We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pub Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Buccaneer

The Buccaneer
Ranked #15 of 106 Restaurants in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Soups, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Pub Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We ate here twice, once in the beer garden during the day and the second time inside, the food can take a little while to come when it is really busy but you are advised of the wait when you order.
Good food, hot and tasty.
Reasonably priced.
Friendly staff.
Worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PWN13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    302
    86
    55
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best fish pie ever! Great family lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Never write reviews but felt that our lunch on friday at the buccaneer was outstanding. Excellent standard of fresh, home cooked pub grub. I had the fish pie...awesome and really recommended. My wife had the chicken jalfrezi which was equally delicious. Kids meals were fresh, tasty and fairly priced. Will definitely recommend to friends and family. Fair price too

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank preecesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My wife and I have visited this pub a few times in the last 2 years whilst on holiday and have found the food to be of a high standard. For our last meal I had the fresh battered haddock and my wife had the fish pie. Both were of very generous portions both were under £10 and the food was hot, although the pub was very busy our meals arrived within ten minutes. The staff are always very helpful and polite, The pub also serves a range of changing real ales which is a bonus for the area

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jive3238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“best sea foodchowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

A great pinto go to in the various pubs in tenby. But my God the best sea overcrowded I have had for a while and I know my chowder. You must try this and visit the great pub

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good,cheap Pub Grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were a party of 9 looking for somewhere to have an evening meal and managed to grab a table in the beer garden.
The food and drink came to about £110 and was excellent value - the fish was well cooked in thin batter and the portions were large - don't worry about a starter.
The kids meals included a free fruit juice which was a nice touch.
On balance a good meal served by pleasant but harassed staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buccaneer also viewed

Tenby, Pembrokeshire
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Buccaneer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing