We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“coach trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Clarence House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Clarence House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Tenby
Certificate of Excellence
ludgershall
1 review
“coach trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

we have just spent a week at the Clarence Hotel .A good time was had by all.We all go each year on a holiday in Feb in our party is six.the food was great the staff was brill.We all have had a great time and a good laugh.Also a big thankyou to Hurbert you where a great laugh and made our trips out so interestining.A big happy birthday for Hurbert for next week

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    161
    69
    31
    32
See reviews for
82
155
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had a great Monday untll Friday break we went on the break with Saffords coaches from Great Gransden Bedfordshire our coach was driven by Philip an excellent driver ,At the hotel we had a very warm welcome .Our room was clean comfy and warm ,after putting our things away we went down to the reception area for a glass of wine .and had a look at the itinery. We had gone with eight friends The food was excellent ,the staff were great ,evening entertainment was very good ,we had an excellent view from our room looking at Caldy island ,The weather was lovely and bright although a bit on the cold side ,still after all it was November .On our excursions out we were accompanied by no less than Hubert ! what an amazing character ,he pointed out places of interest and took us to the Welsh spoon makers and also Aunty Vi s teashop ,thank you Hubert ,i m glad you enjoyed the champagne and strawberry cup cake all the best Colin and Pauline Arnold room 112

Room Tip: our first floor room was excellent although over the top of reception it was not noisy .however room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pauline a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Torrington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at the Clarence for turkey and tinsel weekend with friends. The location was excellent and would have been lovely if the weather had been kinder. We had a very warm welcome on arrival and the staff were very polite and efficient. The breakfast and meals were good and very efficiently served - the waitresses were almost running! The room was clean although not luxurious but more than adequate for the price charged. Happy hour and free drinks hour were a nice surprise as well as the entertainment. We would not hesitate to return to the Clarence at a future date and would certainly recommend to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed with twelve friends for two nights, and didn't realize it was a turkey and tinsel weekend.The hotel is in a seventies time warp, but can't be faulted for its position on the south
beach side of Tenby. The views across to Caldy Island would be priceless if the weather is good.
The rooms are on the cozy side but, comfortable. I did find the shower room rather on the tight side and in ours only a small wash basin. Our other friends had larger basins, but actually in the bedroom. Tea, coffee in room but no biscuits. It was very good value for its position near the town. The staff were very good ,and friendly. Breakfast was cereals,full cooked,toast etc.
Very nice. Very acceptable for £35 per person per night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolpavlova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

What a brilliant weekend!!! Stayed at the Clarence with my wife and friends for the Turkey and Tinsel weekend only sorry we did not book for 3nights. Rooms were very clean and all the staff were brilliant.
On arrival on Friday we were quickly allocated our rooms and seing that we were a large party it was dealt with very professionally.
Friday night was Christmas Eve and party night, good entertainment with a few surprises added on (by our group) I think that everybody enjoyed the night.
Saturday night we were visited by Father Xmas and of course another party night again a little extra surprises (by our group again) hopefully enjoyed by all, maybe not so much by the artist, but it did need livening up.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed the weekend and look forward to going back again next year.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Scarletnev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combe Martin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We travelled with a party of seventeen friends to enjoy a special "turkey and tinsel" holiday at the Clarence Hotel..Although the hotel's decor may be dated the quality of service and festive atmosphere was fantastic with excellent festivities arranged over the four day holiday ,my only small grip was with the food, the evening menu choice read with anticipation of superb flavours, unfortuantly when it arrived at our table, it was dissappointing and lacked any imagination presentation and quality..However we had a great holiday, and will concider the possibility of booking at The Clarence for next year's T&T holiday.

Room Tip: The best rooms are at the front of the hotel,with a fantastic sea and coast line view's ,the 1st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicjosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed Saturday night 10/11/12 four of us in two rooms one room was small the other big but both very good and spotless breakfast very good staff excellent the entertainment did not show up but the bar manger kept the free bar on which was good rebooked for a party of 16 next may all in all the hotel was excellent

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#9 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#5 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.4 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#14 of 24 in Tenby
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence House Hotel

Property: The Clarence House Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Tenby SA70 7DU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tenby
#11 Family Hotel in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clarence House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence House Hotel is a 2 Star. Grade 11 listed building superbly situated in the middle of the Esplanade on the South Shore with superb views of St Catherine's Island, Castle Beach, Caldey Island and Giltar Point. The beach can be accessed across the road and the town centre is a few minutes level walk away. The hotel is very disabled-friendly with the lift level to ALL floors and level, ground floor access to the Seagull Bar, Rose Garden, Reception and Dining Room. We pride ourselves on our stunning sea views, friendly and very helpful staff, high level of cleanliness and good traditional food. 'HAPPY HOURS' EACH NIGHT 5PM - 6PM AND 8PM - 11PM. Pets welcome. FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT THE HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Clarence House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Tenby
The Clarence House Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing