We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Albany Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Albany Hotel
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Tenby
cardiff
Level Contributor
215 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel was comfortable and clean, and worth the money we paid for our one night stay. It does need work doing to it (the bathroom needs redecoration) but when you consider the price, it is value for money, and I would stay again for a short stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank felicityma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
HI,
Thank you for taking the time in posting your review. Very pleased that you enjoyed your overnight stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best Wishes Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    113
    45
    29
    20
See reviews for
29
179
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

A first class experience with a superb friendly atmosphere. Brian and Janet treat each guest with high levels of hospitality. All in all the place to stay. Other guests really enjoying the evening ( see Albany happies you tube)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANDREW E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hi,

Thank you for leaving this feedback and really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back on a future occasion. Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed one night (which was plenty) in Albany, though we called it the L'Any as A and B letters on hotel frontage were missing. Bathroom(showers) totally dated, rooms grim, the sash window in my room was held open with a piece of wood! and when I tried to open the window the frame was falling apart - health and safety!!? Breakfast though, was excellent. Actually hotel is very well situated close to centre of Tenby but really needs renovating

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwynCroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hi Thanks for leaving this review and firstly very pleased that you found the location and breakfast to be excellent. The signage you are relating too was cased by high winds and all the letters from the sign have now been removed for some time now. We have had yet another very busy season and are currently in the process of our annual redecoration of bedrooms, bathrooms and public areas. Kind Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tenby hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

A 2 star hotel that gets 2 stars at a push. I hate to do this as the owners were most accomodating and very friendly and would actually stay there again due to that fact. When writing reviews though one must remain impartial and tell how you find. I know times are tough and everyone is battening down the hatches with regards to costs etc but I have to point out certain things here. The decor is very dated and the whole place needs redecorating. From the lounge to the stairs to the rooms and our room, carpets, wallpaper, paintwork, windows all need doing. Our room was a mis-match of jaded 70's decor and unfinished paintwork and what looked like a botch job of plumbing the toilet in with associated poor plastering. Cracks in the ceiling, mould on the windows and just poor attention to basic decor unfortunately lets the place down badly. In desperate need of a makeover. Onto the breakfast. I know it's a budget hotel and I wasn't expecting Le Cordon Bleu but it has to be said it was awful. Scrambled eggs that disintegrated into liquid before your eyes, sausages that would make LIDL's value range QA department reject them on grounds of nutritional content, greasy cheap hash browns, cheap tasteless baked beans and actually acceptable bacon. Coffee wasn't good and even the orange juice when taken from the dispenser had a fizzy tang to it like it had gone off or been exposed to heat for a length of time. Again, I don't wish to upset anyone or criticise unnecessarily but feel these things need to be pointed out as constructively and honestly as I found. I do hope the owners read this and take note as they were both very friendly and most hospitable. Please attempt to make improvements and I'm sure people would be queueing up to stay.

Room Tip: Room 26 is a no no.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
HI, Thank you for leaving this review and sorry that we did not meet with your expectations. The room that you mention is a spacious double with a modern red sofa and matching pine wardrobe, bed side tables and chest of drawers. The carpets throughout the hotel were only fitted 5 years ago. We have had a very busy season and have now started our 'annual' winter redecoration programme and Room 26 has this week (w/c 19/11/2012) been freshened up. I am suprised by your comments with regards to breakfast as we use quality ingrediants and tend not to get anything other than compliments so again please accept my apologies for the shortcomings you experienced (the hash browns are also oven baked so do not understand why they would be greasy) We work very hard to ensure that we do all the basics well and have only recently had our annual hotel inspection which was very positive and once again graded as a 2 star hotel for our sixth year. It is unfortunate that you did not bring any of these matters to our attention at the time of your visit as we would have been only too happy to have tried to resolve any of these issues prior to your departure. Kind Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just returned from The Albany Hotel, Tenby. Not an expensive hotel, so have an open mind. We really enjoyed it, and Brian and Janet could not do enough for you, Richard and Lisa being away. The breakfasts were great and plentiful, And the evening meals were also great. The chef Nigel did a brilliant job. The rooms are not on the large side, and could do with some updating, but were still comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. In a nice location not far from the beach and town centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weekender6360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Hi, Thank you for taking the time in writing this review. Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

staff and management could not do enough for you. really accommodating and welcoming. breakfast fantastic and the best value for money hotel i have stayed in. near to the town centre with its bars and shops. many thanks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Hi, Thank you taking the time in writing this review and so pleased that you enjoyed. Hope to welcome you back in the future. Regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed from the 19th October for two nights.From the minute we arrived and till the time we left Richard and the staff were fantastic. Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent and kept us going for most of the day. The bar was very hospitable and prices better than any where else in Tenby.Thank you very much for making our stay most enjoyable. We hope to return very soon.
All our best wishes Malcolm and Maggie Davies.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malmagswansae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Tenby, Owner at The Albany Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hi, Thank you for leaving this review and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Enjoyed our chats in thebar and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best Wishes Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#10 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#14 of 24 in Tenby
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albany Hotel

Property: The Albany Hotel
Address: 22-23 The Norton, Tenby SA70 8AB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Albany Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albany Hotel is owned and run by the Slate Family, which consists of Richard & Lisa (Brian & Janet have recently retired from the day to day operation of the hotel). Their aim is to make it feel like a home from home to make their guests feel welcome. Situated just off the North Beach and minutes from the main square in the centre of Tenby, this makes The Albany Hotel the ideal place to stay. Tenby is the ideal location to also visit the rest of Pembrokeshire with its beautiful coastal walks, and many attractions such as Folly Farm, Oakwood, Colby Gardens. Heatherton, Manor Park, Saundersfoot and many more .... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Hotel Tenby
The Albany Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing