We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Reception Meal and Evening”
Review of Giltar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Giltar Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding Reception Meal and Evening”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We attended a wedding at the Giltar Hotel on Saturday 31st August 2013.
The meal was outstanding. There was a varied menu, which catered for the whole party. The staff were efficient at serving and clearing. I honestly consider this meal to be the best Wedding Reception that I have ever attended - and that really is saying something.
If you are lucky enough to find availability here for your wedding reception - I would certainly recommend it.
Oh.. Did I mention the view? Stunning location on a cliff top overlooking the ocean, Simply beautiful.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I-Know-Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    178
    60
    22
    14
See reviews for
130
325
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Lovely view from hotel bedroom. The place does need a refurb which to be fair they are doing. Its a bit 1970's. 1 rasher of bacon for a full english is a bit mean! Pleasant staff, clean facilities. OK if you have kids or a pensioner - which we are neither!! Overall, not too bad.

Room Tip: ask fr a refurbed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank applecore70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013

yet again my daughters and myself had a brilliant week at the Giltar. The only down side we find is the lift. It goes far too slow and takes ages to arrive (we dont expect it to be jet propelled) and also when the coach parties are in the lift is always fully occupied with their luggage on leaving day so everyone else more often than not have to use the stairs which can be a bit of a bind if you are on the top floor. Also if coach parties are leaving on the saturday they can get their breakfast early why cant anybody else do the same (we were not allowed breakfast one year because we wanted to leave before 8 even though a coach group was eating theirs).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stopped one night in a rear facing room and after reading some of the comments we were a bit concerned at what we would find. The room had a double & single bed and looked out onto the car park, we were warned that this room had not been refurbished yet but to be honest it was very clean and had everything that we needed. The bathroom was small but we hadnt come all the way to Tenby to spend the evening in the bathroom !!
The refurbished bedrooms looked fantastic as did the breakfast room. Breakfast itself was very good with a great selection and the waitress was really friendly.
The hotel has a lift so we had no problem gaining access with a wheelchair, staff were really helpful and it was a bonus having free wifi.
We will definitely return & hopefully be able to stop in one of the sea facing rooms next time.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms are sort after.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Have just been with a group ,the hotel is well placed in the quieter area of Tenby, close to ramped access to the beach. Five minutes walk from the old worldy shops, and only a short stroll from the harbour.To the rear is the local bowls club.The staff were very efficient at all times, pleasant and attentive.The food was of high standard for a three star hotel and well presented and served.Our room was standard & basic in need of upgrade and repair,but other rooms the group had were much better. Everywhere was very clean, the evening entertainment was exceptionally good for a hotel,entertaining and relaxed. I would return as the holiday was friendly and relaxed. But I would ask for a larger room if possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katieoxo094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Just got home after spending two nights at the Giltar for our 10th Anniversary. Lovely hotel and very friendly staff. The room we had wasnt one that had been refurbished and we knew that when we booked but the view more than made it for it ! We will certainly be staying there again. The breakfast was fresh and hot although my husband could've eaten more ! Shame we had to come home .....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becmark45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

A great family Weekend, at The Giltar. A warm welcome when we arrived, with two Grand-daughters, Our room in the front, had super views of Tenby South Beach and Caldey Island,
The quality of furniture and fittings in the room and Bathroom were superb , our two girls loved it.
Friday all day on the beach, walked into town, for a meal most restuarants were pre booked.
Saturday a visit to Caldey, by boat ,.... We decided to have an Evening meal at the Hotel, very civilised, with quality local Food and,first class service.
Lounge and Bar area, well serviced,,,,,,Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.8 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
399 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giltar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giltar Hotel

Property: Giltar Hotel
Address: 9 Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tenby
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Giltar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the hotel was taken over ownership in 2008 we have gone through a refurbishment programme and now offer both Deluxe and Premier rooms individually designed to a high standard with unique features, most with sea views. Enjoy a relaxing drink or bite to eat in our Cwtch bar/lounge with views overlooking Caldey Island. Our restaurant is open to the public and for residents of the hotel throughout the year including Christmas Day. We're a short walk from the historic walled town of Tenby and a stone throw away from Tenby's South Beach with spectacular sea views overlooking Caldey Island. We have a small car park at the rear of the hotel with 14 parking spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Giltar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giltar Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing