We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed Stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Giltar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Giltar Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointed Stay”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We planned an overnight stay having dropped off our son at his new place of work.The Giltar sounded the perfect place to relax in comfort in a newly refurbished room and have a quiet drink in the hotel bar (which looked lush) before retiring to our room. We had a disappointed stay.
Informed on arrival that the bar was closed due to a private function , drinks could be served in the sitting room (which resembled a nursing home).
Room was small very clean. Thinking people were very noisy banging doors due to a private function realised the noise were sash windows .
Bedside lighting did not work which I reported . The reception staff stated there has been several reports about the electrics!!
We went out in the wintry wind and rain to find a more social ,cosy environment ( which we did ) as the hotel appeared involved with its private function .
We returned to our room which had been refurbished as stated in the brochure but still looked tired with original carpet and chairs.
The bath room was clean but had unfinished grouting etc, someone had left a tissue in one of the holes of the tiling !!
There was a small wall heater which was good and soon warmed up the room but the bathrom was so cold with a very noisy fan.
I was so looking forward to our overnight stay in Tenby especially having read the Giltar 's website but at 3 am wished I was in my own home tired from having very little sleep due to the constant banging and rattling of the windows
In the morning our room with its spectacular views were masked by the condensation (obviously an ongoing problem with blackened wooden frames) which when you wiped excess water dripped onto the carpeted floor and the glass quickly obscured to view again.
Breakfast was good however and on checking out management did apologise for us being disappointed with our stay !!
Reason for being disappointed - felt misled and expected a more relaxed comfortable stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chunkymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    166
    57
    22
    14
See reviews for
124
308
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Having stayed at this hotel recently for a family reunion, I can honestly say that the rooms were lovely and cosy. We had a sea view overlooking Caldy island, which was stunning. The welcome and friendly staff were second to none.
The evening meal that was provided for our large party was fantastic. We could not have wished for a better setting to celebrate my Dads 90 birthday. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonySouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

My wife and I travelled with two other couples for a new year break by coach with Alfa Travel.
All the staff, from owners to waiting and cleaning staff were excellent and friendly.
We all had rooms which had still to be refurbished, (The hotel is part way through a major refurbishment of the bedrooms) but they were still clean and comfortable. The location was perfect, even if the weather was a bit damp even for the 1st January. The thing which really stood out was the quality and presentation of all the food. It was way beyond anything we were expecting from a three star hotel. We could not have complained if the catering was being advertised as five star. To put my money where my mouth is (it's the food again!) we are booking to go back for next New Year.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PickerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The room itself was one of their older rooms without the seaview. The room was perfectly clean and everything worked as it should. We got a good nights sleep.

They could do with fixing the dodgy pool table in the bar so that the poor old bar staff dont have to keep apologising and getting the balls out manually... Drinks at the bar were very cheap.

Parking is quite limited and we had to park on the street about 200 metres away. This isn't really a problem and the streets around are low in traffic and seem quite safe and finding a spare parking space took about 5 minutes and there is no money grabbing pay and display there - which helps.

Breakfast was average.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W-Mark**
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Good hotel. Clean room. Good food. Room was a bit small for a double (and for a sea view). Nice hotel but i expected to get more for my money. Good location though.

Room Tip: When booking a sea view ask staff how large the windows facing the sea are (only one out of two of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghostcymru13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We had a Wonderful couple of days staying at the very friendly Giltar Hotel, We are so looking forward to our Wedding here next year and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking to stay in Tenby.

Room Tip: Always Ask for the refurbished rooms, they are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We stay in Tenby twice every year and we decided that this was the perfect setting for our wedding. We are a couple in our early 30's and as we live in North Wales this was a long distance wedding all arranged by phone calls, email and one visit. After searching for the perfect hotel for our special day we decided after viewing the Giltar Hotel Tenby, only over the internet, that this was the hotel that stood out from the rest. We spoke to Malcom and Patrick about the distance we lived away, and they were very very helpful, and put us at instant ease. We chose our package and supplied Malcom with a swatch of our bridesmaids dress for the colour scheme. Appart from this we new nothing about our wedding all details were left to Malcom and Patrick. The communication from the hotel was absolutly perfect. This was a big thing for a bride to do it was like an episode of dont tell the bride but the groom new nothing either. Our wedding day was absolutly flawless and stress free, we cannot thank them enough, our guests, which travelled up with us and also stayed at the hotel could not praise the hotel or wedding enough and the food was to die for. All the children were made to feel at home and were all treated brilliantly. All rooms hired were exceptional and everyone left very relaxed, happy and wanted to definatly go return to the Giltar. Good luck to all getting your stars you more than deserve them. See you all again next year for our wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: All rooms are exceptional but sea view rooms have the most amazing views ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TenbyBride2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 24 in Tenby
406 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 24 in Tenby
500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#11 of 24 in Tenby
242 reviews
0.8 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giltar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giltar Hotel

Property: Giltar Hotel
Address: 9 Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tenby
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Giltar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the hotel was taken over ownership in 2008 we have gone through a refurbishment programme and now offer both Deluxe and Premier rooms individually designed to a high standard with unique features, most with sea views. Enjoy a relaxing drink or bite to eat in our Cwtch bar/lounge with views overlooking Caldey Island. Our restaurant is open to the public and for residents of the hotel throughout the year including Christmas Day. We're a short walk from the historic walled town of Tenby and a stone throw away from Tenby's South Beach with spectacular sea views overlooking Caldey Island. We have a small car park at the rear of the hotel with 14 parking spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Giltar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giltar Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing