We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Managment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Warminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor Managment”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

On arriving at the hotel was asked as they were short staffed if we could eat at 7.45 pm this was nearer 8.30 pm, eating late each evening meant we did not always have a full menu, we were always being rushed the staff were asking for our sweet menu before they had cleared the the main course at the same time were running around laying the breakfast,we could never get a coffee unless we went to the kitchen and asked ,not very relaxing and that was what we had come away for ,if we needed a drink at the bar we had to go to reception and the receptionist had to serve,we asked to see a manager but was told he was not on duty. Bedrooms and bathrooms old/ tired and badley stained. all of this is due to lack of managment. Never to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123PJR, Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
It is most disappointing to read that you were so unhappy with your stay. As you will see from other reviews posted many guests thoroughly enjoy their stay with us and pay compliments to the food, staff and management of the hotel.

During the time that you stayed we had a large party of ramblers in the hotel who all ate dinner together at 6.30pm, this is the reason that we then served guests who were not part of this group at 7.45pm. On one evening the group did leave the restaurant a little late and I can only apologise for this. We were not short staffed, the restaurant cannot physically accommodate all guests at once and it does put pressure on the kitchen if too many people dine at once which can cause delays for guests which we obviously aim to avoid.

The Caldey bar which is situated next to the restaurant is staffed all evening with bar staff when entertainment is on and most guests choose to stay downstairs and watch. The Triton bar upstairs next to reception is often very quiet at these times and the receptionist does cover this bar at quiet periods, there is a doorbell at the bar to call the receptionist through to serve you.

I am sorry if you asked to speak to me directly and I was not on duty, unfortunately I am not here 24 hours a day but there is always a duty manager here to deal with any complaints and I am happy for guests to arrange to see me as soon as I am back on the premises. Whilst you were clearly not happy this stay I would ask that you please do not let one bad experience deter you from returning, should you decide to return please feel free to contact me directly to book

Kind Regards
Stephen Squires
Relief Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    206
    106
    54
    38
See reviews for
94
376
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We have just had a 3 night break at the Imperial with friends, we paid extra for the view, but the room is in serious need of an update with the curtains actually falling apart, the carpet is stained, could have over looked that if it had been clean but it has not been vacummed for some time by the bed is really dirty so are the skirtings, the bathroom is in a worse state the bath panel taped the bath chipped, the toilet seat really horrible and not secured to the bowl properly.there is thick dust along the radiator pipes all together very unhygienic

The restaurant was under staffed we were asked to eat at 7.45pm by then the food had been cooked for some time and was overcooked, we were rushed and the coffee had run out every evening so we had to ask for it to be refilled, the entertainment was sad!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123PJR, Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
It is disappointing to read that you had some problems with the room you stayed in, I have looked at all the rooms with sea views that have not had a full refurbishment and I can not find one in the condition you mention. We have a strong housekeeping team who work tirelessly to ensure the whole hotel is kept spotlessly clean. I would be interested to know if you raised your concerns during your stay with us so that we could rectify matters at the time for you.

Kind Regards
Stephen Squires
Relief Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Visited a friend who was staying at this hotel, we had Sunday lunch together . Have to say both the service and meal were great. Staff friendly and accommodating. The view from the restaurant ,over looking the beach,is beautiful. Parking is always a problem in Tenby especially around Imperial Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123PJR, Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. It is pleasing to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your kind comments on to the staff. As you mentioned about the parking in Tenby, we do only have a small car park at the hotel, due to our location. However as I have mentioned to others there are other options available such as the Rectory Car Park and the Town Centre Multi Storey, both only a 5 minute walk away.

Kind Regards
Stephen Squires
Relief Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Went on 3 night Shearings Self Drive break for the first time. The hotel was well placed for town centre, but there was no parking, something which was not shown on the website and it cost another £20. The room was a Superior room, which cost extra of course, and was quite nice and clean but the beds were so uncomfortable and we only stayed 2 nights instead of 3 because of this. Also we were at the back of the hotel and when you had the window open you could hear the extractor fan from the kitchen. The staff were very pleasant and the food was plain, good and plenty of it, but the service was a bit chaotic at times and the drinks in the bar were quite expensive. Overall it was a nice break and the restaurant and lounge had a lovely sea view, but feel they need to look at the mattresses in room 37 and ensure that the restaurant staff know exactly what job they should be doing.

Room Tip: Probably best to upgrade to Premier room as our Superior room, No. 37, did not have much of a view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank prbjbentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123PJR, Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. I am pleased to read that you were happy with most aspects of your stay. It is very disappointing to read that you checked out a day early due to finding the mattresses hard. The room you had is one of our new rooms with new beds and mattresses and we have had no other complaints about the beds. It’s good to hear you were happy with the food served in the restaurant we aim to cater for all tastes.

There are several car parking options nearby which range from free (if you can get a space) to £18.00 for a Monday to Friday pass at the Rectory car park. A reasonable compromise is the town centre multi storey which is £2.00 for 24 hours. All options are a 5 minute walk away.

Kind Regards
Stephen Squires
Relief Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Just returned from a 3 day holiday with my parents, staying at the Imperial Hotel in Tenby. The hotel is set in the cliff overlooking the sea, beach and Caldey Island. We both had sea views which were just beautiful.
The rooms were lovely (premier and superior) and the staff were so friendly and helpful and the food was good too. It was all very welcoming and comfortable.
It is an easy stroll from the hotel to the town and there are such great walks in the area, coastal paths as well as town and beach walks.
I love that the hotel is 5 old houses converted, though that does mean that there are lots of passages and steps, a bit of a problem for my parents who find stairs tricky.
Also hotel has very limited parking, we parked in the rectory car park 5 minute walk away. OK for us but not easy for people who can't walk far.
Despite the stairs and parking, we had a lovely time and would come again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aliarno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123PJR, Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post an honest review of your stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed our beautiful cliff top location; it does offer truly amazing views of the coastline and islands. Our proximity to the town centre and coastal paths is ideal for guests who can’t walk too far. We do only have a small car park due to our town centre location but the Rectory car park is only a five minute walk. We look forward to welcoming you back here in the future.

Kind Regards
Stephen Squires
Relief Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Definitely one of my favourite hotels I've been to inTenby. Great location, nice rooms, the staff are great and the food was delicious!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MstrMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123PJR, General Manager at The Imperial Tenby Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Hi MstrMan, Thank you for your comments, We are indeed in a great Location in Tenby. i am glad your were pleased with your room and the food whilst you stayed with us. I will pass your comments on to the rest of the team. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Peter. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed with our son for Ironman Wales and thanks to the fabulous location and the wonderfful manager (Peter Rees) it was an excellent stay in Wales. Thanks again for being so extremely accommdating!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 23 in Tenby
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
420 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#11 of 23 in Tenby
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.4 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#12 of 23 in Tenby
365 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Tenby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Tenby Hotel

Property: The Imperial Tenby Hotel
Address: The Paragon, Tenby SA70 7HR, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Tenby Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel, Tenby is built into the ancient stone walls of Tenby, overlooking its beautiful South Beach. The hotel boasts truly spectacular views towards Caldey Island. Inside the hotel, you’ll find a comfortable and charming place to unwind and relax. The Pembrokeshire region of South Wales is home to some of the most spectacular coastline in the British Isles. At the heart of this charming and picturesque setting can be found the town of Tenby, with its cobbled streets and ancient stone walls. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and LateRooms so you can book your The Imperial Tenby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Tenby
The Imperial Tenby Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing