We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and perfect wedding venue!”
Review of Giltar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Giltar Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We recently haeld our civil wedding and reception at The Giltar hotel and have to say it was the perfect wedding venue as well as a stunning hotel.
From our very first meeting to the day we left the hotel we have been made to feel special as though we were the only couple that Malcolm (the owner) had to attend to which is definately not the case as they have weddings nearly every weekend!
Nothing has been too much trouble where Malcolm and his staff are concerned and the packages offered are such good value for money too.
The hotel itself is beautiful with stunning views across the South Beach and of Caldey Island, much of the hotel has now been refurbished and is a lovely setting for a civil ceremony and wedding breakfast.
The bridal suite was out of this world and everything has been thought of for your comfort.
All of our guests reported back to us to say the rooms are clean and well presented, staff a pleasure to deal with and the food was delicious!

We will definately be visiting the Giltar again in the future and cant wait to book our first anniversary there.

We cannot thank Malcolm and his staff enough for giving us a perfect wedding weekend and we wouldnt change a thing!

Room Tip: If you can splash out on the deluxe or premier rooms as they are something special!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
There are newer reviews for Giltar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 665 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

Booked a weekend break for our honeymoon, stayed in the deluxe sea view room. An absolutely fantastic room, beautiful views, excellent staff all resulting in a wonderful honeymoon. Looking forward to another visit for our anniversary. X

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsGunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Fantastic time at the Giltar Hotel, rooms were clean & tidy & food was delicious.
I stayed for the weekend as a friend got married there & it was the bestest day. They decorated everything so beautifully. The food we had for the wedding was amazing. I was very impressed. We had a disco downstairs then in the basement area of the hotel & there was a bar along side which was open till late.
If your going to tenby i would recommend a stay at this hotel. I certainly would and will go back in the future. The staff are friendly & welcoming.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Our first stay at The Giltar and it was superb.
Excellent service, friendly staff, the twin room with shower only was very good standard, very clean, with sea views across to Caldey Island.
For breakfast we were taken to our table, the room was beautifully furnished and the sea views could be seen from every window. The choices for breakfast were excellent.
My only negative comment would be the noise from a wedding party, at the hotel, which did eventually quieten down.
Thank you Malcom & your excellent staff, we will be back, if you can BEAR it.!!!

Room Tip: Book the room with a sea view, its simply stunning.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

beautiful views, staff were very friendly and caring, hotel is clean and rooms were a good size, breakfast was excellent, enjoyed the whole experience

Room Tip: sea view is amazing
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUSAN316018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stayed recently for one night on business. Exceptional hotel with welcoming staff. Though the standard rooms are a bit dated, the premier (which I had) and deluxe are furbished to a high standard, something many other coastal hotels should aspire to! Top tip for the owners, keep ploughing your profits into the on going re-furb of the rooms and be proud of what you are doing.

Excellent breakfast with exceptionally hot plates! I stay in many hotels and can never understand the logic in serving hot food on cold plates and staff who stack cold plates above the elements of the plate warmers. Not so here at the Giltar, they serve it to you HOT!

Room Tip: Go for the Premier or Deluxe rooms, worth the extra.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolslate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Recently stayed here and absolutely fabulous hotel, great location right on the beach front. Our room was overlooking Caldey Island. Rooms of good size, beds comfortable and bathrooms with shower over bath, in my room. But some rooms do have separate shower and bath.
Staff friendly and helpful and the young girl on reception made us welcome on arrival.
Dinner is a choice of 3 Starters, 3 mains and desserts. Our first choice was not available on the night (Was the most popular choice with other guests and had run out, this was the only disappointing thing about our stay).
There is a bar down in the basement, with a pool table. We took our drinks up to the guest lounge, which is large with views over the sea, comfortable chairs, reading material, large tv and this room has access to WiFi, which is not available in the hotel rooms.
Breakfast is a choice of fruits, yoghurts, breads and juices and a choice of cooked breakfast, including, my favorite Eggs Benedict.
Car park is around the back, very small, but plenty of free parking on the Esplande in front of the hotel.
Would highly recommend and will be returning for sure, next time I just hope the weather is a bit warmer.

Room Tip: rooms on the beachfront, 212 has a bath over shower and 214 has a shower and a bath. Both with great...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adelaidesummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
0.8 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
414 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
720 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giltar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giltar Hotel

Address: 9 Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tenby
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: $119 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Giltar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the hotel was taken over ownership in 2008 we have gone through a refurbishment programme and now offer both Deluxe and Premier rooms individually designed to a high standard with unique features, most with sea views. Enjoy a relaxing drink or bite to eat in our Cwtch bar/lounge with views overlooking Caldey Island. Our restaurant is open to the public and for residents of the hotel throughout the year including Christmas Day. We're a short walk from the historic walled town of Tenby and a stone throw away from Tenby's South Beach with spectacular sea views overlooking Caldey Island. We have a small car park at the rear of the hotel with 14 parking spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Giltar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giltar Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing