We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“God help us if they'd been busy”
Review of Frankie & Benny's

Frankie & Benny's
Ranked #274 of 362 Restaurants in Southport
Price range: $6 - $27
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“God help us if they'd been busy”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We were going to the cinema and gave ourselves an hour and a half for a two-course meal. The service was that bad that we barely made it. 20 mins to be seated, and a further 25 mins before our order was taken As we were seated the waitress asked if we would like some garlic bread while we waited, but this didn't turn up until we asked about it AFTER our starter. The rocket leaves with the chicken goujon starter were wilted and yellow, which put my partner off her main meal (goats cheese wrap including salad in it). The biggest issue in my view was too few staff in a restaurant which was not overly busy. On a positive note, the staff were friendly and dealt with our complaints well. However the experience was negative as we were clock-watching throughout the meal and did not enjoy the food we ate. With seven minutes before the film started we waited at the till to pay the bill and then dashed. As already said, friendly professional staff but they appeared to be under considerable pressure as there were far too few of them and this showed in the level of service and quality of food.

Helpful?
Thank Iluvmapsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    93
    75
    79
    129
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Oh dear...”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Not very good. We visited this week because our grandchildren wanted to but we do not think it was good value for money

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarleton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Reasonable food let down by inattentive service”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

While I really enjoyed by rack of ribs the service standards could be improved especially when the restaurant isn't full.

Our own service wasn't too bad except quite a long wait to pay the bill. I did watch one group of 6 have to wait ages for somebody to take their order and if they hadn't caught the attention of the bar man I think they might still have been there!

Good value if you have a voucher (we had a £10 off voucher) or you choose the set menu. Mind you a cheap meal after the cinema soon adds up when you include drinks and desserts.

Expect lots of families it is that kind of place.

Not the restaurants fault but I couldn't believe the manners of the woman in the booth behind me. Even after being asked by the waitress to move her coat which was draped over the seat she still continued to have her arm stretched across the top of the seat after I sat down in the next booth.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewJG18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“family affair”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Friendly and fast service. There was an excellent menu choice considering there were 6 of us. Great value for money for a family visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BernieD610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good value and family friendly”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Had an evening meal here with our two Granddaughters. Food was excellent with plenty of choice for both us and the children. The staff were very attentive and provided a puzzle and colouring book to keep them occupied whilst waiting for the food. Only slight problem we had was that they were unable to give us a jug of hot water to warm the baby's milk - probably health and safety. They did, however, agree to place a jug on the bar area where I was able to warm the milk.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank peakwalker26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie & Benny's also viewed

Preston, Lancashire
St Helens, Merseyside
 

Been to Frankie & Benny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing