We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Tea!”
Review of The Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Esplanade
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I recently arranged for a group of 14 girls to go for High Tea and it really was a lovely afternoon. The service was great and the cakes were lovely and fresh. Would definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elsmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 268 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Great location right on the front. Rooms were comfy and spotless although a little dated, but that's the same with most b&b's. Welcomed by a Very friendly gentleman when checking in. Lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sally d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at The Esplanade and we thought it was fabulous. We stayed in Room 12 which has a great sea view. We were really impressed with how clean and quiet it was, considering it's practically on the beach front. Tea & coffee making facilities, tv and a (rather poor) hairdryer were provided. Towels were changed each day.

This B&B is ideally located, close to the town and the beach. You can even spot this hotel from Caldey Island in the distance!

A hot, cooked-to-order breakfast was served each morning with friendly, helpful staff on hand.

We can't think of anything that would have improved our experience to be honest. Our only minor critiscisms are that it wasn't clear that Wi-fi was available and what the Wi-fi code was, no one mentioned it to us when we checked in, there was no information in the room about it. It would also have been lovely to have had more information about the history of the hotel and the surrounding areas too.

The decor was a little dated for my taste, for example the faux bed canopy over the bed, but this is subjective. I did notice there is a small patch of damp by the window which could do with a bit of attention/redecorating, but this did not detract from our stay.

Our room rate was on par with some less impressive hotels which did not have the sea view.

I would be sure to recommend to anyone wanting a good B&B with a sea view.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K0636706Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Just returned from a repeat 3night stay at this lovely place. Nothings too much trouble here, breakfast's great..fresh pineapple & melon alongside cereals with good hot selection to go with it while I was there. My room had a lovely sea view ,bath & double bed..although in the attic area/3rd floor so 60 stairs to get there..I was warned when I booked there wasn't a lift so no problem & good keep fit!
It's located as named..overlooking the sea, stunning & right next to town walls, about 5 mins walk to restaurants & shops,5mins straight on to supermarket& bus stops to Pembroke etc.
Can't think of anything negative to nit pick about. There's other hotels on the street but I'm sticking with this one.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KathywWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The hotel is lovely.
Perfect Location, try and get a sea view room,
Perfect staff and good breakfast, all fresh products... Strong Coffee!!
The parking in and around Tenby is a nightmare.. but that is not the hotels fault!

Room Tip: Sea View Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank DXBMrT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had a really lovely stay at The Esplanade, the views were breathtaking, the four poster room facing the sea was very comfortable. The water was hot, the bed comfy. Breakfast was very good with helpful, friendly staff.

We felt welcome. I would love to return one day.

No evening meal provided but plenty of places to eat in Tenby.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank iggybiggybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Lovely hotel with beautiful views, parking quite a walk away, excellent breakfasts but no evening meal, this is made up for by the delicious & filling Fish Pie served at the Buccaneer Inn nearby, easy walk from the hotel

Room Tip: Room 14 has excellent views, a 4 poster bed & is very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
0.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
425 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade

Address: 1 10 Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tenby
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
#12 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: $91 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated alongside the town walls and overlooking South Beach, this 4 Star Guest Accommodation has magnificent views across Carmarthen Bay towards the islands of Caldy and St Catherines, and on a clear day, the north Devon coast.Access to the beautifully sandy South Beach is directly in front on TheEsplanade.A two minute walk will take you into the charming walled town of Tenby with it's wide selection of shops and restaurants.Run by proprietors Peter and Julie Andrasko who took over in April 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Tenby
The Esplanade Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing