We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Giltar hotel”
Review of Giltar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Giltar Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I booked a deluxe room as it was my husbands 50th birthday and it was fantastic, king size bed and a fab bathroom, they even had little extras like shower gel, bottled water and dressing gowns on the bed. Breakfast was really good as you could choose what you want from the buffet service and then have a cooked breakfast and the staff were brill asking if we wanted any more. This is the first time we have stayed here and will definitely stay there again in the summer ;-) excellent staff and service.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view as it a fabulous sight to wake up to.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 37AndreaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
There are newer reviews for Giltar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 665 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have just got back from another stay at the lovely Giltar hotel which has got,,,what I consider..one of the best views in the UK.
As always the hotel was spotless, staff friendly and breakfast excellent.
They have refurbished some of the rooms and the ones I have stayed in have all been to an good standard for the money paid.
We had a nose at the De-Luxe rooms....WOW...will definately be staying in one of those next time, they are really generous in size, really well fitted out and have breathtaking views of South Beach and Caldey Island from their ample bay windows.

Room Tip: You must have a sea view room to fully appreciate the fantastic views
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed at this hotel twice, both times have been enjoyable, with comfortable rooms, polite service and very nice breakfast. A good all round hotel, very good location just seconds from the walled town, but the real bonus here is that the hotel does have its own car park - not many do in Tenby. More then happy and will be back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bowsellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a very clean and smart Hotel with good food and efficient service . On a one night stay I found the room nice and dinner was enjoyable . It faces the sea but i had a room at the rear tho have to say you do get some noise from the kitchen , The shower was great and bed comfortable . Friendly service .,

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silver843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed sat 12th Jan for 'Allo Allo' night. Following the hotels very succesful 'Fawlty Towers' and Father Ted nights. Room on the top floor very comfortable, not a premium room but still pleasant. The theme night was a hoot. Staff brilliant from Pat & Malcolm, Cloudio at the Bar and all the staff. Food top draw, hot and tastey. Breakfast hit the spot as well. Hotels in Tenby are all competing for business, the Giltar is emerging as the cream on top.

Room Tip: Premium rooms have superb views of the beach and Caldy island. We had a room at the back overlooking...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevintops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This review may be inappropriate as we did not stay at the hotel. Looking for somewhere to have lunch on January 6th we noticed an 'A-board' outside advertising their Sunday lunch menu. In we went and all I can say is the food was delicious, the staff excellent, the view to die for and the price for all that reasonable. Apparently very popular with locals, which says a lot!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I had another lovely stay at the Giltar Hotel last weekend, excellent dinner and breakfast, and lovely room overlooking Tenby beach. Staff very friendly and efficient. Can't wait until next year to do it all again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coe31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
0.8 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
412 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
720 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giltar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giltar Hotel

Address: 9 Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tenby
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: $119 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Giltar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the hotel was taken over ownership in 2008 we have gone through a refurbishment programme and now offer both Deluxe and Premier rooms individually designed to a high standard with unique features, most with sea views. Enjoy a relaxing drink or bite to eat in our Cwtch bar/lounge with views overlooking Caldey Island. Our restaurant is open to the public and for residents of the hotel throughout the year including Christmas Day. We're a short walk from the historic walled town of Tenby and a stone throw away from Tenby's South Beach with spectacular sea views overlooking Caldey Island. We have a small car park at the rear of the hotel with 14 parking spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Giltar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giltar Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing