We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely lunch...”
Review of Coast - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Coast
Cuisines: British, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely lunch...”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Iam so pleased with overall ambiance of COAST ,a much needed upmarket place for lunch with a very reasonable cost.Its menu caters for traditional and newer tastes,my companion had a local ham salad and i went for the goats cheese,after asking if it was toasted (it was).It would have been perfect if the olives were better- really dislike pitted ones -they lack any flavour and it would also have been nice if salads were accompanied by some crusty bread.Will definately try the dinner menu in the near future.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great little find!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We went this afternoon after walking round Tenby and saw lots of cafes and resturaunts to have a drink in but they were all too packed. We walked past this place and decided it looked nice so we went in. Even thought there were one other couple and us, it was a welcoming atmosphere!
The waitress apologised about the wait on the coffee even though it was only two minutes.
The menu for the food looked nice as well although a bit expensive compared to other places for example wine bottles were not over 14 pounds.
However from what we saw was coming out of the kitchen you should expect to pay that much
Overall it was a lovely atmosphere and a nice little find!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smiles2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

A nice relaxed place a few feet from the church opposite Boots.
The front of the restaurant is given over more to a coffee area and has nice leather sofas to sink into.
Further into the restaurant is more the dining area, with the tables laid out in a more scattered fashion so you are not in a row.
It reminded me very much of the trendy places to be found in London/Brighton/Oxford.
Not as busy as the cafes opposite, I can only put this down to the fact the Bistro dos not have full height windows out front.
Food was excellent, we dined there for lunch and dinner. Service great.
It`s not the cheapest place, but then the cheapest places are many places behind the Bistro in service and quality.
Menu was good, as was the wine list. You can see a lot of thought and preparation has gone into it.
All in all, I was very happy each time we visited the Bistro and have no hesitation in recommending the establishment.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 17clarence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Eat Here”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Visited on our first night. An oasis of calm away from the crowded (and in some cases none too clean) pubs. Food and wine very good - I particularly liked the starters. Owners are husband and wife (he cooks and she runs the front of house) and staff all very friendly and obliging. Visited twice more in our week's stay so hope that is a good recommendation. Deserve to do well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnmb45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice little find! Worth a visit!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

We went this afternoon after walking round Tenby and saw lots of cafes and resturaunts to have a drink in but they were all too packed. We walked past this place and decided it looked nice so we went in. Even thought there were one other couple and us, it was a welcoming atmosphere!
The waitress apologised about the wait on the coffee even though it was only two minutes.
The menu for the food looked nice as well although a bit expensive compared to other places for example wine bottles were not over 14 pounds.
However from what we saw was coming out of the kitchen you should expect to pay that much
Overall it was a lovely atmosphere and a nice little find!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smiles2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coast also viewed

 
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing