We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exactly as described”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Rooftops

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from living room velux window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
37 reviews
View from living room velux window
Christmas in Tenby
Christmas in Tenby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Tenby, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Patsy L
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exactly as described”
Reviewed November 21, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Just as everyone else has said; excellent location, in town but quiet up in the rooftops, fantastic 180 degree views, well equipped and close to Tesco, pubs and restaurants. In addition I loved having the windows open to hear the sounds of the tide and the boats in the harbour and I enjoyed watching the fishermen putting out their nets etc, it is great to see it is still a working harbour. The best thing of all, for me, was the Georgian splendour of so many of the houses which had been conserved without the 'museum' feeling that is so often generated, for instance other flats in the house still had the coving and fireplaces which are so characteristic of the period.
Like other visitors we had a close view of the local bird population, although we didn't encourage them with feeding, including a gull having a fish for breakfast.

We booked for November, knowing that it would be a quiet time of year with some shops etc closed for the Winter. We were chiefly interested in being by the sea and going for walks around the beach and harbour. I have some mobility limitations but we were forewarned about the stairs from all the reviews so I found them manageable being actually quite shallow.
I did have problems with the sloping ceiling in the bedroom (I'm 5'5") constantly banging my head when sitting up in bed or being bent over walking around to the side. I would recommend they move the bed to the wall opposite the window and if necessary lose the wardrobe. Dormer windows would be even better if you could get them. Also I would suggest the sofa bed is past it's best and should be replaced.

We had a minor medical problem while staying and tried the number for Tenby Surgery given in the information book, but there was no reply. In the end, we had wonderful service from the staff and pharmacist in Boots, who liaised with my doctor's surgery and sorted everything out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being within sight and sound of the harbour
Liked least: Sloping ceiling in the bedroom provided a rude awakening
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TREVOR C
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great little bolt hole”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Stopped at Rooftops last week in Oct 14 and to be honest the description on the rooftops site is very accurate. It is more than adiquate it has everything you need for a comfortable stay, yes the ceilings are low in parts but this can be seen on the advertising photo's. We used the flat as a base and we have no complaints, it is right in the middle of Tenby with use of a private garage (which is a god send) It is very quiet for it's location and being one of six flats we only saw one other person in the time we were there. Adrian the owner e-mailed us all the information we needed and it was dead easy to follow. If you were to ask would we stay there again definatley, clean honest property, well done Adraian & Trish

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: On top floor of 3 (all stairs)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabella...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hidden gem”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The owner, Adrian, provided us with ample information about the property and it's surroundings and even rang the day me the day our holiday started to warn us the annual testing of the smoke detectors would take place on a morning during the week we were booked into the flat! He was very helpful.
Tenby is such a beautiful part of the country, along with the Pembrokshire coast. The town was brimming with colour, the beaches were very clean and the sea was warm.
Rooftops is perfect for a couple, lovely to have the sea views and is a very quiet flat despite being in the town centre, as it's far enough up the stairs for sound not to travel. It's cosy yet spacious enough for 2 people. Very clean and safe. Very comfortable sofa in the living room and great views out to sea with the telescope through the velux.
Private car park was a great plus point and the accomodation really was very close to the town and beach. Car park was in good location, only 5/10 mins walk and it is on the edge of town so you don't have to drive through town with your car to get to the car park. Would definitely consider staying here again.
As it is in the roof, there is very low parts of the ceiling and even only at 5 foot 4 I had to be really careful. However, this wasn't a problem. You just had to be aware of how low it was in parts!
Thanks very much Adrian. We had a great week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness of the flat being so close to town.
Liked least: The low ceilings!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael c
Dursley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, brilliant views and thoughtfully furnished.”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a fabulous time at Rooftops and are telling friends and family about it. The accommodation is thoughtfully equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Although we are both in our mid-70s we did not have any trouble with the stairs leading to Rooftops and liked the fact that you were a very short distance from shops for food and newspapers. Jan likes her croissant for her breakfast! The garage is a great asset and the fact that there are 30-minute parking bays just by the church makes loading and unloading so easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbie198...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect seaside haven”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We had a fantastic couple of nights at Rooftops. Tenby is a beautiful town and the views from the apartment are amazing. The apartment itself is extremely well maintained and has everything in it you could need for a couple of nights away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position - very close to the beach and central in the town.
Liked least: The stairs - but it was expected and the high up position provided fabulous views.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 5, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the position, comfort and helpfulness of owners
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
xemmaxxo
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 for a stay in July 2013

Stayed last year with my boyfriend but forgot to write my review. The apartment was very clean and is right in the town so everything was just a walk away. The view from the windows were beautiful to wake up to and we both loved the baby seagull that would sit by the window every day causing no annoyance at all. We really enjoyed our stay at Rooftops and will be hopefully returning this year :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing