We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely family-run hotel in Fabulous location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Esplanade
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely family-run hotel in Fabulous location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Relaxing last-minute long weekend. Hosts very welcoming & lovely atmosphere. Room clean with views to die for! Delicious breakfasts and best home made scones we've ever tasted. Hotel location right opposite stunning beach so able to have walks whenever we felt like it. Great way to work off breakfast calories. Tenby is a pretty town, well worth visiting & this hotel will definitely be our hotel of choice for future visits. We loved it!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    82
    29
    5
    4
See reviews for
49
128
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Purley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

My family and I have visited Tenby for many years now and have always stayed at The Esplanade. Lovely clean comfortable rooms, with modern ensuite - we've stayed in different rooms over the years - all have had a sea view. Visited again during Easter and the room had been recently been refurbished, which was an added bonus. The Hotel is in a superb location overlooking the beach, with a fantastic sea view (the beautiful sandy beach is literally opposite the hotel, has rock pools which the kids love to explore and it's never over crowded) - the old town with all it's shops and restaurants are just a few minutes walk away too. We've always been impressed with the service here - Julie and Peter who own the hotel are always very helpful and on hand to help - we always book direct with them at the hotel now, which gives us a better choice of rooms. I would definitely recommend the cream tea at The Esplanade, all home made with choice of traditional scones, welsh cakes, cheescake etc. We always have a lovely relaxing stay here!

Room Tip: book direct with hotel for more advice on which room to have - a different range of rooms are avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I've stayed here a few times and I have had nothing less than 5 star experiences every time. The location is perfect, views from many rooms are spectacular, and the rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious.

I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Tenby.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca-Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We love Tenby, and have stayed at The Esplanade several times and never been disappointed. There is always a warm welcome from Peter and Julie, who own and run the hotel. It has a fantastic position overlooking the South beach, and is also a very short walk from the walled old town. We have stayed in various rooms over the years, which have all been comfortable, quiet, and spotlessly clean. We particularly liked the sea view rooms, and the new apartment. The excellent breakfast is cooked to order, and taken in the dining room which faces the seafront. They do not serve evening meals, but Peter offered very good suggestions for local restaurants. (Not that we were ever very hungry, having indulged in a cream tea with Julie's home-baked scones and Welsh cakes!) We look forward to returning to the charm and character of The Esplanade soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I, together with another couple of friends, stayed here this weekend.
Posisitves- Brilliant location. I'd say this hotel is the best located hotel in Tenby as it's right on the sea front and literally just across the road from the old town walls, with all its shops, cafes and bars.

Friendly staff who are genuinely happy to help.

Lovely breakfast with a choice of full English or various other tings off the menu, as well as a 'help yourself' small buffet of cereals, fruit, juice etc.

Very clean rooms and all other areas.Hotel was nice and warm during the bitter weather.

Negatives- our room was old-fashioned and needed a refurb. The walls were very thin and we could here our friends talking and coughing in the room next door.
The bathroom had an old sliding door that was hanging loose at the bottom and the walls needed re-tiling. However, I believe the hotel rooms are undergoing refurbishment bit by bit, as our friends' room had been done out and was fresh and modern.

Overall, we had a lovely break but the hotel didn't live up to the price we paid. It was quite pricey, even for the non sea-view room which we had.

If you go with the expectation of staying in a 4 star hotel, which it's rated at, I fear you may be a tad disappointed.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best but are pretty expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wereoffagainsoon2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a night. Great location by the sea front and has the potential for a great boutique hotel.
Classed as UK 4* but more Fawlty Towers * than quality *

Decor from the 70s, bathrooms that look like they've never had a refit, leaking showers, taps not working and stained fittings really do nothing to sell this hotel for a return visit.

Friendly staff and a reasonable breakfast mean its not "poor" but come on guys, spend some money and create a great place to stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank riverhouse95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and i had a very relaxing 5 days at the esplanade hotel, our room was facing the front with great views, the room was spacious, clean and quiet, the breakfasts were very good, cooked to order and served by pleasant helpful staff, the hotel is a few minutes walk from the town were there is plenty places to eat, i would recomend esplanade to anyone.

Room Tip: the 2nd floor rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.8 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.1 mi away
Giltar Hotel
Giltar Hotel
#5 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade

Property: The Esplanade
Address: 1 Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tenby
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#12 Family Hotel in Tenby
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated alongside the town walls and overlooking South Beach, this 4 Star Guest Accommodation has magnificent views across Carmarthen Bay towards the islands of Caldy and St Catherines, and on a clear day, the north Devon coast.Access to the beautifully sandy South Beach is directly in front on TheEsplanade.A two minute walk will take you into the charming walled town of Tenby with it's wide selection of shops and restaurants.Run by proprietors Peter and Julie Andrasko who took over in April 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Tenby
The Esplanade Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing