We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Seaview

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Seaview
Ranked #19 of 40 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at The Seaview weekend of 23rd September and it was excellent! Welcomed with a cuppa, lovely biscuits and a friendly (not fussy) chat as soon as we arrived after a long journey. The room was lovely & bright with every accessory you could think of. The breakfasts were superb - Mike is a trained chef - everything is done freshly to your order taken the nght before so no unneccessary waiting - seasoned just right. We were there for a lunch party on the sunday so made a weekend of it - plenty of good advice from Mike & Alex as to where to go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeandAlex_12, Owner at The Seaview, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We are very pleased you enjoyed your short break with us at the Seaview. We hope you return soon and sample some more of our breakfast offerings. many thanks for your positive views of our facilities.

Mike and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
58
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Everything was perfect from arrival to departure. Really enjoyed the little extras and the welcoming cup of tea and biscuits.Excellent presentation of the breakfast. Alex and Mike are doing a wonderful job in the way they treat their guests.
John & Sue, Northampton

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeandAlex_12, Owner at The Seaview, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear John and Sue,

Many thanks for your positive comments on your stay with us at the Seaview. Unfortunately we could not improve the weather for you. However we were pleased you were able to enjoy the other delights Southport has to offer. We hope you return again soon as we have special offers throughtout November and December.

Kind regards,

Mike and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We booked the Seaview for a weekend Rotary conference. We were warmly greeted by Mike and Alex with a cup of tea and biscuits in the lounge. The room was clean and comfortable, if rather small. Considerable thought had obviously been given to the accessories including hair dryer, shoe cleaning, sewing kit, etc.etc.
We enjoyed 2 excellent breakfasts, fruit juice, good choice of cereals, and an excellent choice of Individually prepared cooked breakfasts.
It was very convenient for the conference centre and the town centre shops and we would certainly stay there again if we go back to stay in Southport

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireCat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeandAlex_12, Owner at The Seaview, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Rotary Guests,

May we thank you very much for your helpful comments on your stay at the Seaview. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and we both hope you will return very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were looking for a quiet friendly place to stay in Southport. Mike and Alex run a very friendly guest house and are just great people. We really enjoyed our stay with them. They are both great with kids, Mike cooks a superb breakfast and the house is nicely furnished.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheffieldJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeandAlex_12, Owner at The Seaview, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear James and Katja,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Seaview. It was a pleasure to meet you and your young family, they brightened the place up. I am sure they would have liked to depart with "Simon" , however we would miss him, but tell the children he will be here when you return.

Our very best wishes,

Mike and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We booked this guest house for 3 nights over the August bank holiday weekend and arrived early. We were greeted by Alex and Mike who were very welcoming and offered us a cuppa and biscuits on arrival. Our room was ready and parking was just at the front of the hotel. The room was lovely, room 3 , at the front of the hotel. Lovely touches such as chocolates and extra toiletries which other Guest Houses tend to miss out. The Breakfast was amazing, the first day we had fresh fruit salad and myself, a mushroom omlette. My other half is very fussy when it comes to food but he loved the home made pancakes and syrup! Alex and Mike have a vast knowledge of the area and can recommend many places to visit, to eat and sight see. They even gave us a 10% discount card to borrow to use in the restaurants - Trattoria 51 is highly recommended by Alex and Mike and we ate there twice, we were not disappointed at all (see review)

It was raining on the Sunday morning and Alex and Mike offered us an umbrella - again very helpful. We were disappointed to be leaving on Monday morning but we will be back, and will recommend it to anyone due to its location, cleanliness and price, not to mention the fab hosts - All in all a brilliant time. Thanks Alex and Mike if you are reading this, we will be back, Mike get them Pancakes on the go!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeandAlex_12, Owner at The Seaview, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Tracy and Kevin,

We both thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor, we continue to work hard to make sure we can make our guests feel comfortable and safe during their stay. We do hope to see you and also your Mum soon. We were delighted with your company and warm smiles at breakfast time. Our Scotch pancakes are always popular and next time stay we will have a supersize health version for you to try.

Best wishes to you both.

Mike and Alex x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Alex and Mike - thank you so much for a simply wonderful stay, on our Lejog trip in July. Your hospitality was second to none and we would definitely like to return. Your kindness was very much appreciated and we loved our room, especially all the additions, so thoughtful. A beautiful B&B and one of our favourite stays of our trip, one we will remember, thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatsamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeandAlex_12, Owner at The Seaview, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Maria and Silvano,

We hoped you managed to reach John'o'Groats without any hitches. Thank you for posting a review on your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes,

Mike and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed here to attend a family wedding in the area. We booked two double rooms and one twin for two nights each. Fairly close to arrival we had to change the twin from a 2 to a 1 night stay due to travel arrangements, expected to still have to pay for both nights but not the case. Mike and Alex only charged for one night and even allowed my brother in law into the room at about 10 am on the day of his arrival so he could get ready for the wedding. Rooms are lovely, very clean and have lots of little extras including chocolates on arrival. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly owners, tea and home made cake, a great combination after a long trip on the M 62. Breakfast lovely with lots of choice. Would definitely recommend and will be using again for our next trip to Southport as it is a fab b&b and only a couple of minutes walk from all of the attractions and Lord Street. Thank you for a lovely stay!!

Room Tip: Room 3 is spacious and airy with window seats to enjoy tea and coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crofts8687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeandAlex_12, Owner at The Seaview, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Croft Family,

Many thanks for your very positive response. We are both pleased you all enjoyed your stay in Southport. Please contact us again when you decide to visit the area again.

Kindest regards,

Mike and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baytrees Hotel
Baytrees Hotel
#8 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leicester
The Leicester
#2 of 40 in Southport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifton Villa Hotel
Clifton Villa Hotel
#6 of 40 in Southport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seaview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seaview

Property: The Seaview
Address: 28 Bath Street, Southport PR9 0DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Seaview 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaview is a lovely guesthouse within walking distance of Southport's bustling Lord Street, the beautiful promenade, theatres and Convention Centre along with 8 championship golf courses. Mike and Alex Carolan, the Proprietors, provide guests with a comfortable and welcoming environment. Open all year providing superior en-suite bedrooms in period surroundings and with a reputation for offering top quality service at affordable rates. Private car-parking available. With our high standards it comes as no surprise that guests chose to return time and time again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Seaview Southport, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing