We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT PLACE”
Review of Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A GREAT PLACE”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is not the first time I have stayed here and it won't be the last. After a refurbishment the place goes from strength to strength. The staff are good, the breakfasts are fantastic and the location of the hotel is ideal with a lovely view across to Caldey Island. I can't praise the hotel enough.

Room Tip: The rooms with a sea view are the best for the view, but soon book up quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    106
    31
    12
    8
See reviews for
72
285
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beckley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Picking hotels can be a lottery and we could have so easily have ended up in a Tenby hotel overwhelmed by coach parties or with dodgy net curtains but not here. Clean comfortable and modern the Atlantic made us very welcome. Our standard room wasn't huge but neither was the price and we felt quite at home in it. The Welsh weather tried to spoil our visit but the Atlantic's pool came to the rescue - a real bonus! Along with a nice bar, lounge and breakfast included this is so much better than using the budget chains. All the staff were very friendly and the hotel is in the best location in town.

Room Tip: If you aren't on a budget worth paying for a sea view and larger room but ours was still fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here in the deluxe room again for our second visit to this hotel. Amazing sea views, hotel spotlessly clean, very friendly and helpful staff, love the swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Plenty of space in the car park. We are going back again in a few months and would recommend to stay here, we won't stay anywhere else, we love it!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zoe l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed in room 45 on first floor round the corner - so relatively quiet and a non-seaview room. Room and bed comfortable and fine for 2 people - bathroom clean and roomy. Sheets and towels spotless and smelled fresh - room was warm but we could open the windows, so fine.
We used the spa several times - had it to ourselves and really enjoyed the pool and steam room - changing room/shower fine but abit cold - and floor abit slippy when wet.
I do think it is a mistake that the restaurant (for dinner) is not part of the hotel but run by someone else separately. We had planned to eat there but didn't know we had to book and as it was quiet they closed early - so we had to go out and get fish and chips. Reception staff very helpful tho - gave us cutlery and plates and let us eat in a small room by the lounge. The bar was dead - if we wanted a drink we had to ask reception staff - this was fine and they were very helpful - made us sandwiches the second night. Breakfast was fine - lots of choice and help yourself - I know some people don't like that but it was very relaxed and you could have whatever you wanted.
I have stayed several times and we have booked to stay again - not bothered to pay more for a sea view room as you literally step out the front door onto the Esplanade facing the sea. Lovely, pretty hotel garden. Useful to have the car park - although it can get abit full.
I think the hotel is abit pricy but they have carried out a lot of improvements over the last few years - it used to be very old fashioned and abit worn - has improved a lot. Seaview lounge and bar have been updated and new furniture and flooring - all fine but perhaps abit characterless.
Would recommend - and the fact that we've booked to stay again is hopefully a good recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nico2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Very welcoming staff, in a beautifully maintained and spotlessly clean hotel. Pool and spa fabulous addition and recently refurbished to a very high standard. Breakfast very good indeed. Outdoor sitting drinking area overlooking the south beach with amazing views, and access to walks around Tenby or along the beach. Go for a sea view if available as we only had view of central hotel roof, but it didn't spoil our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunloverNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from a weekend at the Atlantic Hotel, Tenby. On arrival the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Our room was clean and spacious. Had a fabulous breakfast made with tasty fresh ingredients my partner who is vegetarian was we'll catered for, difficult to find any fault. Well worth a look should you be looking for a hotel in Tenby.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We booked after checking the reviews and stayed from the 19th to the 21st April.reception staff very professional and friendly.Room 20 was very nice and spacious.
Breakfast were very good.The pool was lovely and clean .
Would return .

Room Tip: Suggest first floor at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LordDudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
708 reviews
0.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.5 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel

Property: Atlantic Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
#8 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing