We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice beer garden. Food average.”
Review of The Buccaneer

The Buccaneer
Ranked #19 of 113 Restaurants in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Soups, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice beer garden. Food average.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were desperate for a drink and some food after hauling two small children around Tenby, and saw the sign for the beer garden. The place was busy, and sadly the beer garden was full of smokers, so we were under the canopy, out of the sunshine. After a drink (good beer) we decided to stop for an early dinner. My husband enjoyed the steak, but my lemon sole was pretty tasteless.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank smilymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    381
    119
    65
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Typical seaside pub”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Good honest food. Plenty of it. Nice pub with decent atmosphere. The garden at the back is great. Meals were huge and very tasty.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wilson1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Menu brilliant - food brilliant. Service brilliant - prices brilliant. Nothing more to say but visit this place if you are near or in Tenby

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ferrarilover2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“You won't find fish much fresher!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Visited the Buccaneer in the week of pembrokeshire fish festival and the food was very good, even if it was simple! If the mackerel or silver bream are on the menu then you must try one. Honest non pretentious good value fresh food!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jodyc1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beware of the pirates”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Ate here recently with two small children and everyone left disappointed. The initial service was standard (place your order at the bar, wait for the food) and everything after that was a disaster. The special of the day was off (at 1pm) and the food that we ordered took 30 mins to arrive - when we queried this we were told that one of the meals (Carmelised Red Onion Tart) took 30 mins to prepare. This wasn't mentioned to us at any stage when ordering and isn't on the menu. When the food did arrive the children's food (Fish fingers) were grossly overcooked, the tart was burnt (we asked one of the waitresses to have a look at it - she said they had never received any complaints before) and the 'salad' consisted of about half a roughly chopped iceberg lettuce with four or five olives, a few pieces of pineapple and two quarters of a watery tomato. The fruit that was to come with the kids meal never materialised and when I asked about it I was told to take a piece of fruit from the bowl at the end of the bar counter on the way out. Overall this was a meal that will live long in the memory for it's sheer badness, with the pigeons in the beer garden showing much more interest in the clientele than any of the staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buccaneer also viewed

Tenby, Pembrokeshire
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Buccaneer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing