We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“no complaints” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Lion Hotel
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Tenby
Brecon, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“no complaints”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

having just visited this hotel with my partner we approached the hotel with some trepidation as the outside looked a bit worn to say the least however upon entering the hotel we were welcomed at the reception desk by very friendly staff check in was quick and easy we went up to our room witch was 111 it was large and very comfortable looking everything was as it should be clean towels and bedding we also ate at the hotel which was very nice the bar had a good selection of drinks and all in all a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: room 111 had great views of the harbour and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    25
    37
    50
See reviews for
16
72
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Situated on the sea front the hotel looked very rundown but on checking in found the room to be large and warm which was good considering snowy conditions. I went into town for food early evening and returned looking forward to a nice hot bath. After my bath i picked up one of the folded towels on my bed to find without doubt the most DISGUSTING GRUBBY SOILED towel i have ever found in a hotel room in over 15 years of working away!! After drying myself with he other towel [perfectly clean] i changed and took the offending towel to reception. After ringing the bell the receptionist/barmaid saw me and i showed her the towel,she held it up for inspection and muttered some kind of apology and said she would make sure i had fresh towels in the morning. On checking this morning NO fresh towels were left for me and no one on reception to speak to and on speaking to my work collague she said that her bath was dirty and that one of her towels was very grubbyas well. The only good thing i can report is that a premier inn is being built opposite the hotel which i shall be using in future. I will be contacting the hotel and will post any response i get.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jerrysmith1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tenby hotels

Wales
Level Contributor
146 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Second time staying here. It's adequate, price is the same for most hotels and B & B's in Tenby. The place needs some real competition to force the standards up. There is no investment in the building or fit out which says it all. I guess times are tough. However I was disappointed with the breakfast which after all only takes effort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

A group of us stayed & were made welcome. Comfortable rooms, almost all with beach/ sea views, if looking a little tired. Catering is good and the bar open late. A close walk to beaches, albeit fairly steep paths, but considered suitable for wheelchairs - just. Plenty of activity inc. bars & shops (mostly gift type) in very close proximity.

Room Tip: Request a room with bay window for most panoramic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

When i booked this hotel last minute i hadn't thought about checking the reviews as with every other hotel i have booked in tenby i haven't bothered and had a fantastic experience. After reading the reviews on here i was put off to say the least and dreading the thought of entering this run down, outdated and tired hotel.
When i arrived at the hotel i tried to turn into the car park of the hotel which is about 20 yards from the hotel and behind the royal playhouse cinema to find it was surround by construction fencing and the car park was not in use as they are building a premier inn hotel next door which was a bit of an inconvience as it was hammering down and blowing a gale at the time.
I sent my partner into the hotel and they said to park in the rail station which was a pound for 24 hours and is under cctv aswell as only being a 5 minute walk to the hotel although getting drenched on the way weren't great but i didn't let it get me down as i was in tenby after all.
We entered the hotel and found the reception clean, colorful and full of character, the only bad thing was rain dripping through the window which is acceptable as they are old windows and it was raining heavily and blowing a gale aswell as the hotel bearing the elements on the seafront for all those years. The receptionist was also the barman of the bar adjoining the hotel which was unusual but it didn't bother me and he was very friendly and informative.
We entered our room and were looking for faults straightaway thanks to all the negative comments and found just the one and it's not even worth mentioning. Everything was clean, fresh towels, hd tv with no disruption and no pubic hair in the bathroom plus hot water and a comfortable bed! Also the doors entering to the room were about 15 foot high and looked amazing. The view from the room was outstanding and we were only on the first floor.
The breakfast wasn't great but we were very hungover at the time and all in all it was a very enjoyable stay. Me and my partner are both in our 20's and we would defiantly stay again.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matthew r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Okay , Its right on the seafront ...... But car parking is a walk away ..... The room was clean enough but tired . As far as the food goes .... dont bother ! Breakfast was what you could describe as ample .... just . And The bar menu ? Very poor like the food . I had Lasagne hoping it was home made . No such luck . Wont be booking this one again .

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silver843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Spent Two nights b&b here breakfast great food was good room 201 brilliant view , tea coffee making facilities room is a bit dated and could do with some Tlc staff friendly . No car park , parking either at the rail station or multi story by sainsburys both do 24 hour parking sainsburys nearest about 5 minutes through old town walls drop bags off first .
Would stay again , but hotel could be so much more with some Tlc

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walletShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.2 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#13 of 24 in Tenby
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Normandie Inn
Normandie Inn
#22 of 24 in Tenby
3.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#10 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southcliff Hotel
Southcliff Hotel
#16 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lion Hotel

Property: Royal Lion Hotel
Address: | North Beach, Tenby SA70 7EX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lion Tenby
Royal Lion Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing