We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome change from the chains”
Review of Gusto Trattoria

Gusto Trattoria
Ranked #33 of 367 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Gusto Trattoria has been providing delicious freshly cooked Italian cuisine since 2005. Our restaurant's contemporary ambience and imaginative dishes have elevated us to the top of many diners' preferred restaurant lists.Whether you are eating in our main dining room or enjoying the sun on our patio, Gusto Trattoria is the perfect setting for business lunches, casual dinning, family or special occasions.Enjoy genuine Italian cooking and our creative menu in Southport. We have re-invented many traditional Italian dishes in a more contemporary style, including salads, mouth watering appetisers, pasta, pizza, fish and meat.High quality ingredients and culinary passion are the basis for each of Gusto Trattoria's creations and our cuisine's simple yet stunning presentation keeps our customers returning.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Instead of our usual Ask or Pizza Express,we decided to try something a little more authentic - and at Gusto Trattoria we were not disappointed with our decision. The customary hard furnishings ot Italian restauants oftern results in a cacophony of noise but the division of Gusto into two small areas obviates this issue and affords a pleasant atmosphere. On a bitterly cold Sunday evening the restaurant was warm, the warmth enhanced by the smiling waitress who provided friendly and attentive service. The food was extremely tasty as well as being beautifully presented and adequately proportioned and how good to see a proprietor not too grand to lend a hand by clearing away the used dishes! It seems almost churlish to criticise but if i have to nit pick in a minor way I would suggest that the menu cards are reprinted - ours being very well thumbed by previous customers!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank actomox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio L, Owner at Gusto Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such nice review, we are very please you enjoyed your evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
There are newer reviews for Gusto Trattoria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 244 of 293 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

best italian i have been to, great food, great service, good value for money, me and my partner have been 3 times now, will be our regular sunday place for a good while i think!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nicola d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio L, Manager at Gusto Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Many thanks from all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Me and my wife could not fault this restaurant, the flavours were fresh, clean and authentic. After getting married last year and having our honeymoon in Rome we felt like we were back there again!

Also the staff were really friendly and smiling which is hard to come by in good old England these days!!

We will definitely be revisiting next time we are in southport !!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank p-bradley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio L, Owner at Gusto Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Gusto is a pint size trattoria with a menu to match the best. From delicious Pizza, inventive pasta dishes through to perfectly cooked steaks and fish. My wife enjoyed a swordfish steak cut in the shape of a heart with cous cous and vegetables. I had an inch thick prime fillet perfectly cooked with all the trimmings for less than £20. House wine is excellent. Highly recommended in all respects.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trixter2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio L, Owner at Gusto Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for your taking the time to post your comments
We all delighted that you have enjoy our Restaurant
and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We visit this restaurant more or less every week and have never had a bad meal. The staff are friendly without being overfamiliar and we never tire of the fresh tasty food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank chateausaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio L, Owner at Gusto Trattoria, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear crismSouthport,
The team at Gusto Trttoria its absolutely delighted of your excellent feedback
THANK YOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gusto Trattoria also viewed

Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
Southport, Merseyside
 
Southport, Merseyside
 

Been to Gusto Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing