We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay in room 14!”
Review of Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Very nice room apart from the view! We opted for a standard room without seaview. What we got was a standard room, on the 1st floor, at the rear of the hotel and the view blocked by an extension of the building. So when we drew the curtains in the morning we got to stare at a big, solid, yellow block! We could hear the birds but we could not see them. We couldn't even see the road from our room.
Other than that, the room itself was spacious and clean, with high ceilings. Walls were solid so very liitle noise from other guests to disturb us which was great. Bathroom was clean and modern but a very strange shape - the bath had been aqueezed in.
Breakfast was ample. Buffet self service on the Sunday but waiter service on the Monday - which was very poor! Pool area average - small pool (which had a dead spider in it!), small but well put together steam room, good size jacuzzi.
Lovely private seating area across the road opposite the hotel where you can have drinks and food from the hotel brought to you. Fantastic location, right on the blue flag beach and at the rear of town so close enough to all the eateries, pubs & shops but quiet enough at night. Staff at the hotel very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiceyBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 462 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2010

Booked a night at this hotel as a treat for my partner for his birthday and overall we were very happy with our choice. Location is excellent right on front with a great view of Caldey Island, theres a little seating area across rd that belongs to hotel where you can sit to have a drink al fresco and the view is fantastic. The decor in the public areas of the hotel was old fashioned but could tell it was expensively done, carpets very thick, nice furnishings etc and some lovely homely touches, esp liked the family photos near reception! The car park was a great added bonus as Tenby notoriously hard to park in, and we found receptionists friendly if not always available. The bedroom was adequate, think looks dated as lots of original features so hard to marry the new with the old but it was clean tidy - acceptable, nice little tea making area with adequate supplies. Bathroom was newly refurbished by look of it, nice and clean, but funny smell bit like 'sewage' smell abroad, not massively noticeable but definitely there. Bed was bit lumpy and walls thin but we slept well (as no kids with us to wake us up!). Breakfast was excellent partner fussy but he said it was one of best hes had at a hotel, and the dining room was really nicely done out, it was self service but there was a notice up saying to ask if you wanted to be served at your table. We sat in the reading room to read the sunday papers and a few mags, view from window very nice. The leisure facilites were really good, we spent a very relaxing afternoon in pool jacuzzi and steam room and were lucky as only 3 other couples using facilities so it was peaceful, the heated loungers were a bit uncomfortable though and only 3 of them - suppose it could get crammed quickly if everyone decided to use facilities at same time. We paid £112 for a night in a non sea view room - alot more than we'd pay for standard B&B but you are paying for the facilities, if you don't want to use pool and jacuzzi etc you could probably stay at other B&B's in area cheaper.....if it was £112 just for a room yes it would be expensive but with the pool etc I think it was worth the cost. We would stay there again definitely but maybe go for a seaview next time. We have been to Tenby several times and we love it, we come back almost every year - it is a lovely place and for once on this trip we had wall to wall sunshine...result! If it is your first trip and you can get a boat to Caldey Island - go! It is very special. If you have kids with you Folly Farm and the Dinosaur Park are good places to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victoriaplum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank british_rose100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank robpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTICMANAGEMENT, Manager at Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janella3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hazel_acton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andalapanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.8 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
737 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Giltar Hotel
Giltar Hotel
#6 of 23 in Tenby
677 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
578 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#9 of 23 in Tenby
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#4 Family Hotel in Tenby
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: $159 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing