We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value”
Review of The Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Esplanade
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location and value”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a family room at The Esplanade for a couple of nights in late September with our 2-year-old daughter. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a good value hotel in Tenby in an excellent location. The hotel is right on the seafront with direct access to the beach (at low tide anyway). It's in a quiet area just outside the town walls and a couple of minutes' walk to all the amenities Tenby has to offer. Our room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was excellent and we were made to feel welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSmith7732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    87
    30
    7
    4
See reviews for
52
140
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

The Esplanade is a very comfortable hotel right on the sea-front in Tenby...but that isn't the main reason for recommending it.

It's for the level of service provided by the owners, Peter and Julie, and their attentive staff. We were a slightly aged, noisy group of 6 and were made to feel completely welcome at all times.

We chose it initially for its proximity to Tenby Golf Club but we will definitely return for the hospitality...oh, and the scones are heavenly!!!!
Well worth starving yourself all day for. Unfortunately, the cooked breakfast is so good, you won't be able to resist. In short, just accept you'll put on weight during your stay here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KFG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Hi we stayed a week in the appartment ajoined to the Hotel on a Room only basis, the appartment is ground floor has its own entrance and overlooks the sea, a really great spot. just a minute or twos strol from the town right next to the historical Town walls and the beach is on the doorstep.
The appartment is well equipped with all that you need including dishwasher modern kitchen, lovely 4 poster bed and spacious Bedroom and a massive Whirlpool bath. Parking just a 5 min walk away is obly £2 a day although you can put up outside to load and unload as long as your quick. The couple who run this are warm friendly and helpful. This is a very good apartment for sure and in a great situation at fair price. Open all year with the advantage of being able to stay as part of the Hotel or on a Self Catering basis. The Views from the Lounge are spectacular! Highly recommended. Thanks!

Room Tip: The Apartment gives you total freedom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shart7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We just stopped in having missed lunch to have afternoon tea. The English version (scone, fresh local cream and jam) was lovely, and they were happy to substitute a hot chocolate for the advertised tea/coffee. The Welsh tea (2 Welsh cakes) was good, but to our minds Welsh cakes should be hot off the griddle and these were cold - a shame.

We ended up staying ages having engrossed ourselves deep in conversation but they had no objection to us just sitting by the window chatting away. Having said that, it was very quiet - maybe different in the summer months!

If you're after good Welsh cakes, head for the central square, just off of which (opposite the sweet shop) is a small bakers that advertises Welsh cakes off the griddle in the window (45p!). Well worth buying a couple and sitting in the square to eat them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieandAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Thank you julie and peter for a lovely stay. You booked us in on short notice you had two rooms available we picked your sea view room what a view! Lovely room four poster bed and a jacuzzi. We had a great breakfast each mornings nothing was to much trouble your staff they where very welcoming. Great location for the beach shops and restaurants pubs and bars.
Room was very warm and cosy at night and it was lovely to wake up to the sound of the sea very relaxing. Had a cream tea one afternoon home made really enjoyed it very good value too. We Will definitely stay again

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Toni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie A, Owner at The Esplanade, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We`re so glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you another time.
Julie Andrasko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,110 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,662 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Esplanade Hotel is a very quaint old 14 roomed private hotel right on the esplanade overlooking the beach. The hotel is within walking distance to all you would want to see in Tenby and many pubs, shops cafe's and restaurants.
The hotel has 3 stories but Peter helped us up the stairs with our luggage (no lift).
The owners were very helpful and friendly.
Wifi is free but only works well in the sitting room.
The seaview rooms at the front of the hotel all have great views but we had room 12 a corner room on the 1st floor which had 2 street lights shinning into both windows until 4.30am not good if you like a dark room to sleep.
The bedroom was a goodsize, clean and airy with lovely decor and the windows opened so we could smell all that lovely sea air. The bed was very comfortable, pillows average. There was also tea and coffee making facilities in the room.
The bathroom was small but adequate, clean with complementary toiletries.
Breakfast was served in the breakfast room with views of the ocean. there was a selection of juice, cereal, fruit, yogurt, tea and coffee as well of your choice of a fully cooked breakfast. All very nice.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Esplanade and would recommend to anyone agile enough to climb the stairs to stay here when in Tenby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lower floor, but if sensitive to light when sleeping do not get a corner room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindakthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie A, Owner at The Esplanade, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We`re glad you enjoyed your stay, we`ve just replaced the carpet in that room. I think black out linings may be an option, although no else has ever mentioned this. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your tour.
Julie Andrasko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very old- need a re-vamp. The location is good but the whole hotel needs a bit of TLC. The owners are friendly but the rooms are very tired, the bathroom was tiny and our window was smashed. The breakfast room seemed tired and there was no elevator- which makes it very hard when you have heavy bags and are on the fourth floor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonyrhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie A, Owner at The Esplanade, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we are in a rolling programme of refurbishing the building, the entire exterior and a number of bedrooms will all be refurbished through this autumn, winter and spring. A little confused re. your room, we do not have a fourth floor, our highest is the third floor which does not have any 'smashed' windows. We do not have a lift and obviously do not advertise one. If you book online, our top floor rooms are clearly marketed as ' High Floor', book direct and we always explain the rooms location and number of stairs involved, help is always available with heavy bags if required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.4 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
386 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Farnham Hotel
Farnham Hotel
#2 of 23 in Tenby
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade

Property: The Esplanade
Address: 1 10 Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tenby
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#12 Family Hotel in Tenby
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated alongside the town walls and overlooking South Beach, this 4 Star Guest Accommodation has magnificent views across Carmarthen Bay towards the islands of Caldy and St Catherines, and on a clear day, the north Devon coast.Access to the beautifully sandy South Beach is directly in front on TheEsplanade.A two minute walk will take you into the charming walled town of Tenby with it's wide selection of shops and restaurants.Run by proprietors Peter and Julie Andrasko who took over in April 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Tenby
The Esplanade Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing