We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of British”
Review of The Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Esplanade
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Best breakfast, best cream tea slection, best views :-) This hotel is a family run business which is reflected in the service and overall presentation of the rooms. I have stayed in the 4poster sea view room for a romantic weekend, this was in February where I could hear the waves crashing against the sea walls, whilst I was snuggled up with a good book. I have also stayed in a double sea view in the peak of summer, where the beaches are glorious. If your booking for a family break, romantic weekend or just to get away by yourself the Esplanade inTenby is the Best of Britsh or to precise Best of Wales :-)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 272 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

I've stayed here at various times over the years. Always good value. The atmosphere is rather chintzy and 1960s but it is very well situated overlooking the sea and a couple of minutes from the town centre.

Staff pleasant and welcoming. Good breakfast. Excellent night's sleep. Very quiet.

Room Tip: Several have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

stayed thursnight and hotel was spotless and very cosy breakfast was great i had best slice of homemade lemon drizzle cake ive ever tasted weather was horrific but would definitely stay there again good selection for breakfast and great location

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 86lynne86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Relaxing last-minute long weekend. Hosts very welcoming & lovely atmosphere. Room clean with views to die for! Delicious breakfasts and best home made scones we've ever tasted. Hotel location right opposite stunning beach so able to have walks whenever we felt like it. Great way to work off breakfast calories. Tenby is a pretty town, well worth visiting & this hotel will definitely be our hotel of choice for future visits. We loved it!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My family and I have visited Tenby for many years now and have always stayed at The Esplanade. Lovely clean comfortable rooms, with modern ensuite - we've stayed in different rooms over the years - all have had a sea view. Visited again during Easter and the room had been recently been refurbished, which was an added bonus. The Hotel is in a superb location overlooking the beach, with a fantastic sea view (the beautiful sandy beach is literally opposite the hotel, has rock pools which the kids love to explore and it's never over crowded) - the old town with all it's shops and restaurants are just a few minutes walk away too. We've always been impressed with the service here - Julie and Peter who own the hotel are always very helpful and on hand to help - we always book direct with them at the hotel now, which gives us a better choice of rooms. I would definitely recommend the cream tea at The Esplanade, all home made with choice of traditional scones, welsh cakes, cheescake etc. We always have a lovely relaxing stay here!

Room Tip: book direct with hotel for more advice on which room to have - a different range of rooms are avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I've stayed here a few times and I have had nothing less than 5 star experiences every time. The location is perfect, views from many rooms are spectacular, and the rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious.

I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Tenby.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca-Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We love Tenby, and have stayed at The Esplanade several times and never been disappointed. There is always a warm welcome from Peter and Julie, who own and run the hotel. It has a fantastic position overlooking the South beach, and is also a very short walk from the walled old town. We have stayed in various rooms over the years, which have all been comfortable, quiet, and spotlessly clean. We particularly liked the sea view rooms, and the new apartment. The excellent breakfast is cooked to order, and taken in the dining room which faces the seafront. They do not serve evening meals, but Peter offered very good suggestions for local restaurants. (Not that we were ever very hungry, having indulged in a cream tea with Julie's home-baked scones and Welsh cakes!) We look forward to returning to the charm and character of The Esplanade soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.4 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#8 of 23 in Tenby
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Giltar Hotel
Giltar Hotel
#7 of 23 in Tenby
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
746 reviews
0.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade

Address: 1 10 Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tenby
#6 Family Hotel in Tenby
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range: $100 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated alongside the town walls and overlooking South Beach, this 4 Star Guest Accommodation has magnificent views across Carmarthen Bay towards the islands of Caldy and St Catherines, and on a clear day, the north Devon coast.Access to the beautifully sandy South Beach is directly in front on TheEsplanade.A two minute walk will take you into the charming walled town of Tenby with it's wide selection of shops and restaurants.Run by proprietors Peter and Julie Andrasko who took over in April 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Tenby
The Esplanade Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing