We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, smelly, badly rganised, but with a wonderful view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dirty, smelly, badly rganised, but with a wonderful view!”
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Our room (no.4) was smelly, with a dirty carpet and rolls of dust, fluff, food debris and e.g. used elastoplast etc. behind bedside table. With 'tired' decor, one of the window frames was rotted onto a hole. The bathroom had a large long-standing stain on the ceiling (below upstairs toilet). The bathroom floor was dirty and pee stained. There was red and black mould on bath and tiles, and the bath seal had perished, causing leaks onto floor and carpet which smelt very badly. The showerhead was encrusted. The wash basin (with hole repaired) was coated with grease. The (we paid extra) magnificent sea view was across a litter strewn balcony area. All corridor doors were filthy with age old hand prints and carpets were un-vacuumed. See photos, there are many more! The Manager had gone on holiday (in August!), as had his deputy. Reception was largely unmanned. All the dinner menu food (apart from two roast meats served in 4 days) was from frozen, and vegetables were badly overcooked. Food choices were minimal and sometimes non-existent after first/second of 3 sittings. Waiting staff were lovely, but helpless to improve what was on offer.
A formal complaint to Shearings Coast and Country, with many photos has elicited just an unsigned undated postcard after 3 weeks.
This place is a shambles. Until it is cleaned up - avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SKIsofleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    206
    103
    51
    37
See reviews for
93
370
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

After a dodgy booking in, all I can do is but praise Peter Rees(Manager) for his excellence in sorting out our booking. we stayed for three nights, we were all satisfied with our rooms with wonderful sea views, both room were a lovely size, clean and tidy. the beds were comfortable with lovely crisp bedding and the towel were excellent.. If I am to be honest the decoration and bathroom was a little tired, but the public areas were very nice. The restaurant over looked the sea, and was very hot when the sun was shinning, it could do with aircon, but this is not a complaint. They did have a shortage of serving staff ing the dinning room, by again it was sorted by the Manager and his efficient assistant Angelica (who reaaly knew her job) Thankyou both for making our stay so good. We hope to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenSWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

The hotel is in such a super location it is such a shame the rooms are so dirty and unwelcoming. Our room was over the front door, plenty of light through a large window which if it had been clean would have been better still.The mould around the window panes was disgusting as was the sill which had not been wiped. As for the shower room---the floor,shower tray and skirting boards were very dirty ---we felt very wary of touching anything.On the positive side the bedding and towels were very clean. The bed had seen better days !!
The public areas were nicely decorated and we enjoyed the food served by very polite ,smart young people.
If we were to visit again it would be after the rooms had been refurbished.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PdayOcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2010

stayed in a premier room overlooking the sea - could not fault the view. However the loo seat was broken and was not replaced which is a health hazard. Room was comfortable including the bed. Unfortunately there were a huge number of coach trip residents, mostly elderly and frail, some of whom were very rude. Food was a dissapointment and very ordinary - I would expect some welsh specialities on the menu including local sea food. Breaded haddock is not what I would expect in a hotel! Enjoyed the stay but doubt very much whetherv we would return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tenby0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

The hotel is in a superb position and we have stayed there on many occasions. The public rooms have been up-graded over the past couple of years but the new furniture is already beginning to look worn. Some of the larger bedrooms (which we have been allocated in the past) have also been up-graded and the price for these rooms has rocketed. Sadly the basic bedrooms don't seem to have been given the same care and attention as the rest of the hotel and the room we were allocated earlier this year was really grubby. The dust and dirt in the room when we arrived was still there when we left and there was a huge amount of mould round the windows in both the bathroom and the bedroom. There were marks of dried soap and toothpaste all over the bathroom mirror and basin taps. We have always been delighted in the past with our room allocation and have never felt the need to complain (in fact this is the first time we've ever felt compelled to write such a review) but we both thought that the standard had certainly slipped. Even the food wasn't as good as it used to be a couple of years ago. Don't think we'll be returning.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank supernan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Lancashire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Super position built on the crags of the sea front but only a minutes walk from amenities of town. The public rooms were very nice but the bedrooms left a lot to be desired. Our bedroom had some mould around the window and the carpet had not been swept in ages. The bathroom needed updating. On the first night in the dining room we had our soup and then sat waiting for 30 minutes. I complained but it still took us an hour and a half to have three courses. As the week progressed the service did improve slightly was still not very good. As usual with a Shearings Hotel the bar was very dear so we used a Conservative Club around the corner. The seagulls are a real pain in the neck and wake you early every morning. Take some earplugs. Visit Caldey Island, which is beautiful. The hotel has no car park to speak of but the public car park is only minutes away. £15 for the week.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keswickman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Great location and very relaxing for watching the sea come in and out. We were given a room overlooking the sea. Rooms a bit pricy we felt for the area £120 a night are nearly London prices but a gorgeous picturesque view of the sea.
Great hotel, would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkmoyley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Tenby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Tenby Hotel

Property: The Imperial Tenby Hotel
Address: The Paragon, Tenby SA70 7HR, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Tenby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel, Tenby is built into the ancient stone walls of Tenby, overlooking its beautiful South Beach. The hotel boasts truly spectacular views towards Caldey Island. Inside the hotel, you’ll find a comfortable and charming place to unwind and relax. The Pembrokeshire region of South Wales is home to some of the most spectacular coastline in the British Isles. At the heart of this charming and picturesque setting can be found the town of Tenby, with its cobbled streets and ancient stone walls. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Imperial Tenby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Tenby
The Imperial Tenby Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing