We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far more than a five star rating,thank u both so much”
Review of Wychwood House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wychwood House
Ranked #2 of 52 Tenby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Far more than a five star rating,thank u both so much”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Sara, my daughter, and I have just returned fron a two night stay at this special house. On arrival, we were shown into the comfortable lounge and served delicious welshcakes and tea . Already Lee had taken our luggage to our room. The house itself is large and spacious surrounded by very pretty gardens with lovely views of open countryside

Our room was very clean and comfortable with ample storage space,a large bathroom with bath and shower and ample hot water and soft white towels.

Breakfast was plentiful with an excellent selection of fresh foods.

I would strongly recommend WYTCHWOOD HOUSE as a perfect b and b. Lee and Merles made us feel part of their home. and seeing Lee in his stripey dressing gown at 6pm made it complete!

Thank you both so much! We wil return!

Sue fisher and her lovely daughter Sara

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittensforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    25
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
169
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My partner and I are very happy to recomend wychwood house after such a lovely stay. Both Lee and his wife mherly are two lovely people and are extremely accomdating considering my plans had changed last minute, no fuss no hassel attitude which was lovely to see. Everything was exceptional service, food, rooms were immaculate. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evin.f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

me and my mum stayed here this weekend for two nights bed and breakfast. we both absolutely loved it!having never stayed in a b and b myself before I was unsure what to expect but found every moment in wychwood house a fantastic experience.

we were greeted by Lee with tea and Welsh cakes in the lounge then shown to our room (lee had already taken the cases up). we were on the top floor in a big room with a double and single bed,en suite shower and bath complete with bath and shower products,plenty of wardrobe and drawer space and tea,coffee and horlicks making facilities. we shared the middle room with a tv and 2 very comfy sofas with the room across the hall but had it to ourselves all weekend.

our breakfast on both mornings was delicious! there were a wide selection of cereals,fresh fruit and juice,cheese and chorizo and pastries. mum had the full English whereas I had bacon and sausage to make my on sandwich with the endless supply of toast! Merles,Lee's lovely wife,served us and was fab! tea and coffee (filter) pots were brought to the table and refreshed whenever we wanted. scrambled egg was also available.

the rooms throughout wychwood house are old fashioned but very homely and so clean. we felt extremely welcome in lee and merles home and like one of the family within minutes! beautiful gardens surround the house and beautiful views. tenby town is a 20 minute walk away and I recommend the Cross pub where Lee said for us to go in nearby Penally village (just 5 minutes walk). a 4 course meal is available for £25 cooked by Lee. it smelt delicious when he was cooking but a little too much food for me!

To finish,I'd like to say a massive thank you to lee and merles for making our stay so amazing!!

Sara (and my mum Sue) x

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chewchewchewins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Had an amazing time and felt at home and looked after by our hosts Lee and his wife. Every detail was perfect from check in to the moment of our departure. My whole family took over the house as we were a big group with 3 small children attending a wedding in town and they were at all times friendly, patient and helpful.
Thank you so much!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samuelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Wales
Level Contributor
421 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

A genuinely warm welcome from Lee on arrival confirmed we’d made the right decision choosing this b&b. Tenby is a pleasant 15-20 min walk away. The view from our room was wonderful – Caldey Island to the right and Tenby to the left. Yes the décor is a little dated and the towels a little rough but the welcome, location and ‘home from home’ feel more than makes up for it. Tea / coffee making facilities, corkscrew, wine glasses, TV (with Sky), shower gel / soap in the bathroom. Welsh cakes on arrival in the room. Shared balcony. Lovely breakfast – continental and full English (or Welsh!). Felt we arrived as strangers and left as friends. When we return to Tenby we will most certainly stay here again. Tips: to get to Tenby by foot, follow School Lane, it’s quicker; you are welcome to take your own alcohol; leave your key with Lee if you’re not going to use your car.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluelizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This was the first part of our honeymoon and Lee made it just right with a lovely warm welcome - and yes there were fresh warm Welsh cakes on arrival! Great room with a four poster bed with a shared balcony overlooking lovely countryside and sea views. Large,clean bathroom and fresh towels. Lee cooks a fresh, top quality, breakfast or you can choose from a wide range of continental style breakfast goodies. Nothing is a problem for Lee. We only met Merhli breifly as she was working but they both evidently run a great B&B. Keep up the great work. Would recommend totally.

Tom and Dee

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This my 15th stay at Wychwood, the best B&B on the planet. Wonderful welcome from Lee and Merhli with a delicious plate of welshcakes. Excellent accommodation, pleasant rooms, very comfortable bed and the best breakfasts ever. Try Lee's evening meal, he is an excellent cook. Can't wait for next year, may even aim for a visit again in september.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
1.4 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trefloyne Manor
Trefloyne Manor
#5 of 52 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wychwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wychwood House

Property: Wychwood House
Address: Penally, Tenby SA70 7PE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Country House enjoying see views situated in a beautiful village a short walk from Tenby South Beach, with footpath to Tenby (20 minutes walk) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wychwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wychwood House Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing