We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Rooster Roost

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Rooster Roost
Ranked #49 of 56 Tenby B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the Red Rooster for one night as it was our wedding anniversary. I only wish we could have stayed longer as the room was fabulous. The bathroom with its Jacuzzi bath was amazing and the bed was really comfortable. We were made to feel really welcome by Marion who after a telephone call by my husband arranged for a bouquet of flowers to be given to me on arrival. With only short walk into Tenby I feel we have found the perfect place to stay If you want to explore this stunning area. We will most definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    23
    10
    20
    30
See reviews for
11
78
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

On arrival after a 4 hour drive we had not read the small print that we could not check in until 2 or 3 pm arriving at midday, this was not a problem but the owners went on about it as if we had done something really bad trying to check in early. We were based in a double room ( on the small side) adjoined to the main house. Expect an early awakening by barking dogs and slamming of doors ( starts about 7:30-8:00am)
The room was clean, but is quite overcrowded by chinsey decor lamps and ornaments, leaving no surface free for your own bits & pieces.
We brought along with us our finest wine glasses to have a celebratory drink for my birthday, but on return from day out our clean glasses had been taken away and replaced by two very small cheap glasses, being told we could have ours back in the morning when the dishwasher had finished. I am sure the owners intention was good but too interfering, there was also a radio clock alarm at the side of the bed, which I had to unplug to allow me use of my iPhone ( which I prefer to use) but each morning my lead was unplugged, put in a draw and the radio clock reset on return.
Other items like my hair dryer was also put away into a draw. I felt the owner could not let go of her property enough to allow guests to be comfortable, on the plus side the bed was very comfy. The photo on the website showing a pleasant garden is the owners and is not accessible to the guests, quite misleading. My partner asked for the wifi code and was asked that he did not access pornography sites, the location was down a hill and up another about 15 minute walk into the centre. All in all the overpowering personality and touching of our property was a put off.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianne1byrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tenby hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Me and my partners stay was enjoyable, although the owner Marion was very rude at our arrival. Ruined our stay at the B&B and we felt like we were stepping on eggshells. We had a room next to the main door and we were woken early in the mornings by people arriving and leaving which was quite noisy. The room on the other hand was lovely and comfortable. We did not realise that on top of the price of the room (rather expensive for us) the breakfast was £11 a head so we went into town for breakfast for our stay. I don't think I will stay here again but Tenby was lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v00se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Booked the little red rooster rest for 2 nights and had a lovely time. We arrived later than expected on our first day and received a warm welcome from Marion the owner. We stayed in the deluxe room with the spa bath which was lovely and relaxing. The bed was very comfortable and adorned with pillows and nice sheets. The room was a bit small but fine for us as we spent most of the days and nights out, it was very clean and not far from tenby town. The only thing I would say is that the walls are very thin so you can hear next door talking (or snoring in our case)! So you have to be wary of being to loud in the room especially if you've been out for a few drinks! Also there is no wifi in the seperate house Other than that had a pleasant stay, the owner was very welcoming and I loved her 2 dogs!

Also there isn't a fitness centre or swimming pool I rated these by accident couldn't I unclick them!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed with my partner in April 2013, we only stayed for 1 night but have been looking forward to making another trip. I booked the room i think it was called a deluxe suite(with a spa bath). On arrival we were met by the owner Marion, she was immediately friendly and joking with us. As we had a spa bath we were asked straight away not to use it after 10 as it makes a bit of noise, sadly our neighbours who also had a spa hadn't listened and used theirs until gone midnight. The bed was huge and comfortable with plenty of pillows and fitted in with the decor. I have read a few negative reviews on here, i would just say my experience was almost perfect, i was worried as i booked through laterooms about complications so phoned the hotel direct to confirm weeks in advance and a few days ahead of setting off. The hotel is a nice distance from tenby and although a little more pricey, you do get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Deluxe room was just perfect, it looks out over a sports field.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

It should be pointed out that while the hotel states that it's 'dog friendly', what that actually means is that dogs have the run of the entire hotel.

No sooner had we arrived we checked out - and were refused any type of refund or compensation. I love dogs, but this was ridiculous. To add to this the room was claustrophobic, and when we were shown to our room it hadn't been serviced, in general the place was grubby, not at all aided by the 'wet dog smell' which was through the furniture and carpet.

Not family friendly and frankly a little dangerous to those with children under 5.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JDB90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The good thing about the Red Rooster B&B in Tenby is the fact that you have free parking and it is very quiet around. It not far to the town centre but it is still a 15min walk.
The negative points are (at least were for us) the room that 'smelt humid', lights in the room that were switching on when you moved (a bit disturbing at night), expensive breakfast option and not being in the town centre or anywhere near the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karolina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tenby hotels
0.8 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#11 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hammonds Park
Hammonds Park
#35 of 56 in Tenby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.5 mi away
New Overlander Restaurant & Guest Accommodation
2.5 mi away
Greenhills Hotel
Greenhills Hotel
#1 of 6 in St. Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Rooster Roost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rooster Roost

Property: Red Rooster Roost
Address: The Mews Heywood Lane, Tenby SA70 8BN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Tenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Rooster Roost 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Rooster Roost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Rooster Roost Tenby, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing