We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have stayed at this hotel 3 times, twice in a seaview room and once in a back room and it was lovely every time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Clarence House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I have stayed at this hotel 3 times, twice in a seaview room and once in a back room and it was lovely every time”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

A lovely welcoming hotel, very homely and a beautiful location it is on the Promenade facing the sea. Great views of Caldey Island and one of the gorgeous beaches. Tenby itself is so picturesque, very small resort but has everything you need and is easily accessible. Take time to visit Saundersfoot and the other beautiful resorts surrounding it. So many lovely places to see

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angriotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    176
    76
    31
    33
See reviews for
86
174
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

A VERY friendly hotel that welcomes with open arms.
Large function room, entertainment was top class and the staff literally treat you as one of the family.
Of all the hotels along this stretch this was packed with people and atmosphere. The rooms are rather dated but they were spotlessly clean.
Staff were totally efficient and friendly at all times, we didn't want to leave
The outside garden would be nice in the better weather. Would recommend.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms offer magnificent views-but probably cost more than the standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed at the Clarence House during late November in my capacity as a coach driver.
Staying in sea-side towns is my 'stock-in-trade',so I have some knowledge born of experience staying at many hotels around the UK.
This hotel I couldn't find fault with in any way.
The staff were friendly and efficient; it was refreshing that they were indigenous to the area and not callow youths that can be the norm in some establishments.
The evening meals were very creative, and a cut above the standards of the usual 'coach hotels' that I stay at.
One particular member of staff is worthy of note: Hubert. He was a great help and a true gentlemen in every respect.

Room Tip: Hotel is on the esplanade and has four floors of rooms facing the ocean.Choose levels 1 to 3, as top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roland r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Went with Angela Holidays. Stayed for 4 nights "Turkey & Tinsel", beautiful location. On arrival our coach party was quickly and efficiently allocated rooms. We had room 112 facing the sea and with a small balcony ideal for taking photos of the stunning views. Our son had a rear room fairly small but big enough for a single occupancy. Both rooms were spotlessly clean, beds comfortable and plenty of storage space for clothes etc.
There was good live entertainment 3 evenings out of the 4 that we stayed.
Meals were excellent and various choices of menu available. My son is a fussy vegetarian but this was no problem to Cheryl, our waitress. She went out of her way to ensure that we all ate well. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will hopefully be back next year. Tenby itself is a lovely place to visit...

Room Tip: We had 112 which was on 1st floor facing sea. A good size room and no noticeable noise during the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are always more than happy to cater for various diets as long as we are aware of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stated for one night on 13 november 2013 on a walk in basis, was offered a sea view room but decided to take a rear facing room as sea view room was much smaller, room basic but very clean & warm, hotel running turkey & tinsel at the time so hotel decorated accordingly, lift to all floors very handy, comfortable nights sleep, bathroom clean but shower not working probably but water very hot for bath , bar has a two happy hours each evening which is nice but not enough seating in bar so had to take drinks to room, breakfast lovely, staff very quick and efficient, parking can be a problem but too be honest the whole of tenby can be a nightmare on parking would stay again at a reasonable rate

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to view several rooms before deciding as some can be quite small
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I do wish you had reported your shower not working properly to reception as we would have rectified the problem as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Having stayed at the clarence hotel recently with a walking group, we found the rooms were very good, great views across the bay from our room.
Breakfast excellent and penny the manager who dealt with our group was brilliant.
Staff were also very good also.
Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I have always liked Christmas so have often wondered about a Turkey/Tinsel break before the main event. Now I know! Such fun. The hotel do this over and over with such a smile on their faces, And do it well. We leave, and the next group arrive and off they go again! I would have thought they would lose enthusiasm, but no. Very very good.
The hotel itself was good also. Rooms are simply furnished and maybe not huge but have everything required and are clean and smell fresh on arrival. If you get a front room then you get a good sea view too. Bathrooms are good, lovely showers, in our case a wet room. Hotel accessible to the disabled, with a good ramp in, an efficient lift, and in my case with a mobility scooter, shown where I could leave it to recharge.
Food tasty, plentiful, very quickly served by some incredibly efficient waitresses.
This was a coach trip, and there was at least one other group there, but also several independant travellers.
If you go you will meet Hubert, say hello from me. He is such a part of the place, has been there forever!

Room Tip: Try for a front room. Floor does not matter as lift efficient
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarhot, Front Office Manager at The Clarence House Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence House Hotel

Property: The Clarence House Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#11 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clarence House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence House Hotel is a 2 Star. Grade 11 listed building superbly situated in the middle of the Esplanade on the South Shore with superb views of St Catherine's Island, Castle Beach, Caldey Island and Giltar Point. The beach can be accessed across the road and the town centre is a few minutes level walk away. The hotel is very disabled-friendly with the lift level to ALL floors and level, ground floor access to the Seagull Bar, Rose Garden, Reception and Dining Room. We pride ourselves on our stunning sea views, friendly and very helpful staff, high level of cleanliness and good traditional food. 'HAPPY HOURS' EACH NIGHT 5PM - 6PM AND 8PM - 11PM. Pets welcome. FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT THE HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Clarence House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Tenby
The Clarence House Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing