We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done Giltar !”
Review of Giltar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Giltar Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

A hotel is just a big building with loads of rooms what makes it good is the quality of it's people. The Giltar would find it hard to be better in this deaprtment.

Went as a coach party were warmly welcomed and "got in" without any fuss. Cases spirited quickly to rooms. Nice newly "done" room. Good food with a decent choice, well presented, is it picky to say the fried bread was underdone? Yes of course it is. Very good selection of drinkies and the entertainment we had every night was very good.

Asked for a Daily Telegraph which they didn't normally have and they whistled it up for me! First class.

Congratulations to the owners and their excellent people.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliffMaybury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 675 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights - I needed somewhere with a walk in shower for my for my aged father. This hotel was a great find, very welcoming and helpful staff, super food at both breakfast and dinner, attentive but not intrusive service, and a wonderful room. We stayed in a deluxe room.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room if you can; ours (108) was very spacious and had a bay window with a great sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyF137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were lucky enough to have one of the recently refurbished room with a sea view ,what a lovely surprise when we opened the door so well decorated and a view to die for.The staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble .We had breakfast which was served by friendly staff. The hotels was situated very close to town and the beach with an added bonus of a car park.We will be back .

Room Tip: Spend a little bit more and have a deluxe sea view you will not be dissappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChesterGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had to go to Tenby for a funeral, and needed a place for a family gathering beforehand. We selected the Giltar Hotel online from Canada (thanks to Tripadvisor reviews), and were assured of a private dining room. On arrival, Malcolm gave us personal attention re arrangements, and the private lunch was very congenial and served our needs excellently. The hotel was well appointed and comfortable, and service and value were great.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshuxbridgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm B, Manager at Giltar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thanks for your feedback. Glad to hear you had a pleasant stay and very reassuring to hear that the Tripadvisor reviews prompted you to back. We hope you can come back to Wales in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just returned from a three night stay ( 3 for 2 offer ), very clean hotel, amazing views from bedroom and breakfast room, very nice breakfast served by friendly staff, central to Tenby plus free car parking.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. Great to see that you took up the offer of the 3 for 2 night stay. Hope to see you back at the hotel again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Had refurbished room at front with unrestricted sea views . A great deal of thought has gone into the upgrade and it shows.
Many friendly staff, good breakfast , close to town, beach ,pubs etc.
Can only review room we had but i am sure all would be of a good standard.
A good stay with the sound of the sea rocking us off to sleep.
Parking may be a problem in the high season

Room Tip: Must be front sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joebloggsSouthStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for your lovely comments abotu the refurbishment. Hope to see you back at the hotel in the near future (Re: Parking, although parking is limited behind the hotel, during peak season there is a large car park to the left of the hotel and various car parks within walking distance, however guests can drop off bags before finding a parking space, save them having to carry their bags)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I Stayed one night at this hotel, not knowing what to expect and was immediately made to feel welcome from the moment of arrival by the friendly staff. The standards of this hotel are extremely high in every respect. The room in which I stayedhad a beautiful sea view, was furnished to a high modern standard, was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom, and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast had everything one wanted and even has gluten free bread available on request. The car park is a real bonus in this busy resort too. This hotel is well worth the money and I would definitely stay here again and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belle321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us! I'll make sure the staff are made aware of your comments too as we have a great team here at the hotel who always try to make everyone's visit an enjoyable one. Look forward to having you back at the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
462 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
0.8 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#10 of 23 in Tenby
456 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
737 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giltar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giltar Hotel

Address: 9 Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tenby
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: $120 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Giltar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the hotel was taken over ownership in 2008 we have gone through a refurbishment programme and now offer both Deluxe and Premier rooms individually designed to a high standard with unique features, most with sea views. Enjoy a relaxing drink or bite to eat in our Cwtch bar/lounge with views overlooking Caldey Island. Our restaurant is open to the public and for residents of the hotel throughout the year including Christmas Day. We're a short walk from the historic walled town of Tenby and a stone throw away from Tenby's South Beach with spectacular sea views overlooking Caldey Island. We have a small car park at the rear of the hotel with 14 parking spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Giltar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giltar Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing