We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stop Over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pen Mar Guest House
Ranked #4 of 56 Tenby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, AZ
1 review
“Excellent Stop Over”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were visiting from the U.S. and arrived in Tenby without reservations or even a clue where to stay. We dropped in at the Pen-Mar Guest House and they had a room available.

Maria and Nigel got us checked in and gave us a lot of information on sites to see in the area. Very friendly people.

Clean, comfortable and quiet, located close to Tenby proper, this is a B&B we would stay at again.

Nigel cooks a great breakfast too!

Room Tip: We had the twin room which was a bit small. For a couple, be sure to make a reservation and get a do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    28
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
66
141
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Maria and Nigel where fantastic. I would never stay anywhere else in Tenby due to them being such fantastic hosts and the BnB being so clean and welcoming. Breakfast was fantastic and accommodated everyone's need. No request was too hard here. For any Ironman participants this is not only a great location for the event but Maria and Nigel go well out their way to help you out with 4am breakfasts, amazing support, and generally helping you out post event with bike storage when all you want to do is sleep. We stayed for 3 nights and will be returning soon. In my previous job I stayed in 5stars all around the world(event management) this place is well placed in my top 3 purely because of the unexpected value the hosts added to my stay. Thank you too you both. Fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Josh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

First impressions of Pen Mar were not dissapointing, we were welcomed by Maria, who made us feel instantly at home. Making the effort to take our first names and remembering them all weekend too, along with the other guests made it a lovely personal stay.

We had two double rooms and both were good size rooms. Very clean and looked after.

As well as great service, the breakfast was lovely and cooked to order for four vegetarian guests. We ate well and went out a full tummy everyday.

The location is great, not a far walk and very quick in the car. Both Maria and Nigel were extremely helpful, offering advice on what attractions to visit and even printing off our tickets for the blue lagoon.

All guests in our party were happy and we will most certainly be returning!

I have absolutely no hesitation in recommeding the Pen Mar.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HemaDhingra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed two nights over the Bank Holiday with our two grandchildren. The room which was clean and fresh was an en-suite family room consisting of one double bed and bunk beds for the children. There were tea and coffee making facilities, tea, coffee and biscuits left fresh each day...nice touch for when you get up in the morning or get in late at night. Plenty wardrobe and drawer space and TV, hair-dryer and complementary washing/shower items in the room.
Breakfast was very good...lots of choice of cereals, fruit and fruit juices, hot tea and freshly brewed coffee followed by a full cooked English breakfast and an abundance of toast.
The Pen Mar is very close to lots of fun places to visit. Two theme parks are nearby, one for younger children and one for all the family at very reasonable prices. The beach and Tenby centre are less than 10 minutes away by car as is Saundersfoot in the opposite direction.
Well done Maria and Nigel the hosts of the establishment for providing a lovely stay for all your customers. Your knowledge of the area and your friendly approach helped make our few days with you very enjoyable. Really nice B&B will definitely stay again when we are down that way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrimaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the family room. First of all can I just say how lovely the hosts were Maria and Nigel. The warmest welcome we have ever received at a guest house. The room was spotless, the breakfast was lovely and the location was fab. Will definitely be returning. My girls loved it there especially the bunk beds. Would recommend highly to anyone! What more can I say we'll done Maria and Nigel keep doing what you do! The jones family

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwennygrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here for only one night on our way back from several days in Wales. It is well placed for access to Tenby and Saundersfoot. Our room was very clean and comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. There was a good choice at breakfast and Maria and Nigel were happy to provide any combination of items on the menu. Their local knowledge was invaluable for our short stay and Maria helped with suggestions of where to eat, when we arrived the previous evening. Plus where to park in Tenby. Very helpful and friendly hosts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Returned to Pen Mar after three years and it is still as good as ever. Really warm welcome from Nigel & Maria who remembered us all even after all that time. Lovely clean accommodation and a full English to die for. The location is perfect too. Still the best B&B we have stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizabethSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
1.1 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wychwood House
Wychwood House
#3 of 56 in Tenby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Strathmore
The Strathmore
#2 of 56 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen Mar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Mar Guest House

Property: Pen Mar Guest House
Address: New Hedges, Tenby SA70 8TL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen Mar Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, family run guest house, ideally set between Tenby and Saundersfoot in the beautiful Pembrokeshire National Park. All rooms en-suite, all with colour TV, hospitality tray and hairdryer. We also have a comfortable lounge with TV, DVD and video, a licensed bar, car park and secure storage for bikes and sports equipment. Stunning scenery, fantastic beaches, castles galore and activity parks are all within a few minutes drive. Non-Smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Pen Mar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen Mar Guest House Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing