We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice quiet B&B with helpful landlady” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gumfreston Hotel

Gumfreston Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gumfreston Hotel
Ranked #38 of 56 Tenby B&B and Inns
chippenham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice quiet B&B with helpful landlady”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on my first trip to Tenby and generally pretty happy with the accomodation.

The landlady couldn't be nicer and or more helpful, the breakfasts are good and filling.

Room 2 overlooks the street but very quiet as B&B is in a quiet part of town, although only 2 mins walk away from the Beach and walled centre.

About 1 min walk away is a large Car Park which is reasonably priced.

Decor in Roon is a bit dated, but generally ok and clean, difficult (almost impossibe) to fill kettle as sink in bathroom is very small.

Overall, if you stay here you won't be too unhappy.

Room Tip: Room 2 is quiet erven though it faces the Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeyb125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    24
    6
    7
    6
See reviews for
8
36
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Although the bedroom and bathrrom were not very big it was made up for the big heart of the owner. Nothing was too much trouble and she even gave my daughter in law and grandson a free breakfast when they came to meet us. Very clean and in a convenient spot. Would visit again. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Upon arrival we were shown straight to the room which was good and we were shown instantly how to work the shower which saved us time as we didn’t have to try and figure it out ourselves. We were given our key and we could come back and forth from the hotel whenever we chose to.
The beds were comfortable and were changed. There was a zip down the middle so if we wanted to make the twin beds a whole bed we had that option. There were decent sized mirrors around the room so you had the full length one and ones on the dressing table and in the bathroom that were of the appropriate size. The shower had hot water on which you could choose your preferred temperature.
However, the bathroom in general is just too small. There is a shelf right above the sink which needs to either be moved over, up or removed as if you’re brushing your teeth or washing your face, you’re more than likely to smash your head off of it. I think that the bathroom needs a lock as everyone appreciates their privacy when they are using the bathroom.
Also, the room gets really hot at night so there either needs to be air conditioning or at least a decent sized fan in there. The windows are stiff too open and close, I think they need to be windows where you push them open outwards not up and down as that is quite old fashioned. A kettle is provided with tea and coffee but in order to fill up the kettle we had to use water from the shower as due to the irritating shelf right above the sink we couldn’t fit the kettle underneath the tap. The maid also walked into our room without our permission which also links to privacy, so either she needs to knock louder or wait until we require her assistance.
The food for breakfast was decent, no real complaints. The staff were friendly and always asked for your requirements but sometimes they were not fulfilled. For me, the breakfast was too early and didn’t last for long. If people are on holiday they might not want to be ready for half 8 as they maybe have to get up that early for work so I think 8:30 – 9:30 is a long enough period on which people can come down and eat when they want to.
Overall I would give this hotel a 2 ½ out of 5 and I don’t think I would recommend this to people who are looking for a comfortable luxurious stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank sofia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were visiting a friend in Tenby and needed somewhere for the three of us to stay. The location of the Gumfreston was perfect as it was only a short stroll to town. We had a family room which had two singles and bunk beds. It wasn't a big room but as we only needed a place to rest our heads at the end of the day it was fine for what we needed. The bathroom looked newly refurbished and the shower was hot and strong. The breakfast was fab (cured our Welsh hangovers!) and Helen the friendly landlady was accommodating to what we wanted and didn't want on our breakfast plate.

All in all a great stay and I'd recommend for a short stay in Tenby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were greeted on arrival by the owner Helen who had saved us a parking space right out side the hotel. Helen showed us to our room (no 2) and explained all about the facilities and provided recommendations of where to go in and around Tenby as well as where to eat. Hotel and rooms very clean and is situated in a quiet street that is very close to the beach and the town centre. The hotel and the area are very quiet at night. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. I would recommend eating in the Buccaneer. Helen couldn't have been more helpful - thank you for an excellent stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 274Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Had 3 nights at this great B&B. Breakfast was excellent and filling, room was tidy and Helen is one of the nicest people you would ever wish to meet. Highly recommend to anyone travelling to Tenby and looking for a place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sully
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed in Room 2 Saturday 15th June 2013. Helen the owner is fantastic.Took me to the room to explain how tv,shower,etc worked and immediately made me feel very welcome with her sunny attitude.After 3 hours exploring and a brief nap in a very cosy comfortable bed i asked Helen to recommend somewhere for dinner.Was advised to try Greek restaurant Mykonos in castle wall and was best Mousaka I have had outside Greece.Breakfast was served between 8.30 and 9am and choice and quality was excellent.Helen is credit the hotelier trade and in a pretty Welsh harbour town for competition must be high Helen goes the extra mile and gives the added value that ensures I will return and have asked Helen to put my name on Room 2 lol.

Room Tip: Room 2 was very airy and overlooked the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gareth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Cottage Court Hotel
Cottage Court Hotel
#18 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Giltar Hotel
Giltar Hotel
#5 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Strathmore
The Strathmore
#4 of 56 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
3.0 mi away
Greenhills Hotel
Greenhills Hotel
#1 of 6 in St. Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumfreston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumfreston Hotel

Property: Gumfreston Hotel
Address: 15 Culver Park, Tenby SA70 7ED, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gumfreston Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family run hotel (Licensed) in town location, only 1 street from South Beach. Attended car parking approx 30 yards away. Casual dress for meals. Vegetarians, Children, Special Diets catered for ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Gumfreston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gumfreston Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing