We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“best sea foodchowder” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Buccaneer

The Buccaneer
Ranked #16 of 109 Restaurants in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Soups, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“best sea foodchowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

A great pinto go to in the various pubs in tenby. But my God the best sea overcrowded I have had for a while and I know my chowder. You must try this and visit the great pub

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    335
    97
    57
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good,cheap Pub Grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were a party of 9 looking for somewhere to have an evening meal and managed to grab a table in the beer garden.
The food and drink came to about £110 and was excellent value - the fish was well cooked in thin batter and the portions were large - don't worry about a starter.
The kids meals included a free fruit juice which was a nice touch.
On balance a good meal served by pleasant but harassed staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great pub with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Lovely , typical pub. Hard working and friendly staff although a little scruffy at times.
Food is consistently good and very good value, portions are not for the faint hearted !
Always tasty.
Great beer garden out back too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank joja5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“average pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

After reading numerous favourable reviews about this pub on tripadvisor, I decided to take my wife for a meal while on a daytrip to Tenby. This is obviously a very popular pub and was very busy when we arrived at about midday. There was no room inside so we ventured into the outside eating area. We found a table in the 'no smoking 'area and sat down to check the menu. To be perfectly honest the menu is nothing to write home about. Very average in fact. All meals are offered with 'chips, salad or jacket potato'. Not a vegetable in sight. When ordering at the bar, the lady was quite pleasant but during the whole visit, the two waitresses were miserable and never once said please or thank you. They both had faces that could of curdled milk. They need to cheer up and appreciate the fact that they actually have a job. The food itself was ok. My wife had Gammon and I had garlic chicken. Both would have been better with some vegetables and gravy. If I ever go back to Tenby, I will try a different pub.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordhsire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Always enjoy the food and always go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have been going to the Buc for years, always nice food, my compliant is there is too much of it lol.

You will find cheaper pubs to eat in but at the Buc I know what I am going to get!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Morgan071207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buccaneer also viewed

 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Buccaneer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing