We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Friendly Place to Stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenthorne Guest House
Ranked #10 of 53 Tenby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My partner and I had the pleasure of staying at this lovely guest house for three nights this week. We found it to be great value for money, the owners Peter & Menna are really friendly and lovely people. The whole guest house is spotlessly clean, our room was comfortable and the breakfasts were absolutely beautiful, very well cooked using very good quality local ingredients.
Peter & Menna were perfect hosts and recommended places to go and things to do, the best for me was their recommendation to a local curry house the 'Barbucci' (I will review that separately)
We had a lovely stay and as long as people remember they are in a privately run guest house in a small seaside resort I think they would find it very difficult to find fault here.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook a main road into Tenby so if you're a light sleeper you my want to ask for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 150 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at the Glenthorne from 6th to 10th of September whilst our son took part in the Ironman Triathlon and quite simply it was a wonderful experience. We were greeted on arrival by our hosts (Menna and Peter) and were promptly escorted to the secure off-road parking area with an offer of a secure garage for my son's triathlon Bike. Our rooms were very light, airy, spotlessly clean and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast was splendid with a full cooked on offer as well as toast, meusli, fruit with fruit juice, tea and coffee. Breakfast was even supplied at 0500 for the triathletes on the day of the event with a later sitting for non competitors. Later on in the evenings we availed ourselves of the adequately stocked bar in the comfort of the lounge. We really cannot speak highly enough of the welcome, attention and service we received throughout our stay and as a result, we fully intend to return to this Guest House and use it as a base from which to tour the Pembrokeshire coast. Menna and Peter are a credit to Tenby!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

From Bryan and Julie, Blackwood. We have just returned from a two day break in the glenthorne. A lovely Guest House, very close to the town and the beach. Allocated safe parking space. Peter and Menna are excellent hosts, who made us very welcome. Good rooms with comfy beds and a wonderful breakfast each day. We have previously stayed with them and each visit gets better and better. Thank you Peter and Menna

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have just returned from a last minute weekend in Tenby. We were rather cautious due to my husband's recent diagnosis with coeliac disease.Well we really had no need to worry! Peter and Menna are the very best of hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. The welcome was warm and friendly, our room spotless and very comfortable and they had even taken the trouble to provide glutenfree biscuits for hubbys morning cuppa, a lovely gesture!
Again, when it came to breakfast, gluten free options were available so hubby was able to enjoy the full English with all the trimmings with no worry of feeling ill. The food was delicious and beautifully prepared and served by Menna and Peter. Fantastic!
All in all the weekend was a great success and we will certainly recommend the Glenthorne Guest House to anyone wanting to visit Tenby. We will certainly be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toetaperific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

What a lovely Guest house, ideally situated, close to town. Allocated parking space, where you can leave your car, without worrying. Menna&Peter, fabulous hosts, made us very welcome. Comfy beds and fantastic breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed here at Glenthorne Guest House in early June 2013 and loved it! I only stayed one night but enjoyed it immensely. It is just a very short and pleasant walk to all the attractions in Tenby. I stayed in a comfortable twin room with a lovely new bathroom. Hosts were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was first-class! I would recommend this place to anyone and would stay here again if I ever go to Tenby again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Brilliant, love you Merrin and Peter for making us so welcome lovely place, food excellent, good location for Tenby will come again lovely room. Very friendly people. The trips out on the harbour were excellent particularly the Seal Safari. Really enjoyed this holiday thank you very much.



Julie and Jeff Nottingham

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saint Teresa's Hotel
Saint Teresa's Hotel
#30 of 53 in Tenby
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lindholme Guest House
Lindholme Guest House
#12 of 53 in Tenby
155 reviews
1 mi away
Wychwood House
Wychwood House
#3 of 53 in Tenby
271 reviews
0 mi away
Croyland Guest House
Croyland Guest House
#1 of 53 in Tenby
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenthorne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenthorne Guest House

Address: 9 Deer Park, Tenby SA70 7LE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Price Range: $79 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated just 300 yards from the beaches & town centre. We are also only a 10 minute walk from the coach & train stations. We have eight comfortable rooms - doubles, single, twin & family rooms. Most are en-suite, all have colour TV & tea/coffee facilities. Limited parking is available, bookable in advance. We offer reduced rates to children under 13. We are rated 5 by the Food Standards Agency. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glenthorne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenthorne Guest House Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing