We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Weekend at The Giltar, Tenby” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Giltar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Giltar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Family Weekend at The Giltar, Tenby”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

A great family Weekend, at The Giltar. A warm welcome when we arrived, with two Grand-daughters, Our room in the front, had super views of Tenby South Beach and Caldey Island,
The quality of furniture and fittings in the room and Bathroom were superb , our two girls loved it.
Friday all day on the beach, walked into town, for a meal most restuarants were pre booked.
Saturday a visit to Caldey, by boat ,.... We decided to have an Evening meal at the Hotel, very civilised, with quality local Food and,first class service.
Lounge and Bar area, well serviced,,,,,,Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    165
    54
    22
    14
See reviews for
123
303
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

My Wife and I have just returned from an overnights stay and are both extremely disappointed with the room we were given. We stayed in a standard room (room number 212) and although the room was clean it was extremely dated and shabby for the price we paid (£87) and nothing like the pictures on the website.

The first thing we noticed when entering the room was the size (narrow and poky), certainly not suitable to be classed as a double room and not at all a room you could relax in. The other thing we immediately noticed was how shabby the whole room was with paint peeling from the window frame, a carpet that had seen better days and a wardrobe that was being held up be a piece of pvc plastic......you'd be mistaken for thinking you were staying in a £30 a night bedsit!!! We couldn't even have a decent nights sleep due to doors slamming and paper thin walls enabling us to hear every word of our neighboring guests.......and they weren't even loud. The only redeeming feature of the room was the good view but this was cancelled out by the aforementioned.

The only other plus points aside from the view was the location and the breakfast. We didn't bother complaining as the hotel was fully booked and there was no availability anywhere else in Tenby, therefore we used this place as an expensive base and left as soon as we had breakfast.

Needless to say we will certainly not be returning

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JImpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Booked for 28th July for 2 nights and were informed that due to a special offer we could have the 3 nights for the price of 2. We opted for a deluxe room with a sea view and was given Room 209 which was absolutely beautiful with a stunning sea view. The staff were lovely, welcoming and so helpful. Only down side was that we had an emergency call home due to a faulty washing maching and blown electrics but we were only an hours drive away so it wasn't so bad.
This wasn't our first visit and this was why we chose this hotel to celebrate our silver anniversary and it will definitely not be our last visit. Thank you for a lovely, peaceful stay and thank you for our lovely anniversary card - it made us feel really special.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed at the giltar for 3 night deal, stayed in a not yet referbished seaview room the view was fantastic the room clean and had all we needed for a lovely seaside break. The receptionist who greeted us late afternoon early eve on day of arrival was so welcoming the same lady was as lovely on giving information and rearranging our stay. Breakfast was very good and service very efficient,i would definitely book this hotel again many thanks to all at the giltar!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alibongo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maesteg, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed at the Giltar last night for a weekend in Tenby. Booked in effortlessly (room 109 double with sea view). Very pleased with the service we received during our short stay from the reception staff to the staff at breakfast this morning. Our room was one that had recently been re-vamped during the hotels on-going process. There was a wedding at the hotel yesterday but that did not stop the hotel treating all other guests properly. Will return to this hotel, without question, well done The Giltar

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room - views are to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I just stayed for one night for a wedding and was generally very happy.

Plus points: the refurbished room was extremely nice, although the placement of the lampshade in front of the TV (from the bed) was bizarre, though not important to me. Recarpeting the common areas with something more neutral and modern would transform the ambience of the hotel.

The food is absolutely outstanding and the chef deserves extreme praise.

Less good: the downstairs function room could do with being spruced up - although the hotel looks as though it is having a rolling restoration. Other guests commented that their unrefurbished rooms were much less nice. Some of the staff generally seemed to think that they were doing guests a favour by providing even normal service (e.g., at breakfast) and I got the impression that anything out of the ordinary would not be accommodated. Reception staff were great however.

So in summary, get a refurbished room and if all goes well, you'll have a great time.

Room Tip: Get a refurbished room if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidCF36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed at the Giltar with my mother and two small children. The hotel is very nice and our sea view room was beautiful. It was nicely appointed and the bathroom was gorgeous. However, the hotel was full of OAPs, so much so that the dining room looked like a nursing home! We had our evening meal in the restaurant and it became quickly apparent that the other guests didn't want children in the hotel. They sat in silence and tutted and made remarks every time my children spoke despite the fact my children were very well behaved.
At breakfast the same occurred again to the point that our waiter apologised for the way we were made to feel. The breakfast was very average and had been placed on a hot plate for long periods. The OAPs made the breakfast room feel more like a wake than a busy hotel.
In conclusion, the location and decor are fab but avoid at all costs if you have children!!!!
This hotel is NOT family friendly!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#11 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#12 of 24 in Tenby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giltar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giltar Hotel

Property: Giltar Hotel
Address: 9 Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tenby
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Giltar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the hotel was taken over ownership in 2008 we have gone through a refurbishment programme and now offer both Deluxe and Premier rooms individually designed to a high standard with unique features, most with sea views. Enjoy a relaxing drink or bite to eat in our Cwtch bar/lounge with views overlooking Caldey Island. Our restaurant is open to the public and for residents of the hotel throughout the year including Christmas Day. We're a short walk from the historic walled town of Tenby and a stone throw away from Tenby's South Beach with spectacular sea views overlooking Caldey Island. We have a small car park at the rear of the hotel with 14 parking spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Giltar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giltar Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing