We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Garden Court Guest House
Ranked #11 of 40 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Brilliant service”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed for three nights. We had a newly decorated wing, with a double room each and shared a shower room. This is ideal for families. The rooms were very smartly decorated and absolutely clean.
Dave was very friendly, carrying our bags upstairs, giving advice on things to do, and where to go and even offered to take us to the railway station for our return journey. How great is that!
Breakfast was perfect and the atmosphere throughout our whole stay was relaxed and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. What more could you ask for!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
113
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My stay in Southport was made so much more enjoyable by the friendliness/helpfulness of the host David.
I have stayed in many B & B's throughout the UK, and rate Garden Court as one of the best. The rooms are contemporary and spotless with all you get in top class accommodation. The extensive breakfast menu is varied and beautifully cooked and served! There is ample parking and the location is quiet yet central to Lord Street and the promenade/Southport Convention Centre.
Southport has a lot to offer and I would definitely chose the Garden Court in future!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Garden Court is immaculately clean, with modern en-suite bathrooms in each well furnished room. What sets it apart from other guest houses, though, is the service: the owner makes a real effort to make visitors feel at-home and serves an ace breakfast too. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Southport.

Room Tip: The family room on the first floor is sunny with a sea view. My favourite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mishmash97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is our 5 th year of staying at this great B&B where the rooms are well furnished, each with ensuite. The breakfast is great and sufficient to keep you going until late afternoon.....and service is with great humour and a smile.
We have seen David transform this old Victorian B&B into the current great place to stay. Each room has been transformed over the years with love and care.
It is just off the promenade and close to Lord street. Stay here with confidence.
We will be back again in the near future.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. For families there is a large family room. For those who cannot do stairs there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dishy299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed one night with 2 children. Owner Dave welcomed us and carried bags. Great room, clean and lovely decorated. Comfortable beds and good facilities. Parking provided right outside and excellent choice of breakfast! I was quite surprised at the poor review as the owner seems to go out of his way to help if asked. We enjoyed it so much, already booked to go back with nanna in July!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murphy185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just back from a 2 night stay at the Garden Court with my teenage daughter. Couldn't fault a thing, room was clean and beautifully decorated, incredibly comfy bed, lovely modern bathroom, good size flat screen tv, ipod dock, plenty of tea, coffee etc and even a mini fridge in the room! Great location, come out of the front door and turn right and you're on the prom, turn left and you're less than a minute's walk from Lord Street. Breakfast was lovely, large choice of fruit juices, cereals, fresh fruit, yogurts, choice of cooked breakfasts plus hot drinks and toast.
Dave was a great host, really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Great value for money and highly recommended. Don't understand the 'average' review, don't let it put you off, this is a great little place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shinythingsvicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed for two nights over the bank holiday weekend. First night was very noisy, people out the back having a party of some description, meaning we couldn't really have the window open - so it was very warm. The rooms are well decorated, but the Ikea furniture that wobbles when you walk past and the drawer that doesn't shut properly, severely let it down. The bathroom was adequate. The breakfast was far from satisfactory. Two chipolatas, fatty bacon, a small spoon of beans and a new potato that was supposed to pass as hash brown. Hardly a hearty breakfast, especially as it was cold the first day, that's right - cold. Not once were we asked if everything was alright otherwise they could have rectified the situation. Second day's breakfast was marginally better, although not perfect. Parking permit provided us with on street parking right outside the Guest House, which would have saved us quite a lot of money. Could be better, a lot better.

Room Tip: Avoid 4, in case the neighbours are noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisB46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,879 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#12 of 23 in Southport
411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.6 mi away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#5 of 23 in Southport
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Court Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Court Guest House

Property: The Garden Court Guest House
Address: 22 Bank Square, Southport PR9 0DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, family-run traditional bed and breakfast updated to provide a warm, comfortable, clean and modern home away from home. All rooms have all the usual facilities and benefit from digital free-view LCD TV sets, access to free WI-FI, and perhaps most importantly, comfy beds! Ideally located to make the most of Southport's many attractions and just over the road from the Southport Theatre and Convention centre. Our home-cooked breakfast is a must and will certainly set you up for the day, as many previous guests have kindly commented on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Garden Court Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garden Court Guest House Hotel Southport
The Garden Court Guest House Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing