best breakfast! Tracy booked restaurants for us for our 2 night stay and we were able to walk to these. Our room was spotless. We had stayed in a 4* London hotel a couple of weeks prior to coming here and we preferred our room at The Ambassador!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glosters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We were staying in Southport for a wedding and wanted somewhere to stay for a couple of nights. We were more than pleasantly surprised when we arrived, the decor is great and the room was fantastic - with all the little touches you could possibly need from sewing kits, shoe shine to the more essential items such as pleasant toiletries, tea and coffee and good biscuits.

It was refreshing to have good quality linen on the bed and everything was spotlessly clean. The beds are also comfortable.

Breakfast was lovely, we had the full English on the first day (sausages and black pudding were excellent) and the pancakes on day two - also very good.

We would highly recommend and both found it difficult to fault.

Room Tip: we had a room at the back near on the top floor - we had no problems with noise - not sure what the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartmel, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Tracy and Steve are magic at hosting and make you feel so at ease when you meet them. I stayed 2 nights but extended my stay for an extra night because I was so impressed with the whole experience. All the rooms, not just the bedrooms, are decorated immaculately, everywhere is spotlessly clean and the attention to detail is 2nd to none. The location is central to everything. The breakfast hot course which is cooked to order was lovely, i tried the full english and the pancakes, lovely and the smoked salmon muffin which was top notch. I loved the spicy stewed plums and yogurt and fresh fruit which you helped yourself to, as well as juices and cereals. I will be going back maybe for Christmas shopping or another show. Tracy made sure i knew where i was going and the easiest routes. The meal booked by them at The Auberge was also beautiful and would definately go there again too. All in all the best place I have ever stayed. Tracy and Steve endeavor to help make your stay the best possible. My first solo trip but will be back again and again.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Alice single room with a single bed and wasn't large but had everything you coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,879 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#5 of 23 in Southport
1,160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
668 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#4 of 23 in Southport
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambassador Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambassador Townhouse

Property: The Ambassador Townhouse
Address: 13 Bath Street, Southport PR9 0DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi award winning ambassador townhouse is the only place to stay if you want to have the best experience of Southport. Friendly and fun the townhouse offers a home from home but with a touch of glamour and a sprinkling of style. Centrally located, this beautiful boutique style townhouse is the perfect place for a hassle free stay in the bustling seaside resort of Southport. For shoppers, golfers, conference and theatre goers alike the Ambassador offers style and indulgence in a welcoming, relaxed and homely haven of comfort. Sumptuous beds, squashy duvets, mounds of pillows and cushions, fragrant toiletries and fluffy towels are all designed to ease you into a peaceful nights sleep. Start the day with our award winning breakfast of not only traditional favourites but a selection of tasty alternatives. All freshly prepared-to-order using best quality, locally sourced ingredients.In addition to Bed & Breakfast we also offer exclusive hire for wedding accommodation or that special celebratory occasion. Whatever the reason for your stay you are in the heart of it all to enjoy it all! Lets us ease away the stresses whilst you decide just when to return to this award-winning jewel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ambassador Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ambassador Townhouse Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing