We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty, great value, unique view”
Review of Bay of Bengal

Bay of Bengal
Ranked #40 of 116 Restaurants in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $23
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tasty, great value, unique view”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Bay of Bengal became one of my favourite Tenby restaurants a few years ago. The food is delicious, great value, and the view over North Beach and the harbour is at the same time breathtaking and interesting (especially from the tables downstairs). Another bonus - the restaurant is BYO (with no corkage charge), so pick up your Cobras and wine on the way

On this visit i enjoyed the Special Tandoori Bhuna, my other half loved her regular Chicken Tikka Tandoori and we shared a pilau rice, peshwari nan and papdoms. We visited on the Tuesday following the spring bank holiday weekend and the restaurant was surprisingly busy. Service was great though - the staff managed to find us a table downstairs after a short wait

The decor and glassware could do with an update, but it goes without saying that we will be back on our next trip to Tenby

MLTT

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MuchLoveTerryTibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    99
    26
    25
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
oswestry, england
Level 6 Contributor
579 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Good food, even better view”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We chose this restaurant as it smelt so good as we walked past earlier. And of course, we do like our curries. We were shown downstairs to a table in a room with a huge window with a view out onto the sea as the sun set. We had poppadums to start then veggie madras and chicken Jalfrezie, both tasty, both hot. They don't serve alcohol but you can take your own. Price at the higher end of Indian restaurant charging but no corkage charge or overpriced wine, so good value in the end. It's a pity we didn't stay longer as I wanted to try the Green Goan Curry, we'd definitely go back...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, Dorset, UK.
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Top quality food”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I loved this Indian, very good service. The food is top quality, we had a table down-stairs that we had already booked. What a wonderfull view over Tenby bay ! Our friends had been before so we already knew we had to take our own alcohol.
Even though the restaurant was busy we did not have to wait very long at all for our order. The friendly staff made the evening even more special.
We will definately return on our next vist to Tenby.
Brilliant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LionPurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bengal curry house”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We arrived at the curry house and had a table down stairs straight away,the staff were very friendly but then found out they didn't sell beer so the waiter came and I ordered food for me and my wife and walked to tescos thinking the food will be ready by the time I got bak,when I eventually got bak the waiter came round again and took our order,I don't know why praps he didn't understand me the first time as I am welsh,anyway we had food not long after and it was ok,tasted much better tho,I went to pay by card then and they only take cash so I had to take another walk bak to tescos I was not amused trust me.
When iI got bak I complained to the boss he said it was to expensive to hav a card machine especially when they r out ov season,well that was it for me,wont be going bak there again

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 01Curryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Go downstairs”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Don't be put off if there appears to be no one in the restaurant as there is a downstairs room with lovely views of the harbour. Food and service were both good. The restaurant doesn't serve alcohol so you need to take your own. Unlike some restaurants they don't charge for this.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkshireDandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay of Bengal also viewed

Tenby, Pembrokeshire
Kilgetty, Pembrokeshire
 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Bay of Bengal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing