We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as terrible as other reviews make out”
Review of Royal Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Lion Hotel
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not as terrible as other reviews make out”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

When i booked this hotel last minute i hadn't thought about checking the reviews as with every other hotel i have booked in tenby i haven't bothered and had a fantastic experience. After reading the reviews on here i was put off to say the least and dreading the thought of entering this run down, outdated and tired hotel.
When i arrived at the hotel i tried to turn into the car park of the hotel which is about 20 yards from the hotel and behind the royal playhouse cinema to find it was surround by construction fencing and the car park was not in use as they are building a premier inn hotel next door which was a bit of an inconvience as it was hammering down and blowing a gale at the time.
I sent my partner into the hotel and they said to park in the rail station which was a pound for 24 hours and is under cctv aswell as only being a 5 minute walk to the hotel although getting drenched on the way weren't great but i didn't let it get me down as i was in tenby after all.
We entered the hotel and found the reception clean, colorful and full of character, the only bad thing was rain dripping through the window which is acceptable as they are old windows and it was raining heavily and blowing a gale aswell as the hotel bearing the elements on the seafront for all those years. The receptionist was also the barman of the bar adjoining the hotel which was unusual but it didn't bother me and he was very friendly and informative.
We entered our room and were looking for faults straightaway thanks to all the negative comments and found just the one and it's not even worth mentioning. Everything was clean, fresh towels, hd tv with no disruption and no pubic hair in the bathroom plus hot water and a comfortable bed! Also the doors entering to the room were about 15 foot high and looked amazing. The view from the room was outstanding and we were only on the first floor.
The breakfast wasn't great but we were very hungover at the time and all in all it was a very enjoyable stay. Me and my partner are both in our 20's and we would defiantly stay again.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matthew r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    24
    31
    42
    60
See reviews for
21
87
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Okay , Its right on the seafront ...... But car parking is a walk away ..... The room was clean enough but tired . As far as the food goes .... dont bother ! Breakfast was what you could describe as ample .... just . And The bar menu ? Very poor like the food . I had Lasagne hoping it was home made . No such luck . Wont be booking this one again .

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silver843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tenby hotels

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Spent Two nights b&b here breakfast great food was good room 201 brilliant view , tea coffee making facilities room is a bit dated and could do with some Tlc staff friendly . No car park , parking either at the rail station or multi story by sainsburys both do 24 hour parking sainsburys nearest about 5 minutes through old town walls drop bags off first .
Would stay again , but hotel could be so much more with some Tlc

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walletShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

brilliant location, a couple of hundred yards from the centre. The views from the rooms are amazing. Food in the bar downstairs is very good. Only problem is it needs redecorating. We found the rooms clean, the staff we all very helpful. We have stayed there several times

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugh j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Hotel on the sea front possibly one of the best locations in Tenby, hotel itself is a little old fashioned but my room (302) was clean and comfortable with a beautiful view of the beach and harbour, the staff at the hotel we fantastic and very helpful, I was part of a group visiting on motorcycles and they had off road parking 25 metres from the hotel next to a derelict cinema, four of us all guys stayed in the bar and had a meal there, food was good and the bar was well stocked. The breakfast in the morning was lovely with thick back bacon and nice sausages, all in all I found my night at the royal lion a good one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touringbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swords, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The bath had not been cleaned, lots of head and p,,,,c hair to be seen. We were given another room same result. The tv signal is achieved by an aerial on top of the wardrobe which meant picture freezing. There is no car park. The manager hid at the back of reception when we asked to speak to him. All in all, glad we only booked for 1 night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22112g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Amazing views from our 3rd floor rooms over the sea. Parking close by. Very friendly staff. Some previous negative reviews had me worried but my worries were totally unfounded. Old building with old style rooms, high ceilings. Wouldn't fault anything.100%.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kendec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.3 mi away
The Clarence House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Normandie Inn
Normandie Inn
#22 of 23 in Tenby
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Tenby Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fourcroft Hotel
Fourcroft Hotel
#11 of 23 in Tenby
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southcliff Hotel
Southcliff Hotel
#15 of 23 in Tenby
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lion Hotel

Property: Royal Lion Hotel
Address: | North Beach, Tenby SA70 7EX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lion Tenby
Royal Lion Hotel Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing