We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like visiting family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Garden Court Guest House
Ranked #11 of 40 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Like visiting family”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a two night stay at Dave and Adeles guest house over Easter 13, can't praise them enough. Sadly we didn't meet Adele but she cooks a fabulous breakfast and Dave is like a long lost family member. Very warm welcome, lovely modern room and en-suit shower. Very clean and comfortable with a great breakfast to boot. We would recommend Garden Court to anyone and have to say its great value for money, we hope to visit again later this year. Many thanks to you both

Room Tip: Parking and permits are a big plus in southport and the Garden Court is well within walking distance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
111
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our family of 5 had a 2 night stay between Christmas and New Year. David and Adele are the perfect hosts and their B&B is delightful. Rooms and en-suites are furnished to a high standard with all the usual extras. Breakfast is tasty and all produce fresh. Great location, great price! We'd stay again. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaNap04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I do pride myself on being a bit of a brainiac of B&B's (OK, that's sad, I know), but only because my family owned one in Morecambe a few years ago... however, Dave & Adele's B&B surpassed all my expectations! Visiting Southport for a second year it had to be the Garden Court Guest House that we stayed at again! From the moment we got there we were welcomed like old friends by Dave, the owner, the B&B has a couple of car parking spaces on the drive but Dave also has car parking permits for the road... We stayed in beautifully refurbished rooms that looked luxurious when you walked in the room, the bathroom was well equipped - and the bed.... well, it was so comfy if I could have fit it on the roof rack of the car to take home I would have done..... think they may have noticed though!.... Nothing is too much trouble for Dave, not only providing great food for breakfast, but also a great sense of humour and a genuine thoughfulness as to anything that we needed. If you're reading this and you're trying to decide where to stay in Southport.... look no further; you won't regret your decision to stay at this B&B... why pay all that money staying in a 'plastic' hotel room when you could stay in a place with great character and a great character who runs it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tryingtobehelpfulUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston Super Mare
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit to the Garden Court Guest House and once again we were welcomed like old friends by Dave. Nothing is too much trouble and he helped us with ferrying quite a bit of luggage from the car to our rooms. was grateful for the use of the parking permit too. The rooms my friend and I had we're recently refurbished in a tasteful modern way and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in. The breakfast was a combination of cereals and full English breakfast which was very hot and tasty and Dave is the master at remembering guests varied orders. Ideal location for shopping in Lord Street or visiting the theatre and convention centre. Many guests return year on year and its easy to see why, Dave and Adele do a great job, giving you a home from home experience at an affordable price.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Scousergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I love visiting southport one of my favourite places and it has just got better since we have found the garden court guest house,fantastic host's made us feel really welcome,we booked a few nights away and was very tempted to stay another night.
The Garden Court guest house is the place we will stay next time we visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elinor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We have recently returned from Southport where we spent four nights at the Garden Court Guest House. The hosts David and Adele were very friendly, welcoming and attentive. They made sure we had everything that we wished for. We only had a continental breakfast, but the menu indicated that there was everything for the heartiest eater. The large bedroom was spacious, clean, warm and comfortable and had everything we needed. Southport is not a large town and the Guest House is within five minutes' walk of most of the attractions, i.e. shops, good restaurants, railway station, promenade and pier. If you choose to stay here you will not be disappointed. Thanks David and Adele!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Willy451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Dave and Adele are so welcoming and friendly and nothing is to much trouble for them (including Dave carrying some of our luggage up to and down from the top floor) .
The bedroom was very tastefully decorated with a very modern en-suite and was well stocked with coffees, teas and little extras.
Breakfast is cooked to order with plenty of cereals and fresh fruit, berries etc and is delicious .
The Garden Court is spotlessly clean and great value and we wouldn’t stay anywhere else in southport

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andygibbo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
2,738 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
1,124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
Balmoral Lodge Hotel
#11 of 28 in Southport
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Leicester
The Leicester
#2 of 40 in Southport
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Court Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Court Guest House

Property: The Garden Court Guest House
Address: 22 Bank Square, Southport PR9 0DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, family-run traditional bed and breakfast updated to provide a warm, comfortable, clean and modern home away from home. All rooms have all the usual facilities and benefit from digital free-view LCD TV sets, access to free WI-FI, and perhaps most importantly, comfy beds! Ideally located to make the most of Southport's many attractions and just over the road from the Southport Theatre and Convention centre. Our home-cooked breakfast is a must and will certainly set you up for the day, as many previous guests have kindly commented on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Garden Court Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garden Court Guest House Hotel Southport
The Garden Court Guest House Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing