We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oh dear! dont go here if you are normal or if you have large dog.”
Review of Red Rooster Roost

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Rooster Roost
Ranked #46 of 52 Tenby B&B and Inns
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“oh dear! dont go here if you are normal or if you have large dog.”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

ok... nice welcome. looked in room and flinched, we have a dogue de bordeaux and the room was cramped to say the least. landlady wanted to meet dog and had a fit about him dirtying the cream carpet. DOG FRIENDLY ?? i didnt know i was to bring my own carpet protectors, she proceeded to cover the floor with old towels. I didnt want to stay, but we had just driven 350 miles from scotland and my wife is dissabled and was looking forward to a nice hot bath. NO BATH!! just a small square shower cubicle, she couldnt get in it. didnt matter as there were no towels, well just one hand towel from another hotel. well we went out for some food (not in tenby) came back and made a cup of tea, yuck! immitation milk, it was disgusting. i went out and bought some fresh. poor tv signal, no fresh fruit. might as well go to bed. lights out. lights out.LIGHTS OUT!!! any movement set off the intruder alarm sensor ,flooding the room with bright blue light, and every time someone or something moved outside our door (which was glazed and a flimsy net curtain hanging) the room was lit like daylight. i am a light (ha ha ) sleeper and the dog disturbed every time as well. i'm bad enough grumpy but a Bordeaux , wath out. any way earlier in the evening we had an emergency call from the daughter and had to cut short our stay i notified the " wicked witch" and in the morning the fun really began.

Room Tip: Dont Bother.. room 2 is cramped and lights flash all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Baz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    24
    10
    20
    30
See reviews for
11
79
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Contacted the owner to explain due to adverse weather in Feb 2014 we would not be staying and have to cancel trip... She replied I demand full payment or taking it further which I am looking on previous reviews about her attitude which did not surprise me.. Have not even been to her place glad did not go due to reviewing the reviews due to her attitude. We spent a romantic wet weekend in Worcester due to the floods which is our home town Seems like not understanding to people's misfortunes due to floods illness or anything that Mother Nature throws at you. We booked a table in tenby on Saturday and understood why we could not make it but why couldn't she... Hope she takes it further as I am sure a court would be understanding in these adverse and bizarre weather we have had.. Glad my credit card was maxed out...

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Oarvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tenby hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Well where should I start? My partner and I booked for 2 nights in this place without reading the reviews first of all. Big mistake. Upon our arrival which was mid afternoon, we waited a good 5 minutes for the lady owner Marion to come to the door to check us in. Then she had no idea how long we were staying for.
As we were taken to our room, we were half way up the stairs laden with heavy bags when we were told off for having our shoes on in the house in the cream carpet. I felt like some naughty school kid.
Upon entering the room, Marion gave us a tour of it, telling us not to get ANY water on the bathroom floor as it would go straight through the floor into the room below. The bathroom was very awkward if you're over a certain height as the beams are extremely low, both my partner and I are over 5ft 10 and I lost count at the total number of times that we banged our head in there.
We had to tune in the tv which wasn't too much of a problem, however, the signal did suffer with interference quite a lot of the time. That night we went to bed and noticed that the light in the stairs kept coming on. I can only presume that the dog may have been setting off the automatic sensor but it lit up the entire room.
The next day we had decided to visit some local attractions and wanted to go online to see what was around. My 3G signal wasn't that great and so we decided to ask Marion for the Wifi password. But we were both too scared to ask her as we had read the review on here about her advising a guest not to access pornography on it and so we struggled with my slow 3G connection. Can you believe it we were both too scared to ask her for anything!!
She had a very patronising manner about her, even shouting at the cleaner in front of me when all the cleaner had tried to do was offer good customer service. I was appalled by this, it was extremely unprofessional of her.
We declined the breakfast as at a cost of £150 for 2 nights, an extra £11 per breakfast seemed rather steep.
On the positive side the room was ok. It was clean and tidy, the towels appeared to be freshly laundered. That's about it.
It is certainly more than a five minute walk into the town, you're talking more like 15 and that was at a good pace by 2 fit and healthy people.
We certainly won't be returning. I'm sure that there are cheaper places to stay which are far more pleasant, with far more friendly owners.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Welsh_jo_109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Warm greeting by the owner Marion Stone who is enthusiastic
The room, not one in the photo gallery, honestly described as a small double with shower en-suite is adjacent the 'laundry / utility room. The noise from the washing machine doing its cycle was not welcome after a long drive and the need to sleep.
The room itself was colourful but with a fusty dampness that was uncomfortable though there were no physical signs of mildew either in the room or in the en-suite.
The towels in the shower were well worn and not as fresh as I'd like, couldn't determine if they were off-white of faded peach.
The 'sky' tv signal was constantly failing so it was impossible to watch, not helped by the washing machine next door in any case.
On giving up with the tv i tried to connect to the advertised Wi-Fi only to find the only available signal was next to the door of the room, next to the hall, next to the utility. Hardly convenient (see picture)
Anf finally when the exhaustion took over and I turned out the lights the burglar alarm sensor lit up the room, flashing at every movement in the room, even to the point of waking me when I turned over in the night. I'm not normally a "light" sleeper, but on this occasion !!!
Breakfast was prompt and the cooked Welsh was ample, though cheap sausages spoiled the meal. At least the resident dog had those.
I'll not be back.
I'm unsure if this is a typical Tenby standard as it's my first time in Pembrokeshire.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KThewander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

After a long drive and a day in a theme park we turned up at this beautiful bed and breakfast.
We were greeted by Marion stone, so welcoming and friendly it felt like I was greeting a family member. I had a problem with booking it online and she even refused someone off the street just incase we turned up. The room was homely and very comfortable. Will return again and again, this time booking directly!
Thank you Marion x

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cassie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were looking for a quiet spot in this busy seaside town, close enough for easy access but not in the centre. We found the Red Rooster Roost on line and chose to spend 2 nights. Our special needs guests had a main floor room with a walk in wet room which was perfect. We were upstairs with a spa. Our area had a very large reception which was great to sit and talk about the day. The beds were great and we all had the best sleep except for the drunk couple that wandered home at 2:00 am and had a hour long argument. Marion served us breakfast which was more than enough food. I would come back because it is not the proprietors fault for a boorish guest.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebDaveS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

On arrival we were greeted by Marion, she made us wait out in the rain while she checked her books. She then had no idea as to how long we were staying for but showed us to our room. She fussed a lot and was very patronising.
The room was very small and there was no door on the bathroom which was a bit of a pain seeing as I was sharing with a friend. Also the TV in the room barely worked.
This wasn't too much of a problem as we were out most of the time. That night Marion told us that she wouldn't pester us to clean the room the next day and it didn't matter if it didn't get done which was ok with us. So the next day we went into Tenby and went to see the seals however it was raining and by the time we got back we were soaked and ready for a shower.
As we went to enter our room the cleaner was in their. Marion then knocked on the door telling us we needed to leave and they HAD to clean the room. It was raining outside and the hotel isn't close to anything so she put us in a cold room in the main house and told us to go back in 15 minutes. When we got back all our things had been moved and put in drawers etc.

As we were leaving that evening Marion told us to make sure our room was tidy so she could clean the next day. Prior to this we had to go out and buy our own toilet roll and soap. Once she had cleaned our room our toilet roll had been swapped for cheap and nasty toilet roll. We were less than impressed.

On the many occasions of speaking to Marion we felt like we were being very patronised and felt as if we were walking on egg shells. We would not stay here again especially with these ridiculous prices and feeling uncomfortable all the time.

Room Tip: Don't bother coming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Harriet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hammonds Park
Hammonds Park
#33 of 52 in Tenby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.5 mi away
New Overlander Restaurant & Guest Accommodation
2.5 mi away
Greenhills Hotel
Greenhills Hotel
#1 of 6 in St. Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Rooster Roost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rooster Roost

Property: Red Rooster Roost
Address: The Mews Heywood Lane, Tenby SA70 8BN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Rooster Roost 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Rooster Roost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Rooster Roost Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing