We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B”
Review of The Southcliff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Southcliff
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife & I booked in to the Southcliff Hotel for a long weekend based on reviews we read on Trip Advisor, most of these reviews are very accurate.
Our room was spotless and I could see our car in the public car park opposite from our window.
There was complementary tea & coffee renewed daily.
The breakfast was lovely, I could probably have eaten two but that's just because I'm a greedy pig.
Pam & Brian were excellent hosts and were super helpful.
We would definitely have no hesitation recommending the Southcliff to anyone.
Tony & Becky
Birmingham

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tonyob1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 175 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and myself stayed here for two nights and had a fantastic time. Nothing was a problem for these lovely people and our room and breakfast was spot on. It is located in a great position in Tenby with lovely views. We'll be seeing them again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnSmith21781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed for a week with our two children and were very impressed with how family-friendly the hotel is. The owners have thought of everything to make it easier for families such as free juice and snacks every day for children, child-sized breakfast portions served on children's plates, cushions on children's chairs, packed lunches made to order and the huge playroom. The hotel is immaculate and very comfortable with all the facilities you would expect. The breakfasts are fantastic, made to order and perfectly served. The beach is very close and it is just a short walk into the centre of the town. Pam and Brian really know what they are doing and provide a great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the southcliff bed and breakfast, me and my partner were worried about taking our 8 month old baby away as we haven't been away from his familiar surroundings before and I have to say the B&B was excellent Pam and Brian were so welcoming and put us at ease they sterilised bottles for us and in our room was a baby bath, top and tail bowl with nappy sacks and wipes and at breakfast time high chair and bib provided and fromage frais and ready break for my son too, I couldnt have wished for anything more! My little boy likes to play up when he feels restricted in his high chair but Pam came to see us and explained that we shouldn't be worried about him making noise which really made us feel relaxed! The play room is fab lots of toys and books. The hotel was extremely clean and the breakfast was lovely especially Pams scrambled egg :-) we will definitely be returning to the southcliff hotel next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deanne1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were a bit apprehensive about taking our 11 week old baby boy away for the first time, but The Southcliff Hotel put me at ease from the moment Pam picked up the phone to take my enquiry. We were greeted by very friendly Pam and Brian on arrival and shown to our room, and they didn't even mind that we had turned up a fair bit earlier than check in! Our family room was a fantastic size and immaculate. There was a lovely crib waiting for our baby, with teddies and blankets; they had also supplied us with a changing mat, nappy bags, wipes and a baby bath in the large bathroom.The hotel is in a great location, only a short walk to the town and beach. Breakfast at the Southcliff is enough to see you through the day! With as much tea and coffee, cereal and fruit, followed by melon or porridge, followed by a full english! Pam even offered cuddles to our son so that we could eat our breakfast! There is a residents lounge, with a TV and plenty of books, where you can have tea or coffee throughout the afternoon, There is also a lovely spacious playroom for under 5's with plenty to keep them entertained! Although our little one was a bit too little to enjoy the playroom, we had a sneaky peak for next time - we will definitely be returning - I have never come across a hotel that caters so well for young children before. Many thanks Southcliff!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kr00ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We've just returned from a short break in Tenby where we stayed at the SouthCliff Hotel. Normally, we'd stay in a cottage or similar just so that we can manage the catering and sleep times of our demanding young family; if anything just to avoid the tutting, the looks, and comments we sometimes get in restaurants of so-called five star "family friendly" hotels where they take 30 mins plus to serve breakfast/evening meals to hungrary little people.

Staying at the Southcliff was a revelation. The hotel is run by Pam and Brian who cannot do enough for you. From your arrival, complimentary refreshments are available for the children. The hotel boasts a large playroom with a wide range of toys for your children to play with whilst there is a large comfortable lounge for guests. The whole hotel is spotless and the paintwork pristine; this is continued with the family bedroom and bathroom we had. The attention to detail is superb; from the potty and wipes in the bedroom, to the high-chair and smaller cutlery already set-up in the dinning room. A listening device was provided so that we could relax in the Louge with other residents whilst the children were asleep in our bedroom just a few meters away.

The breakfast service is very efficient with self-service fruit and cereal, and waitress service for the other courses (porridge, melon, full english cooked breakfast). The pre-order menu card for these courses is a very good idea as it saves time with ordering which means hungrary children receive their cooked breakfasts sooner!

This is a very family friendly hotel with high standards that make it appealing to all and enjoyable and relaxing. The hotel is in a central location with other adjoining hotels. There is a manned public car park just 20 metres away where a long stay pass can be purchased for the duration of your stay for around £4 per 24 hours during peak season.

We can thoroughly recommend this hotel and hope that we can stay again at some point.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This was our (my son and I) third visit in six years. The hotel is clean and has excellent facilities. Free wifi had been added since our last visit. We stayed in a twin room with en suite bathroom. Everything worked. Television was smallish and mounted high, but with excellent picture and no problem viewing. Beds were comfortable. Shower and bathroom very clean, all plumbing quiet and efficient. Room was cleaned perfectly every day and tea and coffee supplies replenished. Breakfast was virtually an "all you can eat" affair. Tea and coffee on tap, cereals and fruit available buffet style, then two pre-ordered courses of porridge or melon, followed by a choice of cooked breakfast or continental or a vegetarian option, along with plenty of toast topped up at will. Frankly, breakfast at the Southcliff lasts you till dinner if you want it to.

The owners are helpful, cheery and polite without being precious. The hotel is within easy walking distance of beaches, pubs,restaurants and shops. It's just round the corner from a large car park where you can buy a weekly ticket, or several days worth of parking, for around £3 a day so parking is no problem. The whole experience is one of extreme convenience, so you can concentrate purely on enjoying yourself. I expect we'll be back again in a couple of years!

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#8 of 23 in Tenby
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
466 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
580 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cottage Court Hotel
Cottage Court Hotel
#17 of 23 in Tenby
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southcliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southcliff

Address: Victoria Street, Tenby SA70 7DY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tenby
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tenby
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: $103 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Southcliff 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Guest House in Tenby Pembrokeshire. We have a variety of rooms 1 Twin 3 Doubles (2 Superkings and 1 King Size) 2 Family Rooms with one double and one single bed ideal for the small family and we have 2 family suites each suite has two adjoining rooms with a bathroom to the double bedroom and a twin room next door, a bit more privacy and space for older children. The dining room has a seating area to it and we have a lounge upstairs, we have a small selection of wine beer cider and lager if you want a quick tipple before you go out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Southcliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southcliff Hotel Tenby
The Southcliff Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing