We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Garden Court Guest House
Ranked #11 of 39 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just back from a 2 night stay at the Garden Court with my teenage daughter. Couldn't fault a thing, room was clean and beautifully decorated, incredibly comfy bed, lovely modern bathroom, good size flat screen tv, ipod dock, plenty of tea, coffee etc and even a mini fridge in the room! Great location, come out of the front door and turn right and you're on the prom, turn left and you're less than a minute's walk from Lord Street. Breakfast was lovely, large choice of fruit juices, cereals, fresh fruit, yogurts, choice of cooked breakfasts plus hot drinks and toast.
Dave was a great host, really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Great value for money and highly recommended. Don't understand the 'average' review, don't let it put you off, this is a great little place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shinythingsvicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
112
25
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed for two nights over the bank holiday weekend. First night was very noisy, people out the back having a party of some description, meaning we couldn't really have the window open - so it was very warm. The rooms are well decorated, but the Ikea furniture that wobbles when you walk past and the drawer that doesn't shut properly, severely let it down. The bathroom was adequate. The breakfast was far from satisfactory. Two chipolatas, fatty bacon, a small spoon of beans and a new potato that was supposed to pass as hash brown. Hardly a hearty breakfast, especially as it was cold the first day, that's right - cold. Not once were we asked if everything was alright otherwise they could have rectified the situation. Second day's breakfast was marginally better, although not perfect. Parking permit provided us with on street parking right outside the Guest House, which would have saved us quite a lot of money. Could be better, a lot better.

Room Tip: Avoid 4, in case the neighbours are noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisB46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just stayed for another 4 nights on my yearly jaunt to Southport. As usual Dave is a great host and nothing is to much trouble. A lovely room which has all the amenities you require.
Breakfast is lovely and helps you set up for the day.
Thanks Dave. Will see you next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

When we arrived at the Guest House we were informed our room would be on the 3rd floor. As I am disabled, walking up n down 3 flights of stairs would've been a nightmare, the owner, Dave, told us that changing rooms 2 a lower floor wouldn't be a problem, & it wasn't.
Considering the fault was entirely ours, he was very accommodating, giving us a room with a shower/toilet next door, on the mezzanine floor.
The breakfast's were excellent. Aside from a freshly cooked breakfast, there were fruit juices, cereals, and fruit available.
Having stayed in many Guest Houses over the years, I'd rate The Garden Court very highly & thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I managed to arrive earlier than usual so always enjoy a chat with dave the owner.
He even helps me with my bags. I had the same room as last time and its a lovely little room with ensuite. Very clean and modern.
Ive got some photos this time. Ive referd this to my friends and they were impressed.

Room Tip: If you have ill health or bad legs ask for 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biglee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Far exceeded expectations. Would recommend to anyone. Very friendly and help full hosts, comfortable clean modernised accommodation, and a breakfast to remember that fairs against any hotel breakfast we've ever had !!! Definetly will stray again.

Room Tip: Don't look elsewhere and end up dissapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed in numerous b&bs have not had as warm welcome as here. Bedroom great, bathroom immaculate and looked like it was new. Fantastic location near to main shopping and restaurants. Breakfast was well cooked and presented, several options on the menu. I went for the full English and it was very filling. Dave was very friendly and supportive and nothing was too much trouble. He pointed us in the direction of the best eating places for the evening and we weren't disappointed. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank totallymusical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 24 in Southport
2,839 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 24 in Southport
653 reviews
0.5 mi away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 24 in Southport
1,146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edendale House
Edendale House
#16 of 39 in Southport
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Court Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Court Guest House

Property: The Garden Court Guest House
Address: 22 Bank Square, Southport PR9 0DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, family-run traditional bed and breakfast updated to provide a warm, comfortable, clean and modern home away from home. All rooms have all the usual facilities and benefit from digital free-view LCD TV sets, access to free WI-FI, and perhaps most importantly, comfy beds! Ideally located to make the most of Southport's many attractions and just over the road from the Southport Theatre and Convention centre. Our home-cooked breakfast is a must and will certainly set you up for the day, as many previous guests have kindly commented on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Garden Court Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garden Court Guest House Hotel Southport
The Garden Court Guest House Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing