We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow stunning views & what nice people”
Review of Giltar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Giltar Hotel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

we returned today from the Giltar having booked it for the first time this weekend 3rd march
we booked a deluxe room for our first night and a superior for the second as the deluxe was only available for one night,both rooms had extremely comfortable beds and were very clean and nicely furnished rooms 208 and 209 both had stunning views although do book the deluxe if you can the extra space and finishing touches are well worth the extra .
We found the staff here very friendly and helpful thankyou to you all for your tireless work and welcome that makes a difference
Breakfast was a very calm and pleasent experience with a good choice and nice views from the breakfast room
thankyou all at the Giltar and we hope to stay again

Room Tip: book a deluxe room well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollymop50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm B, Owner at Giltar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to having you back at the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 677 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have been on many Turkey and Tinsel breaks over the years but NONE can come any where near the quality of our stay in the Giltar in November 2012. The food in particular was outstandingly good, as was the service in both the restaurant and in general in the Hotel. We do not hesitate to recommend this Hotel, if only for the breathtaking views alone

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view it is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FRANCIS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday as me and my partner came away to watch the rugby ( both in our early 20s)
Booked a standard room, once we arrived we decided to up grade to a deluxe room with views over to Caldey island extra £20 & all I can say is wow. Really contempary stunning room and bathroom, really clean to. Bed was massive and really comfortable. Breakfast was great and plenty to chose from. Can also bring pet which is fab! Staff were brill ! We had a wonderful time and we most certainly will be coming back!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divadiva11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I booked a deluxe room as it was my husbands 50th birthday and it was fantastic, king size bed and a fab bathroom, they even had little extras like shower gel, bottled water and dressing gowns on the bed. Breakfast was really good as you could choose what you want from the buffet service and then have a cooked breakfast and the staff were brill asking if we wanted any more. This is the first time we have stayed here and will definitely stay there again in the summer ;-) excellent staff and service.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view as it a fabulous sight to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 37AndreaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have just got back from another stay at the lovely Giltar hotel which has got,,,what I consider..one of the best views in the UK.
As always the hotel was spotless, staff friendly and breakfast excellent.
They have refurbished some of the rooms and the ones I have stayed in have all been to an good standard for the money paid.
We had a nose at the De-Luxe rooms....WOW...will definately be staying in one of those next time, they are really generous in size, really well fitted out and have breathtaking views of South Beach and Caldey Island from their ample bay windows.

Room Tip: You must have a sea view room to fully appreciate the fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed at this hotel twice, both times have been enjoyable, with comfortable rooms, polite service and very nice breakfast. A good all round hotel, very good location just seconds from the walled town, but the real bonus here is that the hotel does have its own car park - not many do in Tenby. More then happy and will be back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bowsellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a very clean and smart Hotel with good food and efficient service . On a one night stay I found the room nice and dinner was enjoyable . It faces the sea but i had a room at the rear tho have to say you do get some noise from the kitchen , The shower was great and bed comfortable . Friendly service .,

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silver843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
462 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
0.8 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#9 of 23 in Tenby
458 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
737 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giltar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giltar Hotel

Address: 9 Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: $120 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Giltar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the hotel was taken over ownership in 2008 we have gone through a refurbishment programme and now offer both Deluxe and Premier rooms individually designed to a high standard with unique features, most with sea views. Enjoy a relaxing drink or bite to eat in our Cwtch bar/lounge with views overlooking Caldey Island. Our restaurant is open to the public and for residents of the hotel throughout the year including Christmas Day. We're a short walk from the historic walled town of Tenby and a stone throw away from Tenby's South Beach with spectacular sea views overlooking Caldey Island. We have a small car park at the rear of the hotel with 14 parking spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Giltar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giltar Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing