We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our first visit to Tenby”
Review of Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Corse Lawn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Our first visit to Tenby”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our first visit to Tenby and this hotel was chosen as a result of viewing other reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. Friendly check-in, room spotless, comfortable bed and with sea facing room and glorious weather - what more could one ask for?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    103
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
69
275
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

What a great hotel 5 star treatment x accommodation for 3 star prices very very comfortable stay pool x spa a very special extra rooms en suite all refurbished, lounge x bar areas really inviting and comfortable, breakfast room very fresh and waitress service what more could you want. My husband and I would recommend this hotel it was 1 st class Wendy A

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Old hotel overlooking south beach and Caldy Island on the Esplanade in Tenby. Recently refurbished so all the rooms have been modernised and are spotlessly clean. The hotel has a small garden on the cliff top with tables so that you can sit out and enjoy a drink the magnificent views when the weather is fine. There are also some steps down the cliff face to the beach below. Short walk into the centre of Tenby.
Nice breakfast and also an indoor swimming pool. All in all a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the Hotel have sea views. These are worth the extra money if the weather is fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilDuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Having stayed here over 20 years ago I returned to the hotel as I remembered an unusual feature: a comfortable bed! It was the same this time and the stay was just as good. The location is stunning and the service excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berks, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at the Atlantic for 3 nights over a long weekend at the end of May, when the weather was lovely. In a nutshell, it's a brilliant location - facing the sea and with steps down to South Beach, relatively quiet at night yet only a short walk into town.

We didn't use the pool (forgot swimming gear) but I stuck my head around the door at about 4pm one day, and it was quite busy - the end of half term meant there were a few families staying. We didn't use Carrington's restaurant because it just didn't appeal - dated looking, and a menu that would suit a 1970s dinner party. The hotel car park across the street was absolutely full over the weekend, but on Sunday afternoon was basically half empty so I guess all the families went back home.

We had a standard sea-facing room which was basically small, with a pretty uncomfortable standard double bed installed around bedroom suite furniture that would mean they could never put a King size in, though there's probably not enough walking room round the bed to accommodate any larger one anyway. Bathroom was small but OK; everything was clean and it looked like it had been fairly recently done.

Breakfast was OK, but I wouldn't say any more than OK. The service at all times, from the breakfast waitresses to the front desk staff, was top notch - they couldn't do enough to help.

So, in summary, this is quite probably the best hotel in Tenby. Its location is hard to beat, and the accommodation is good, pleasant, and the staff were great. It's no Boskerris in St Ives, though, but then it's not as expensive, so if you set your expectations appropriately, then you'll enjoy a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EwanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed here for a few days at the end of May. What can I say! the place is really lovely, we had a standard room at the side of the hotel but could still see the sea, rooms are modern, clean and bright. It was nice to spend a few hours in the pool and sauna when the sun wasn't shining. When the sun came out we went over the road to the sun terrace, if the bar isn't open the staff in Carringtons restaurant will serve you drinks to take over with you. Had a meal in there on the first night, excellent!!
Great location for walking in to Tenby and the carpark is real bonus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife and i had a few nights here at the end of May, it's a 3 star that punches above its weight. The location is superb, with a lovely sun terrace across the road from the hotel above a wonderful beach with private access. The staff are welcoming, and helpful with nothing too much trouble for them. A large car park in the side road opposite with plenty of room, is a bonus, as Tenby in high season can be a nightmare for parking.
We had a side non sea view room overlooking the road, very light airy, and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was self service, with your table allocated for the duration of your stay.
We will certainly return to the Atlantic again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfTupperGalles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Giltar Hotel
Giltar Hotel
#6 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel

Property: Atlantic Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
#8 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing