We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location.”
Review of Royal Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Lion Hotel
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Reviewed August 3, 2013

If you are like me and have had to put up with the obligatory "L" shaped hotel bedroom (2 star, 3 star 4 star or 5 star) and hate them all, this is no different, however the location is perfect, set out side the hotel and you are on the beach (well al most...just cross the road). Bedrooms are just about okay, breakfast is good if you like a full English/Welsh breakfast. No car park at the moment but spaces will become available in 2014. Remember: Location, Location, Location.

Room Tip: They have "family rooms" for 2 adults and 2 children. The best views of Tenby North beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markc363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 175 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

A friend and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The view from our room overlooking the bay is wonderful. The hotel is in a poor condition and not attractive at all on the outside. Inside is a bit better. Our room was clean, the beds were good, but on the whole the hotel needs an enormous investment to meet todays standards and to justify the roomrates.

Room Tip: There are certainly better places elsewhere in Tenby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clementine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

hi ,my wife and i stayed here on 20/07/2013,this is an old well used hotel which has a fantastic view over the north beach/harbour,its situated at the top of the main street which is very handy for all the restaurants and bars that tenby has to offer,you are literally in the town.the hotel bar is a nice place to have a drink or something to eat,and the breakfast is traditional but small portions.the hotel is old and needs a lick of paint.we had room 303 which like the rest of the hotel was clean with its own ensuite ,this room also has a harbour view.the tv didnt work.

Room Tip: go for room 303 for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikemartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

By far the best feature of this hotel is its location right on the front, overlooking the beach. If you get a room on this side of the hotel (as we did), you will have an excellent view of the bay and surrounding area.The Lion is an old hotel with the signs of faded gentility one often associates with seaside towns and spas (loose windows, creaky or ill-fitting doors etc.), but it has made some concessions to modernity with a noisy bar and tiny lift (elevator).

We had a fairly large room with a reasonable bed, useful furnishings, hair dryer, coffee maker, small TV, but no iron, and the closet door would not close. The bathroom was adequate, but there were no wash cloths, the door would not close and the mirror was so low, anyone over five foot five would have to crouch down to see into it.

Very good breakfasts are served in an attractive, large, airy room, but the coffee is weak and napkins are skimpy little paper affairs.

In its advertising and website, the hotel does not say that it does NOT provide any parking, and in Tenby this can be a serious problem especially when the town has a lot of visitors. We found a parking lot (car park) about 15 minutes walk away at a cost of 5 pounds per day. From here we had to drag ourselves across town loaded down with bags. If you have not been to Tenby before and you arrive by car, be prepared for a nightmarish, circuitous, crawling round and round to (a) find the hotel and (b) find somewhere to park.

All that said, The Lion is superbly located and the rates are very reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The room on the second floor had a stunning view of beach and harbour and was very convenient for the centre of Tenby. However the hotel is very shabby and needs some money invested in it. The decor was faded and the bathroom was just plain awful- -didn't even bother to try the shower. There was constant creaking from the room above and it was very noisy. I had no faith whatsoever in the security of the room and made sure that i had my valuables with me at all times. The room door could have been opened with a push. As we left water was pouring through the ceiling in reception and it seemed like it might a regular occurrence. The hotel was no more than barely adequate but at a cost of £100 per night. It was the only double room left for the night I booked - should have been a insight!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suepaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Great view to Tenby harbour, u can hear wave sound and enjoy the spectacular view of great beach and colourful houses! However, the service is not so great as the price I have to pay! The shower didn't not work well, I can't have hot water for showering! The bed lamp didn't work

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thotran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Ever wondered where you could get a 20oz steak in Tenby and enjoy every mouthful, then find the Royal Lion Hotel, North Beach, Tenby sa70 7ex. Must admit from the front which is the hotel part it did look like it was in a time warp, and round the corner where you get into the bar well it did make you wonder if it was worth going in, but once inside well, the staff make you welcome and take a trip upstairs to the loo's, wonderful old building with loads of charactor, no idea how old the building is probably the same age as Tenby itself, but loved it, even though the menu is minimal go for the steak, 20oz's of pure heaven, comes with chips and half a tomato as dressing, add some peas is a suggestion from me only, but all in all well cooked and to your liking, who needs fancy salad as well, not me. Even the 10oz was cooked to perfection too. So when in Tenby and want steak look no further than The Royal Lion Hotel, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: only eat here, did not stay in the hotel part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorracash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.2 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
421 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Normandie Inn
Normandie Inn
#21 of 23 in Tenby
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southcliff Hotel
Southcliff Hotel
#15 of 23 in Tenby
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lion Hotel

Address: | North Beach, Tenby SA70 7EX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Price Range: $108 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lion Tenby
Royal Lion Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing