We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best sea foodchowder”
Review of The Buccaneer

The Buccaneer
Ranked #20 of 116 Restaurants in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“best sea foodchowder”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

A great pinto go to in the various pubs in tenby. But my God the best sea overcrowded I have had for a while and I know my chowder. You must try this and visit the great pub

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    397
    127
    67
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good,cheap Pub Grub”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were a party of 9 looking for somewhere to have an evening meal and managed to grab a table in the beer garden.
The food and drink came to about £110 and was excellent value - the fish was well cooked in thin batter and the portions were large - don't worry about a starter.
The kids meals included a free fruit juice which was a nice touch.
On balance a good meal served by pleasant but harassed staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great pub with great food”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Lovely , typical pub. Hard working and friendly staff although a little scruffy at times.
Food is consistently good and very good value, portions are not for the faint hearted !
Always tasty.
Great beer garden out back too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank joja5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“average pub”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

After reading numerous favourable reviews about this pub on tripadvisor, I decided to take my wife for a meal while on a daytrip to Tenby. This is obviously a very popular pub and was very busy when we arrived at about midday. There was no room inside so we ventured into the outside eating area. We found a table in the 'no smoking 'area and sat down to check the menu. To be perfectly honest the menu is nothing to write home about. Very average in fact. All meals are offered with 'chips, salad or jacket potato'. Not a vegetable in sight. When ordering at the bar, the lady was quite pleasant but during the whole visit, the two waitresses were miserable and never once said please or thank you. They both had faces that could of curdled milk. They need to cheer up and appreciate the fact that they actually have a job. The food itself was ok. My wife had Gammon and I had garlic chicken. Both would have been better with some vegetables and gravy. If I ever go back to Tenby, I will try a different pub.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Always enjoy the food and always go back”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have been going to the Buc for years, always nice food, my compliant is there is too much of it lol.

You will find cheaper pubs to eat in but at the Buc I know what I am going to get!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Morgan071207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buccaneer also viewed

Tenby, Pembrokeshire
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Buccaneer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing