We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Things to check”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Things to check”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Two couples near pensioner age drove down from Scotland and arrived late afternoon to find Hotel car-park full. Parking was nearby but expensive. We paid for sea view and were not disappointed.
The condition of the rooms seem to be a bit variable due to on-going refurbishment, ours was fine however our friends had some issues, no bath and only a shower, decor a bit tatty and so on.
We unfortunately elected for the 7.30 meal sitting, sat for ages before the order was taken only to have the waiter return half and hour later to tell us that the set menu (DBB) was finished and we were to choose from the a la carte menu. This was not satisfactory as our first choices were also unavailable. Basically we had to order from what was left, we complained and were offered a second bottle of wine on the house as recompense. This was considered an acceptable compromise until checking out we noticed the complimentary wine was charged “on the bill” We pointed this out to the receptionist who stated that as no one had told her about this agreement we had to pay. I pointed out that as I had only signed for one bottle, legally that was all I could be charged for.
The manager and other senior staff were not available to resolve these issues and she said that I had to make a statement explaining my reasons for refusing to pay. This I did, but on reasoning that it may be put on my credit card anyway I insisted on paying cash for the bottle due and getting a receipt. I was then presented with an Invoice for the money due and told this is what they use for a receipt. Pointing out that I had been an MD for twenty years and new the difference between an invoice and a receipt did not faze her at all. Only after argument from our group comprising a HSE Manager, a Hospitals Trust Manager and a HEO civil servant did she relent and add the word “paid” to the Invoice.
Summary
Training is clearly an issue in this establishment and the root cause of the meals failures and check-out problems. Resource was obviously an issue as the restaurant staff were failing to delivery despite working very hard. The hotel is in a beautiful spot and in general everybody seemed to be trying to get things right.

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view. Demand a recent re-furbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Many thanks for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed the fantastic view that the Imperial hotel can offer at this lovely location. I can only apologize about the communication between departments. I shall investigate your comments about the service received during your stay. Please be assured that all comments and reviews shall be actioned by myself and the team.I and the team have been addressing the problems you have noted in your review and we are working very hard to upkeep the standards of our hotel and when these things are brought to our attention we try to deal with them as quickly and efficiently as possible, do I hope that you choose to come back again and I am positive you will see a remarkable improvement.Regards,Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    206
    103
    51
    37
See reviews for
93
370
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I would agree that the hotel is a little bit shabby and dated in places but the location and whole environment is lovely. I very much enjoyed my stay and totally relaxed here. If I had wanted a flashy, modern hotel with all the latest gadgets i wouldnt have come here as this has other charms. It is a bit 'oldey worldy' but that is part of its charm. I would certainly return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments of your recent stay at the Imperial Hotel Tenby. I agree that the hotel is situated in a stunning location with excellent views offering good value for money. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you in the near future. Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I booked the Imperial purely for its excellent position on the clifftop overlooking St Catherines Island and closeness to the town centre. Last stay here was about twenty years ago, and having read the Tripadvisor reviews I pretty much knew what to expect. The decor and standard of the rooms in general is very dated, but having said that the price charged wasn't exhorbitant. As others have said, the condition of the bedroom and bathroom leaves a lot to be desired, and reflects the age and price range of the hotel. We ate out (there are loads of restaurants nearby), so only had breakfast in the hotel. This was of an acceptable standard and good choice, so no complaints there. The staff were very helpful, and breakfast service in the restaurant was good.There is a small carpark at the hotel that you need to book in advance. Alternatively there is a private one near the Five Arches that cost £4 for a two-day stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian_Wantage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I will pass on the comments to the staff as they always strive to help our customers. Investments of bedrooms are planned for the forthcoming year. We have a small car park which is reasonably priced and can be booked when booking your holiday and we are more than happy to point out other car park facilities and things to do in Tenby and surrounding area. I am pleased you enjoyed the fantastic views and the surrounding area of Tenby and I hope to see you soon. Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Had a relaxing drink on the roof terrace over looking the beach. A little bit expensive but the surroundings were perfect. Great views and ammenaties. Didn't stay here but probably will in the future.

Room Tip: Sorry didn't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Easylife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased you enjoyed the view as the hotel is in a perfect position overlooking the beach, arguably the best in Tenby. Please look at our website or call direct to the hotel for more information. I hope to see you again in the near future. Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed at this hotel with shearings at the beginning of September for 5 days. Room was large with a fantastic sea view but bathroom was quite old and dirty. The room cleanliness for our stay was also poor. Food was abysmal. Breakfast was terrible ,hard poached eggs and one day tomatoes on toast was ordered and we were presented with 2 half tomatoes on alarge plate!! Evening meals were even worse, they kept running out of food and some nights we were not offered an alternative. One night we were even presented with packet mashed potatoe(yuck).
We were on a half board deal but had to buy quite a lot of food outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Many thanks for your review. I am glad that you enjoy the large room and the fantastic view that the Imperial can offer, I and the team are working very hard and addressing all the comments you made about the food. I shall investigate your comments about the service received during your stay. Please be assured that all comments and reviews shall be actioned by myself and the team. I do hope that you will return when I am sure you will see a remarkable improvement in all aspects of the Hotel and Service. Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A friend and I arrived at Tenby on the weekend of the IronMan race only to find Tenby was effectively shut so we couldn't get our car anywhere near the hotel and the hotel did not warn us about this.

When we arrived at the hotel, there was one staff member doing everything, serving at the bar, booking in customers etc. We were told none of the other staff could get to work because of the event.

I walked into my room and was immediately hit by the smell of damp, stale cigarettes and shake and vac. The sea view was amazing through the rotting window frame, unfortunately the room was so bad, I wouldn't have stayed there for free so I asked for another room and luckily was given one.

It was a better room, I wouldn't say it was particularly clean, but it was certainly an improvement even if I lost the sea view.

I still feel angry about the way we were treated by the French waiter at breakfast in the morning, I don't think I have ever encountered such bad service, rude, contemptuous, unhelpful, stroppy, downright unpleasant and inept are a small fraction of the words I would use to describe this odious character. I politely asked if we could have some glasses, he stared angrily at us and snarled 'I'm busy' before proceeding to mill about doing either very subtle work or just the pretence of looking busy.

Needless to say, I won't return.

The worst part is, with good management, this hotel could be one of the best in Tenby and a joy to stay in because of it's location.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GBlayney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for your constructive comments regarding your stay at the Imperial Hotel Tenby. We are working very hard to inform guest about the Iron man but as the competition is sort of new to the area our information is also limited. The majority of the roads were closed and because we are situated close to the finish line was difficult to get to the hotel including some of our members of staff. We always strive to provide the best service to our customers and we will do our best to accommodate in the best possible way. I and the team have been addressing the problems you have noted in your review and we are working very hard to upkeep the standards of our hotel and when these things are brought to our attention we try to deal with them as quickly and efficiently as possible do hope that you choose to come back again and I am positive you will see a remarkable improvement.Regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at the Imperial Hotel at the beginning of September. The location and views were wonderful. The room was large but bathroom small and the bath panel had been patched up.
Dinning room was well set out, with lovely sea views. The breakfast was good plenty of choice. Evening meal, soup tasty the main course looked very good but found that the chicken one night was tough as was the pork chop next night. There was a supplement menu to choose from at an extra charge. When I explained that my daughter didnt like sauces on main meal or desserts and asked if she could have the cheese and biscuits this was supplied without having to pay the supplement.
Staff were friendly
The hotel is not suitable for disabled due to the different levels and stairs

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room Hotel not suitable for disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topseyr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments of your recent stay at Imperial Hotel, Tenby. Especially those about the staff, they really appreciate people taking the time to acknowledge the hard work they put in. I spoke to maintenance to make sure we replace the bath panel in that room; regarding the chicken and the pork chops I will pass on your comments to the kitchen team. The Hotel has five different buildings join together in the past and some areas are not level, so we have very limit rooms on the ground floor. I am pleased that the Restaurant staff offer an alternative for your daughter and that you enjoy the location and the views from the hotel. Once again thanks for your comments and I hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Tenby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Tenby Hotel

Property: The Imperial Tenby Hotel
Address: The Paragon, Tenby SA70 7HR, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Tenby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel, Tenby is built into the ancient stone walls of Tenby, overlooking its beautiful South Beach. The hotel boasts truly spectacular views towards Caldey Island. Inside the hotel, you’ll find a comfortable and charming place to unwind and relax. The Pembrokeshire region of South Wales is home to some of the most spectacular coastline in the British Isles. At the heart of this charming and picturesque setting can be found the town of Tenby, with its cobbled streets and ancient stone walls. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Imperial Tenby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Tenby
The Imperial Tenby Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing